An Unexpected Visit

photo-1527236438218-d82077ae1f85.jpeg

Image Source

I was ten years old when I went to the boarding house to start a new phase of my life and continue my education. The ten year old me would cry silently when I first resumed, it was the first time I got separated from my parents for the first 48 hours of my life. My school's rules and regulations were a little bit strict, no visiting day; a day when parents will come and visit their children in school and bring gifts and food for them. You can only see your family at the end of the term. Those days were a bit harsh, myself among every other student missed home while our seniors have gotten used it.
Surprise comes with something unexpected happening. That day was just like a normal days of the week where we are all in our respective classroom, receiving lessons from our teachers.

Suddenly, I got summoned to the principal's office. My heart began to pound very fast, anybody called for the principal's office has a high chance of getting punished or beaten. I began to think of what I had probably done to deserve a punishment. Our principal is known to be a disciplined and strict man. I was so scared and I dare not report to his office immediately.

When I got to the entrance of his office, I met the vice principal and I became a little bit calm because our vice principal is not as strict as the principal. I became a little bit relaxed. Then, he told me to go inside and made his way out of the office. I was a little bit confused since I had earlier peeped into the office and found nobody there. I obeyed and stepped into the office, lo and behold I found my dad sitting very close at one corner of the office.

Daddy! I squealed in excitement. He smiled at me like he was happy at the surprise I got from him. The principal was not around so I had every chance to say everything I wanted to say and be happy. My daddy likes catching one off guard and he was successful at it. Knowing that, I didn't hesitate to ask him why he didn't call to inform me he will be visiting. He would have called our hostel's matron if he wanted to. He told me he was coming from a journey and decided to pass by and visit his daughter. Of course he had planned it before coming and that's how he planned his surprise.

He got me a lot of gifts, some were things I needed and I was so happy he got them. It was not my birthday then but I was so happy with the surprise. For any kind of surprise I would have gotten a little hint or a suspicion, I would have suspected something even though I might not be able to guess right but this one caught completely unaware. I was thinking of something else when the principal called me, I was scared I might have committed an offense and all sorts of thoughts filled my mind but I got a great surprise by getting a visit from dad, someone I had earlier missed and wished the term will soon run to an end and I will be able to see my family again.

Sort:  

What a nice and funny story! I know that feeling of being called to the principal's office. I got my share in school and it was not a sweet surprise that awaited me like yours. 😆 Nicely done. Thanks for sharing your story. !LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kemmyb, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @royaldiadem and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Hehe, dad surprised you even though you felt it was for another reason, it turned out the other way round.

It's understandable to feel lonesome at boarding school at such a young age, still, I'm sure that there must have been some benefit and it was probably the norm.
Being summoned to the principal's office can be nerve-racking, so such a pleasant surprise from your dad must have been the biggest delight.
Thanks for sharing this with this week's prompt. We look forward to seeing you around the community:)

Congratulations @royaldiadem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!