The Magic Dragon

in The Ink Welllast year

fantasy-g599040289_1920.jpg
Source
Near the mountains, in a tiny village, Lila grew up as a curious and adventurous girl. She loved to explore the woods and the hills. Looking for flowers and berries and animals. Kindness and gentleness tempered her curious and adventurous nature.

She heard a strange sound in the forest as she was walking one day. It was like a roar, but also like a cry. In a clearing, she saw a large creature on the ground as she followed the sound. It had scales of green and gold wings of purple and blue and eyes of amber and fire. It was a dragon.

Lila gasped in awe and fear. Stories of dragons filled her mind, but she had never seen one before. The ability to breathe fire and fly through the sky made them powerful and dangerous beings. Some people said they were evil and greedy. Hoarding treasure and terrorizing villages. Others said they were wise and noble, guarding secrets and helping those in need.

fantasy-g496bfd28d_1920.jpg
Source
She felt sorry for the dragon. Even though she didn’t know what to think. It looked wounded and weak, with blood dripping from its side. It seemed to be in pain and it looked at her with a pleading expression.

"Please... help me..." the dragon said in a raspy voice.

Lila was startled. The dragon could talk!

"Who are you? “What did this to you?” Lila questioned.

"I am Zara, the last of the magic dragons" the dragon said. "I was attacked by hunters who wanted to capture me and sell me to the king. They shot me with arrows and chased me through the air. I lost too much blood, but I got away from them. I need healing."

"Healing? “What can I do for you?” Lila wondered.

"You can use your magic" Zara said.

"My magic? “How do you mean?” Lila wondered.

"You have magic in your heart" Zara said. "I can sense it. You have the rare ability to heal and create with the power of nature unlike most humans. You can heal me with your touch."

Lila was confused. She didn't know she had magic. She had never done anything magical before.

"How do I use my magic?" Lila asked.

"Just touch me and think of healing," Zara said. "Trust your instincts."

Lila hesitated. Despite the dragon’s frightfulness. She felt a link to it. She felt sorry for its suffering and curious about its nature. She decided to try to help it.

She approached the dragon slowly, reaching out her hand. The dragon lifted its head slightly allowing her to touch its scales. Lila felt a warm sensation in her palm spreading through her arm and her chest. She closed her eyes and thought of healing.

She felt a surge of energy flow from her to the dragon. She saw images of green leaves and blue water, flowers and birds and stars. She heard a soft melody in her ears like a lullaby. She felt a peace and joy in her heart.

girl-g887231b8c_1920.jpg
Source
The dragon’s wound had healed completely. Leaving no blood or scar, when she opened her eyes. The dragon looked stronger and healthier with a glow in its eyes.

"Thank you," Zara said. "You saved my life."

Lila smiled shyly. "You're welcome," she said.

They felt a friendship bond as they gazed at each other for a moment.

“What is your next move?” Lila questioned.

"I will fly away from here" Zara said. "I have to find a safe place to hide from the hunters and the king. They will never stop hunting me until they catch me or kill me."

"Can't you stay here?" Lila asked.

"No," Zara said sadly. "This is not my home anymore. The world has changed too much for my kind. This world is not a place for magic dragons."

"But you are not alone," Lila said. "You have me."

Zara smiled gently. "You are very kind, Lila" he said. But you have your own path to follow. You belong here, with your kin and companions.

But I wish to accompany you" Lila said.

Zara shook his head. "No, Lila" he said firmly. "You can't come with me. It's too dangerous for you."

"But I don't want to lose you" Lila said.

"You won't lose me," Zara said softly. "We will always be friends in our hearts."

He leaned down his head and gave her a small pendant. It was made of silver and had a dragon-shaped charm on it.

“This is for you,” Zara said. “A token of our friendship. It will protect you and remind you of me.”

Lila took the pendant and put it around her neck. She felt a warmth in her chest, as if the dragon’s magic was still with her.

“Thank you,” Lila said. “It’s beautiful.”

Zara smiled. “You’re welcome.” he said.

He stood up and spread his wings. He looked at the sky and then at Lila.

“It’s time for me to go” he said.

Lila felt a pang of sadness. She didn’t want to say goodbye.

“Will I ever see you again?” she asked.

“Maybe,” Zara said. “Maybe someday, when the world is ready for magic again. Until then, I will always watch over you from afar.”

She grinned and wrapped her arms around him firmly.

“Goodbye, Lila” he said.

“Goodbye, Zara” she said.

He ascended from the land and glided in the air. He climbed higher and higher until he was a dot of brightness in the sky. He disappeared behind the clouds.

Lila watched him go, tears in her eyes. She felt a mix of emotions, sadness, joy, wonder and gratitude...

She touched the pendant on her neck and smiled.

She had met a magic dragon.

And he had changed her life forever.

Sort:  

It is wonderful that in saving Zara, Lila found her true strengths. This is certainly an encounter that neither of them will forget soon! It would have been wonderful if you had given Lila some backstory however, so the reader was more invested in her character.

The Ink Well has some great resources in our catalog of fiction writing tips. For example, we have tips on developing characters in your stories, and integrating action, dialog and narrative. These resources can help you learn how to include the important elements of fiction in your stories.

Also, please note that the level of curation in The Ink Well isn't just based on stories, it is also based on engagement. Additionally, tagging #inkwellprompt should be reserved for tales which fit into the current prompts. (Cards or Reunion for fiction) Thanks for sharing your story!

Thank you for your comment and your appreciation of my story. I’m glad you liked theme of finding one’s true strengths through a challenging situation. I agree that Lila’s backstory could have added more depth and interest to her character. I appreciate your constructive feedback and I will keep it in mind for future stories. Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts. 😊

Congratulations @revlr! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!