The last shot

in The Ink Well2 years ago

basketball-gcc1fe217d_1920.jpg

Source

Roaming by the riverbed has always been leisure for me. The calm breeze that purifies my soul can no longer repeat itself. My mind never stays still, does yours?

Like the waves, my mind brews with ideas to fade away, to only come back another day. It was a winter afternoon when I went strolling near the riverbed to only find random seniors bouncing the ball at a constant pace. Were they known or unknown to me, was not my concern, but the basketball looked so beaming in that weather, that I surely looked like a possessed stranger casting a spell at it, was I not?

The winter evening breeze swept the moment in a daze, now I sit by my window and feel the moment within me. I was invited for the first time by strangers to play with them, I was not judged by my behavior, my color, my race, my discomfort was washed away by the rising wind. The warmth that brushed past me still lingered.

That is the last moment I remembered being near the riverbed. My first attempt at being cozy with seniors of an unknown college, an environment worth lasting forever. But, such moments never last for long, do they?

As I was leaving the country, the only memory I had of it, was the time I was near the riverbed, with unknown seniors, I have given my last shot.

Sort:  

You describe a lovely memory by the riverbed in a beautiful way. A short and effective vignette.

Thank you for sharing this story with us. We appreciate your engagement in the community by reading and commenting on other writers' stories.

Thank you for the look out. I am trying to engage.

Moments may not last, but surely the memories of them do.

Nicely written.

Yes. Truly. We only memories at the end of the day.

I love bittersweet stuff like this. I feel that bittersweet stories are so relatable because they are equivalent to life itself. (that was at the same time poetic and nonsensical 😅)

I like that you wrote it like a memory, gives the whole story a feeling of authenticity. 👏

I am glad you liked it. I like bittersweet memories too. I feel that they have a long-lasting effect, don't you think so @grocko?

They definitely mimic real life, and as such when they work they hit really hard. 😭

I often find peace close to the water. This was short but held my gaze till the end.

Me too, I love to hear the waves mostly. I hope we stay connected.

Sweet, evocative sense of placement. Beautifully poetic. Love your style of writing ❤️💕❤️❤️

Thank you. Is it poetic? I wonder I have no skills to write poems as far as I know but most of you agree that it is poetic. I am gad.

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL

I think you may have invented a new genre, @sadfish. I'm not sure what to call it. Perhaps "sports fiction." Your writing is lyrical, fresh and interesting, and a joy to read!

Thank you so much. I am not sure about inventing the genre but your words overwhelm my heart. I am not used to such appreciation. Thank you so much.

"The last shot?" It is a beauty how you are able to relate the title so smoothly.

Thank you so much.

I am glad, that you found it interesting and beautiful. Thank you.