I Failed In My First Attempt, But I Will Try Again

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

I was eager and in complete mood to visit this cave after hearing about it from elderly people in my neighborhood. As much as I researched and learned to know about the secret of this cave, I knew that the risk of life was high on this adventurous journey, but too little to achieve.

This memorable incident happened a couple of years ago. Then I had just begun scouring the forests and mountains of my area in search of ancient frescoes and some other antique objects.

I would leave home in the morning and returned in the evening with some amazing new scenes and different stories written in the language of pictures on stones. I would always carry a diary, maps, a Handycam, a still camera, a water bottle, an iron rod, and a knife as my tools.

I knew the dangers of attacks by wild animals in the forests, but my adventurous nature kept me on my toes. Then I heard about that hidden treasure inside a cave of the hill right under the temple. They said this temple was just a cover for that mysterious treasure, which was kept in huge rooms inside the mountain. These huge rooms, which were built inside the mountain, had various guards in various forms.

If you found a way into this mountain and reached the gate of the cave, you would find two stone soldiers standing with swords in their hands. The door remains closed and you will have to pass through a particular mark. If you step in the right place, the door will open. But if you stepped on the wrong mark, the sword of the gatekeepers would fall directly on your neck, and your head would immediately separate from your body.

I tightened my shoes, and reached to the mountain for an adventure journey. There stood that old temple on the top of the hill. I talked to the head priest, but I didn’t want anyone to know about my purpose. There was a long discussion on the past and present of the temple with the elderly keeper of the temple. He accepted, "There was something inside this mountain, but we never tried to find it out."

I bid him farewell and set out to find out how I could reach inside the cave. After three rounds of the hill about 400 meters high, I saw a very narrow, tunnel-like place... I said in my mind, "That's it." My first attempt to reach inside was about to begin. I took the bag off my shoulder.

With a handy cam in one hand and a knife in the other, seeing my preparation, the gentleman standing next to me was astonished. He said, "What are you going to do? Where are you going? " I took his hand in mine and said, "I’m going inside. As long as you hear me speak, you can stay outside. But if my voice stops reaching you, then please convey the information about my being inside of this cave. Here is my address." Saying this, I put a piece of paper in his hand. It had my home address and phone number on it.

The tunnel was so narrow in the beginning that it was not possible to enter, even sitting. I took off the jacket and, almost lying down, started entering. When I reached about five meters inside, there was only a place to sit and it was too dark. It was so dark I could see nothing. I tried my handycam in night mode. Then, I could only see the screen of the camera. Initially, the path was going downhill. Then, when I reached about 20 meters inside the mountain and looked at the screen of the camera, my eyes lit up.

(Image not shown due to low ratings)


Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

The mystery remains, but at least he had an adventure, and he shared that with us. What will he find in that cave? Is it wise for him to return? Whatever the answer to that question, we have little doubt that this adventure will continue in the future. (Nice use of the prompt words!)

Thank you for sharing this story with the Ink Well community. We appreciate that you support other writers by engaging with them.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Wow, what a suspenseful story, @rayt2. I think I would have passed out from fear!

 2 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

Wow
You had me
From start to finish! Would he eventually find it? 😩

You nearly gave me a heart attack with those dramatic entries of the imaginary python and leopards. Lol. I had to scroll back up to make sure he didn't die. Lovely post.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Don't tell me you wanna try again searching for the secret in the tunnel? 😁😁 Such a brave mind to go inside though. I can't even risk my life going there if it were to be real. Lol
Nice story 😊

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Great write up, scary though but very catchy. Kudos

It is fascinating to hear about such treasures. People will literally risk their life in trying to find it. Your story has potential @rayt2. Great read! 😊

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

I would even say that a bigger % of people will give it their best shot if they were sure that a hidden treasure exists in a dangerous cave. 😂

Who can say maybe the white shining pearl in the cave is just the treasure?

My mind was telling something of such.

Hola @rayt2, me gusto tu historia de aventura en la cueva. Fue emocionante leerla, le pusiste muchos detalles en la descripción de las cuevas, y eso hace que el lector se compenetre con lo que estas narrando. Te felicito
Saludos

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment

Hey what nerves, I still want to know what was there. Very good story😊

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment