A Rising Star

in The Ink Well2 years ago

photo-1461896836934-ffe607ba8211.jpeg
Image Source

I have become the breadwinner of my family at the age 18. I lost my dad at the age of 17 and my mother has been sick ever since his death. She lost her job which was of a cook and our family business where our income was coming from including my education and my two younger brothers. Our restaurant has not been doing well since my mother had been sick, we had to lay off our workers due to insufficient fund.

My final year exam in high school is fast approaching and I'm afraid i will not be able to write my exam and graduate. With the little money I am able to get daily was spent on our feeding and my mother's medication, my two little brothers are on the verge of dropping off school also.
I decided to go and seek for assistance. With the little money with me I made my journey to my home town to my uncle's place. During my father's burial they all promised 'heaven and earth' but they are nowhere to be found now.

When i got to my uncle's house, they welcomed me with an open arm, I was fed and made sure I rested before they ask me why I visited. I narrated my story to them and they in turn pitied me. Unfortunately they couldn't be of much help as they can only your afford a little amount of money, but they promised to be of help in any way they can, i was giving some food stuff and other things to take home.

It's already getting dark and I need to make my way back home, almost reaching the bus stop where I would take a bus back home, someone snatched the bag from my hand. No! I shouted. I can't lose that bag, I chased the thief, as I ran as fast as my legs could carry me and kept shouting on the young man, I successfully catch up with him and after much struggle I recovered my stolen bag. Not long after, a young man approached me with a bottle of water and he gave it to me.
"you must be exhausted? He asked
"yes. Thank you. I replied him.
"are you a runner? He asked again.
"no. I replied him.

After much conversation, he gave me his business card and i discovered he is a coach. He noticed me when chasing the thief earlier and wants me to join his team who will be qualified to be a national relay team. At first, I rejected is offer but he told me to think about it.
When I got home and I looked at my family's current situation I decided to try my luck, becoming a sport athlete had a been my dream in the years past but I gave up on it two years ago when I wasn't chosen by my coach for any activities. I called him early the next morning that I accepted his offer.

The first challenge I had after was that I will have to leave my family for the next two months to join the other trainees at the state capital but he promised to hire someone that will take care of my family in which I agreed and I can also come and check on them every weekend which happens to be our free day.

One month passed and I am finding it hard to adapt to this new kind of like, early morning trainings was really hard for me but my coach never give up on me. I have to make it to the selected team at all cost. I don't want to go back home after two months as a failure. I kept thinking of everything I will have to face if I don't make it.

At last I was chosen, I was the last person to be chosen to join the team and there is a competition ahead of us, we are flying to the United States to represent the country in relay. My coach was really proud of me, I thanked him for approaching him that day and not giving up on me he called me "a rising star"

Looking back, I see my past struggles and failures. The pain and disappointment I had faced my pursuit and trials as the leader of a home, a tear rolled down from my eyes.
Looking forward, I see a light at the end of a tunnel, I see myself becoming what I had earlier wanted.

Sort:  

Your story shares a painful struggle that is unfortunately a reality for some people. The narrator is given a chance to improve her circumstances. Your story shows that nothing comes for free, and that she will still need to work hard to achieve her goals. Nicely done!

Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well and for reading and commenting on the work of other community members.

This is a heartwarming story, @royaldiadem. The narrator's difficult circumstances made me so sad for her. If only we lived in a world where each and every person had enough resources to live comfortably and have enough food to eat!

Thank you. We all hope the world we live in will be a better place for us all.

This story is amazing. It shows the struggles one has to go through for family.

Thank you for reading

Congratulations @royaldiadem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

If it's a true story, I'm quite motivated. It is always good to read the achievements of others to tell yourself mentally, if he could, I can.

Thank you so much

Struggle,opportunity and resilience. Nice story.

Thanks a lot