The Unknown Truth

1678490827908.jpg

Image Source

Two strange things happen that day; I discovered the truth about my husband's dissapearance after my father's death and the security guard in the estate I live in called me that night that the identity of the man who has been stalking my house at night for the past two weeks has finally been revealed.

Exactly a year and six months ago, I got married to my lover. We dated for about a year before our marriage. Everything was fine until his dissapearance six months after our marriage, we were staying in his parents before we finally got our own apartment and he dissapeared after a month we moved in. I reported his disspearance to the police immediately but it seems his family already knew what happened. None of his family were able to tell me what happened to him despite my cries and pleads. All they could tell me was that my husband traveled out of the country, there's no way that can be true. I was depressed and had nowhere to go. I moved back to my parents house temporarily as I was still looking for job then. My parents encouraged me not to feel down and keep hoping for my husband's return. My father kept sending money to me every month even after I moved back to my husband's house three months later.

Suddenly, I lost my father to the cold hands of death after a brief illness. He kept a smiling face even on a sick bed. I can remember his last words to me " You have to forgive your husband"
While we were mourning our father, his last words keeps reoccurring in my mind. Nobody gave me an explanation. After my father's burial, we decided to clean up his room and pack his belongings. I went to his study room that night to clear them up, as I was packing his files on the table, I saw a blue file inside his drawer, it's seemed important and I find it strange so I decided to open it. I got the shock of my life and burst into tears, the first page contained the transaction details between my father and my husband, the same amount my father has been sending me for the past months my husband has dissapeared. I saw a flash drive in the file also, I quickly sat in front of the desktop to check the content of the flash. They were mail messages between my father and my husband. He kept begging my father to keep his secret safe and he will tell me everything himself after he is released. Released from where? How could he keep all these from me? What exactly happened to him? I couldn't help but question myself with a teary eyes. My mum knew nothing also. I was deceived not only by my husband's family but my father too. Just then, my phone ranged. The security called me to unveil the face of the stalker to me. This strange man has been parading my home for the past two weeks, he would wait at the gate for some hours before leaving, at first I thought it was just a neighbor but when I reported to the security, they discovered he is an unknown man and that made me panick. His face was caught on the CCTV footage and they sent the picture to me. Guess who? My husband.

I took my bag hurriedly and stormed out of the house. I need to find him. I went back to my house that night hoping he would come, I stood by side of the window waiting to see anyone at my gate. Just then, a man with a black face cap shows up, I run out of the house but I see no one. On the verge of giving up, he showed up right in front of me, my husband, looking dejected and lean. Tears gushes out from my eyes. The resentment I felt for so long vanishes like a thin smoke.

"What happened? I asked silently.

I walk closer to him and he has a teary eyes, all he could mutter was that he was sorry. I hold his hand tightly, he can explain later, I just want him back for now but he wouldn't come in. I thought he was back but he wasn't, a black car was waiting for him at a distance.

"I will come back for you" he said and left. I hold him back, I don't want him to leave without an explanation but two men came out of the car and took him from me. I cried myself out as I watch him leave. That same night I went back to my father's house to check the mails again then I found the truth I was looking for.

My husband was framed with fraud. His friends deceived him into stealing the company's money into his account. He had no idea it was a stolen money until they traced the money and found it into his account. His friends escaped out of the country and he got a jail term to serve for that. He does not want me to live with this guilt, he was sorry and couldn't bring me to know the truth of what happened to him so he told his family and my father to keep the truth from me. He was giving the opportunity to communicate with his family and these days to check up on his family for few hours. How could he not trust me his wife? I have to get my husband out, I need to prove his innocence in whatever way I can. He has a lot to be sorry about, i have a lot of question as well but I need to get him out first.
Thank you for reading ♥️

Sort:  

What an intense and touching story! You keep your readers spellbound with the gripping twists and turns. The disappearance of the husband and silence of the family added some element of suspense to this story. The final revelation at the end beautifully resolves the plot. Nicely done! I enjoyed reading this story. !LUV 🙂

Awwwwn♥️ thanks for reading and the nice comment as well.

Great piece here, sometimes we do not know how strong we can be until being strong is the only thing we can be.

Well scripted

Thank you so much ♥️

You're welcome dear

Wow, interesting story, too bad what happened to her husband, he was accused of fraud. I remain hopeful that they will get him out of jail.

Yes. Thank you very much ♥️

Omo, this does happen in real life. People getting framed for something they did not do or had no knowledge of.

I am glad she found the truth and that she is going to do all that she can to get her husband out of jail.

Thanks. She will definitely get her husband out of the jail.

Hello @royaldiadem you have woven layers of interesting details here to create a captivating mystery. Very nicely done! We do want to mention that some of the errors here make the story flow more roughly. By placing out stories in google documents, we can see suggestions for both grammar and syntax errors. We hope you will consider using this free tool in your future stories. Thank you for sharing this tale with us, and for your engagement with other members of the community.