[EN-ES] When a party is more important than salvation | Cuando una fiesta puede más que la salvación

in The Ink Well4 months ago
English Version

video rumba belmont.jpg
Source

I uncorked a beer and with it the memory, had that been the best party of my youth, the one that made me defy the gods to be present?

It was a pity that in those times, it was not common to leave a record of how much activity a human being performs and publishes on social networks.

-I guess I don't lose anything by trying, do I? - I asked myself mischievously and ran to the computer to search the Internet.

I took a sip of my beer and immediately searched in the browser for a video platform, typing in the name of the beach party, the year, and the specific groups that were performing that day.

Always in the searches on these platforms, the possibility of finding an infinity of videos is normal, but on this occasion, the search engine showed only one available option.

When I saw it I thought of a 90's Pandora's box wanting to relive the demons of 2 decades ago.

-Was I sure I wanted to see that? -I hesitated before clicking to start loading the data on the screen.

I popped another beer and hit play on the video, looking for matches to what was on my mind about that day. While the information was loading, I lit a cigarette and waited for the images.

When I started the playback I discovered that the video was perhaps recorded on a handycam and surely had this information had to travel the entire universe of formats to fall now in my pupils.

-Just think of that route," I said to myself, smiling, "from an 8MM cassette to a Video Home System (VHS) cassette, probably to a Compact Disc (CD), from there to a personal computer, to a digital format and from there to the web platform, a lifetime of technology.

The quality was horrible, but what a marvel to see something so old brought to the modern world, the stage, the band, and the singer -who was no longer among living beings- revived in that wonderful recording.

Undoubtedly, to remember is to live and I lived again the monster that meant looking for me among the assistants, it was the evidence that accused me of my innocent adolescent mischief, I shot the video and remembered clearly what I said to be there.

-It's not my fault that they organized for Saturday Mom -my mother and all her religious fanaticism came to the surface at that premise- You know that everyone condemns his soul individually son.

I admit that hearing Mom with that serious tone talking about heavenly punishments was terrifying, but it never even came close to the feeling I felt when I found out that I never went to the supposed didactic school meeting that day.

I guess I chose my destiny "Post Mortem " with that decision to elope with my cousin "El Loco" to a beach party sponsored by a big cigarette company, instead of going to the ecclesiastic meeting of my mother's religion.


-There I am! -**It was phenomenal! It had to be me, who else could be in the middle of a surfing beach party wearing dress pants and a long-sleeved shirt? It had to be me, a God's refugee, thin as a twig of coconut, with a confused look between the excitement of my first concert and the perfect plan to escape from the commitments with God consummating, at least that day.


Today I laugh, but my mother's comparison of that party with Sodom and Gomorrah was not far-fetched, I remember everything clearly: *nuclear mushrooms, hippies of white smoke, irreverent music against the system, "El Loco" stealing his older brother Samy's beers, it was all perfect, perfect for a delicious juvenile hell on earth.

At sunset, reddened by the Caribbean sun, clouded by the stolen beers, and surprised by all the first times of new things I saw that day, I arrived home.

I couldn't tell if the lady of the house found out about my escape or was sympathetic for being "son of a broken home " and let me have a little taste of the world of Satanas and his system of things.

Anyway, to this day, I have by far never again had an event in my life that aroused as many emotions as that hidden celebration of God in front of the wonderful waves of Playa El Agua.

And the evidence has finally come to light.

image.png
Source


Spanish Version

Destapé una cerveza y con ella el recuerdo, ¿Habrá sido aquella la mejor fiesta de mi juventud? ¿La que me hizo desafiar a los mismísimos dioses con tal de estar presente?

Era una lástima que, en esos tiempos no era común dejar constancia de cuanto mínima actividad realiza el ser humano y publica en redes sociales.

-Supongo que no pierdo nada con probar ¿O sí? - me pregunté con picardía y corrí a la computadora a buscar en Internet.

Le di un sorbo a mi cerveza y enseguida busqué en el navegador alguna plataforma de videos, escribí el nombre de la fiesta en la playa, el año y las agrupaciones especifica que se presentaban ese día.

Siempre en los resultados en estas plataformas las posibilidades de hallar infinidad de videos es lo normal, pero en esta ocasión, el motor de búsqueda arrojó una sola opción disponible. Al verla pensé en una caja de Pandora noventera queriendo revivir los demonios de hace 2 décadas atrás.

-¿Estaba seguro de querer ver eso? -dudé antes de dar el clic para empezar la carga de los datos en la pantalla.

Me destapé otra cerveza y le di reproducir al video, para buscar coincidencias con lo que había en mi mente acerca de ese día. Mientras se cargaba la información, encendí un cigarrillo y me dispuse a esperar por las imágenes.

Al iniciar la reproducción descubrí que el video fue grabado quizás en una handycam y seguramente tuvo está información tuvo que recorrer el universo entero de los formatos para caer ahora en mis pupilas.

