A Deadly Discovery

in The Ink Well2 months ago

“Let go of me!” My mum cried, struggling to free herself from his hold but he was stronger.
image.png
This image
“Let go of me, you animal!”

“Animal?!” That seemed to get him even angrier. He grabbed my mum by her hair and glared at her. He seemed to be enjoying the pain he was causing her. He pulled her hair and dragged her to the bathroom with it.

I was hiding under the table but I slowly followed them to the bathroom.

I heard the gurgling sound of water and as I got to the bathroom, I saw him press my mum’s head into the toilet seat, deep inside the water.

“No!” I screamed. He looked back at me and the death glare in his eyes scared me.

Without thinking, I jumped on him and scratched his face.

“You little wench!” he cussed as he struggled to free himself. While he struggled, he had raised my mum’s head from the toilet seat but his fingers were still dug in her hair.

“No, Addy!” my mum pleaded but I wasn’t going to let go.

“Let go of my mum!” I yelled with tears rolling down my cheeks and finally, he freed her but his hands were now free to struggle with me.

He was a giant and strong man but I had no idea where I got the strength to hold on for that long.

“You little…” he didn't complete his statement when he got a hold of me and flung me across the room.

“Addy!” my mum screamed bitterly as she managed to crawl over to me.

I hit my head and back against the wall and now, the back of my head was bleeding.

“You, come here!” he said to my mum as he wobbled towards her and tried to pull her by her feet but she kicked him off. My mum hurried towards me and held me in her arms.

“Oh, my baby. My sweet baby. I’m so sorry,” her voice was weak but it got weaker as she placed her hand on the back of my head and saw that it was bleeding.

She held me firmly in her arms and as we sat still, resting our backs against the wall with fright and pain on our faces, he got up.

He was a man of about 6’5 with flesh, lots of flesh, and muscles. As he stood up, he looked like a monster, a daredevil. He looked nothing like my stepfather who I had lived with for ten years. He looked like something had taken over him. The look in his eyes, the anger and rage, was unusual.

He has always been a sweet man and for ten years, he has treated me like his own and now I’m 15. He played the father figure and didn't make me feel like I lost my dad when I was 5 but suddenly, he changed. He became a slave to alcohol. We would come back home dead drunk and the only way to exercise his alcoholism was to hit my mum, which he has been doing for the past 6 months now.

Tonight, it is different. He was different. He didn't just want to hit my mum, he wanted to kill her.

We shivered with fear holding us firm. I was losing a lot of blood and slowly, I was feeling weak. He took large steps towards us but slowly. He let out a weird smirk that caused shivers to run through my body.

“You witch!” he said, pointing at my mum. “I have heard about you. You killed your husband. You told me you’ve only been married once but you lied about that. You have been married more than four times!” he accused.

“What’s he saying, mum?” I was confused. Even his accusation was new to me.

“I just didn't want to scare you away,” my mum replied with pain.

“Tell her daughter what happened to your previous husbands.”

I looked over at my mum with confusion laced in my expression. “What happened, mum?”

Gradually, I started to know what caused the sudden change in my stepfather. He heard things! Outrageous things about my mum.

“They all died,” my mum said in a dejected tone and I gasped.

“And you want to add me to that list? No wonder you wanted me to move over to your house. No wonder you wanted me to move in here!”

“That isn’t true!” my mum defended, shaking her head.

“We will find out,” he said as he lunged at her and I shut my eyes, blocking my eyes.

I was like this for a while. I slowly opened my eyes and uncovered my ears when I realized everywhere was quiet.

As I opened my eyes, I saw my mum’s eyes shut and my stepfather lying above her. They were both lying in a pool of blood but I had no idea whose it was.

“Mum!” I called in a low tone with fear on the verge of my soul.

Suddenly, she opened her eyes and pushed his body off her. With shock, I let out a loud gasp as I saw the bloodied knife in her hand.

I shook my head in denial as I slid on the floor away from her.

“It's not what you think. I’m not a husband-killer. They all died natural death…well, except him. Please, believe me, my child.” she slid through the blood towards me and as I was about to say a word to stop her, I could feel my body getting lazy and soon, I fell into unconsciousness.


This is a combined submission to the Inleo prompt suggestion for April and The Inkwell Fictional Prompt for the week (In Mother's house). The Inleo prompt is "beer, alcoholic.....". You can join here. This is the calendar

image.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This is a nice story, but it is full of abuse and blood. I don't think theinkwell supports this kind of story.
Go through their rules, you will discover that it does not include blood and woman abuse.

It's a nice story anyway, I enjoyed reading it.

Thank you

The plot is quite captivating, abuse is very bad, that's why alcohol overuse should always be avoided.
This was a good read!

Thanks a bunch. I agree with you.

Beautiful read, nice story with an amazing plot, the type that will keep you expectant for more. It contains a little bit of violence, but well done 👍

I am happy to enjoyed reading. Thank you

hello @sabrinah Please refer to the Ink Well guidelines and ensure that you write within them if you wish to post in The Ink Well community. We have no tolerance for scenes involving gratuitous violence, blood, and gore, or any scenes depicting violence and aggression against women. We are unable to curate this piece. Thank you, The Ink Well Team.

I enjoyed reading every bit of this but I don't know why you enjoy leaving me thirsting of more😂

Did you know this got me laughing

Without thinking, I jumped on him and scratched his face.

I was like, are you now a cat? Or even a bat. Anyways, I enjoyed the story.

I was like, are you now a cat? Or even a bat.

😂😂😂😂 This girl is high on colos

I enjoyed reading every bit of this but I don't know why you enjoy leaving me thirsting of more😂

Thank God I don't have water to give you 😌😌😂

😂😂😂 You have water oo
Complete the story in my DM 😏🏃🏃🏃

Send HBD first, ma'am 😂

🙄🙄😭😭So you will not do it for sisterhood 😏

No, there's no sisterhood in money matters 😏😏

I enjoyed this story, And I am patiently waiting for the continuation of this story😂😂