Trapped

in The Ink Well10 months ago

1688469360025.jpg

Image Source

During my teenage years, I'm a type that would always flock around my friends, gisting and chatting as the time ticks away slowly.

I hardly go anywhere alone, our outings and events are planned to make sure we walk together. Yes, they were fun, but I never know the meaning of time then, I had a particular friend at that time, she was my senior in school but we suddenly got close and it happened so fast, so were always together. She entered my life in a blink of time I never realized I lost in track.

She wants me anywhere, everywhere not minding my own schedules. Early morning in the hostel, our devotion time is always 5:30am everyday. We were expected to wake up as soon as the alarm rings and converge together for prayer. This friend of mine would wake up late and as her friend, trying to wake her up to make sure she attends the devotion is something difficult for me. I mean, I am her friend, we are supposed to be together so I would wait for her to wake up for us to go together, we are always late to our school activities, morning devotions, prep, siesta, recreations and many other activities.
Life in the boarding school is always guided by scheduled activities at a given time. There's a scheduled time for everything and one will get punished if found doing something else.

I lost track of time that I didn't realize I have left so many things undone for myself. I wasn't expecting it to be so fast. Occasionally, I got punished as a result of my actions, coming late and leaving many things undone. This friend of mine didn't really bother about all this. It has become a part of her and it seems she's just looking for a victim that will accompany her in her doings. I never realized that was why her classmates never relate with her closely.

One fateful day, it was the weekend and everyone of us were in the hostel, cleaning and doing our duties like washing and other chores. I was on my bed asleep when I heard my friends talking about me. They thought I was deeply asleep but I can hear them. They were talking about my behavior over the past months in school. How I changed and started doing things I didn't use to do before, I have always been punctual before but I suddenly changed and would always be the last person to arrive.

I was so pained because none of them could be bold enough to tell me personally, but thanks to that, I begin to reflect on what I have done, it was then I realized how much damage I had done to myself.

At last, one of my seniors called me one day.

"I noticed you have changed recently, since you started following Yinka, your attitude has changed, you always coming late everywhere and you sometimes get punished," I was just there, feeling guilty.

"Be careful so you don't get into big trouble."

"You are not this kind person before, you are always punctual, you go to your bed as soon as it's light out but now, you are always gisting with Yinka after light out, and you are not concentrating on your books again, you waste time with that girl you follow everywhere, she's controlling you as if she's your sister. I liked the way you were before but not this, okay?

I couldn't say anything, everyone looked at me as if I was a condemned criminal. It was then I realized many had secretly admired my good behavior, I mean my past behavior. I didn't know many people were watching me.

Time is a sequence of events and length of time that passes every moment. We have to make the best use of our time. The time we see the last minute can not be regained anymore. While I was wasting time, following other people around, doing what I'm not supposed to be doing, I found myself trapped, I didn't realize how much the time I had wasted.

Sort:  

This is a nice story about how time shaped your friendship, as well as your reputation. However, it would be wonderful to see this story told with more creative elements. Please take the time to read our article on creative nonfiction, which describes the genre, and the similarities of creative nonfiction to fictional stories.

Additionally, we do ask that authors engage with at least two other memebers of the community for each story published in The Ink Well. Thank you for sharing your story with us.

It isn't too late. You can still regain your past self. You can still find another friend who matches your vibe and who is willing to adjust to the life you are making.

Thank you so much. I have regained my time and this happened a long time ago.