-Tan sólo piensa en esa ruta -me dije sonriendo - desde un casete de 8MM, a un Casete de Video Home System (VHS), probablemente a un Compact Disc (CD), de Allí a una computadora personal, hasta un formato digital y a continuación hasta la plataforma web, toda una vida de tecnología.

La calidad del video era horrible, pero que maravilla ver algo tan antiguo traído al mundo moderno, la tarima, el grupo, el cantante -que ya no estaba entre los seres vivos- revivía en esa maravillosa grabación.
Sin duda recordar es vivir y viví nuevamente el monstruo que significaba buscarme entre los asistentes, era la evidencia que me acusaba de mi inocente travesura adolescente, rodé el video y conmemoré claramente lo que dije para poder estar allí.

-No es mi culpa que se hayan organizado para el sábado mamá -mi madre y todo su fanatismo religioso salieron a flote ante esa premisa- Ya sabes que cada quien condena su alma individualmente hijo.

Admito que oír a mamá con ese tono grave hablar de castigos celestiales era terrorífico, pero nunca se acercaba a la sensación que me generaba que ella llegase a descubrir que jamás fui al supuesto encuentro escolar didáctico ese día.

Supongo que elegí mi destino "Post Mortem" con esa decisión de fugarme junto a mi primo "El loco" a una fiesta playera patrocinada por una gran empresa de cigarrillos, en lugar de ir al encuentro eclesiástico de la religión de mi madre.


-¡Ahí estoy! -grité tan alto que desperté hasta al vecino- ¡Era fenomenal! tenía que ser yo, ¿Quién más podía estar en medio de una fiesta playera surfista con pantalones de vestir y una camisa manga larga? Debía ser yo, un prófugo de Dios, delgado como ramita de coco, con la mirada confusa entre la emoción de mi primer concierto y el plan perfecto de escapar de los compromisos con Dios consumándose, al menos ese día.


Hoy por hoy me río, pero la comparación de esa fiesta con Sodoma y Gomorra por parte de mi madre no era tan descabellada, recuerdo todo con claridad: *hongos nucleares hippies de humo blanco, la música irreverente ante al sistema, "El loco" robándose las cervezas de su hermano mayor Samy, era todo perfecto, perfecto para un delicioso infierno terrenal juvenil.

Al atardecer, enrojecido por el sol caribeño, enturbiado por las cervezas robadas, sorprendido de todas las primeras veces de cosas nuevas que vi ese día, llegué a mi casa.

No sabría decir si la señora de la casa se enteró de mi escape o se solidarizó por ser "hijo de un hogar dividido" y dejó que probara un poco el mundo de Satanás y su sistema de cosas. Como sea, hasta el día actual, por mucho no he vuelto a tener un evento en mi vida que despertara tantas emociones como esa celebración a escondidas de Dios frente a las maravillosas olas de Playa El Agua.

Y finalmente ha salido a la luz la evidencia de todo ello.

video rumba belmont 3.jpg
source


Sources:

Translated with https://www.deepl.com/es/translator
Screenshots taken from videoPlaya EL Agua Isla de Margarita Venezuela. Los Pericos, BlanquitoMan. Belmont download, property of StudioGarrido

Sort:  

This trip down memory lane was needed, technology really has advanced, but it's needful to take a peak at the past sometimes. Great story.

Hi, thanks for the coments, youre from NIgeria? I have a lot of Friends in Bauchi, Yobe and Kaduna state

Yeah, I'm from Nigeria, the western part of it. I'm glad you have friends down here. I'll like to be your friend too, what do you say? Where are you from though?

Im from Venezuela, and im parte of a blockchain education movement there, have you Telegram?

Ok nice. I watch action movies from your place whenever I can make the time. Yeah, I have telegram.

This is my user, be free to write me when you want, @Cryptoentusiastavzla
Nice to know you

Ok, Roger. My pleasure.

I couldn't find your username, mine is @Cmh011, you can chat me up whenever it's convenient for you.

Technological evolution has been amazing. It has a way of touching the lifestyle of a typical youth. I was once caught in the web of exploring such recordings.

There are many ways to travel back through time. You have chosen the one path that is almost universal today. You capture the historic sense of the memory, but taking us through different recording technologies. It hasn't been that many years, and yet there has been a cultural and technical revolution in how memories are recorded.

Your characterization of the excursion as a religious transgression is effective. We understand the moment in time, and the young person you once were.

Thank you for sharing this memory with us, @rdsmas.

My dear curator, thank you for the wonderful gifts of appreciating these lines, they are a call to continue trying to find a voice worthy of the community, I could swear that the person in the middle image is myself, so this literary exercise gave me not only the opportunity but the resurrection of a valuable memory of youth. merry christmas.

Oh boy. I just read something good.

Technology has really evolved. I still shudder at the thoughts of watching silent films in black and white. Today, motion picture has evolve.

Thank you for taking us down this memory lane. Mum warned you but adolescence and stubborn can't be separated. At least you had a great time that day.

Ho Ho Ho! @rdsmas, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

It's the Christmas season: give your friends a gift