Beyond Waters

in The Ink Well2 years ago

chris-chan-wA-dbT3FJnE-unsplash.jpg

Source


Growing up, I was always called an inquisitive child. That was because I asked too many questions. I always wanted to know more and discover new things. I'm from a very small village located by the sea side. My father is the king of our village. I'm his only daughter with three elder brothers. My people believed that there was a land across the sea where magical flowers are grown. They believed it is a myth because no one had ever seen the flowers. It was only heard of in books and old scrolls. The flowers were believed to be very powerful and can be used to cure different illnesses.

Every morning, I always went to the habour to watch ships sail across the sea in search of treasures and pirates. I often wondered how it would feel like sailing across the seas with the wind blowing. Soon the opportunity I was waiting for arrived.

On my nineteenth birthday, I woke up like every other morning. I stretched my body, brushed my teeth, took my bath and combed my hair. After combing my hair, I hurried down the wooden stairs with excitement to my parent's room to greet them. Getting to their room, I noticed a solemn atmosphere. My mom was lying down on the bed looking weak with my father, brothers and some village doctors by her side. My father noticed me and beckoned on me to come to him. I walked slowly towards him and stood at the bedside with my heart pounding fast. He stroked my hair and saId, " Elena, your mom is very sick. We have tried our best to find the cause and the cure but we can't ". Immediately he said those words, my heart dropped. I became afraid and asked "Is she gonna die?" He just shook his head sadly. I felt a tear slip from my eyes. I hated the way everyone looked hopeless, so I decided to leave the room.

When I got to my room, I sat down on my bed. My eyes immediately caught sight of the book I was reading previously. The book talked about the magical flowers. I took the book with me to go and see the Village wise man who had vast knowledge on the history of different places and things. I arrived at his house quite early because I ran. After greeting and exchanging pleasantries, I told him the reason I came ." My mother is very sick and we can't seem to find the cause and the cure. I want to go and search for the magical flower, but I don't know how to get there. I need your help". He looked at me and said." The magic flower is only a myth, you don't have to risk your life for something that does not exist, but if you insist, I'll help you ". I immediately felt a slight glimmer of hope." So how can I get there". He looked at me and said, " This will be tough for you because you are a girl, it will require you sailing across the seas and no female has ever crossed the sea because it is not safe". I reassured him," Don't worry, I'm eighteen and I will go with my brothers and the best ship." Now all I need is my father's permission.

I quickly ran back to the house, feet pounding on the wooden floor board. After convincing my brothers I proceeded to my father's room. When I got to his room, I pushed the door open. My father turned to look at me with sad eyes. I hugged him and said," Father, I won't let her die. I am going to find the magic flower and heal her ". He replied,"It is not safe and it is not real. I don't want to loose you too". I disagreed, " I know it is real, the boys will be following me". I knew he was going to doubt me but i had faith that i would find it.

The next day, I began my journey to the holy land with my brothers and the best ship. After we crossed the middle of the sea, the current increased. As the waves crashed continuously at the ship, We all became scared then I thought about my mother and a sudden surge of courage embraced me. I encouraged my brothers and we continued sailing. We noticed that the water started changing color as we got closer to the shore. It changed from bright blue to bright green. We arrived at the shore very late in the evening and decided to set a camp close to the shore.

The next morning, we began our search for the magical flowers. While I was searching, I noticed a very beautiful bird with piercing blue eyes perched on a tree not far from me. It looked looked like it was observing me then it flew past me. I followed the bird and found myself on a very large garden with beautiful flowers that illuminated green light. I was so happy. My brothers and I traveled home the next day with enough flowers to cure my mom.

The village doctors were amazed. They mixed the flowers with some medicines and gave it to my mother. After a while, my mother opened her eyes. My father was so relieved that he screamed for joy and hugged her. Then he looked at me and said, "Elena you and your brothers have made me proud. You are a very brave girl " Then he hugged me. My wishes came true but in a way I didn't expect.

Sort:  

Wow thanks to the flower that many thought was just a myth, you got to save your mom from dying... Really touching.

When all hope seemed lost, a new dawn came... Nice story

Thanks...It was very brave of her to go and look for something no one else believed existed. Who knows what would have happened if she didn't.

Exactly, thank goodness she did

Welcome to the community, @smokyice. If you are looking for an audience and a place to practice your writing skills, this is the community.

As your story illustrates, even when a situation is hopeless, it is in human nature to hope. In this case, hope and courage saved the day, and the mother's life. You used the prompt very well and created a strong story arc. That's great.

Thank you for sharing this story with us and we appreciate that you support other writers in the community with your comments.

Yes.... It is always good to be hopeful. She was hopeful and did not want to lose her mother, this boosted her courage. Thanks, I will continue supporting other writers.

Congratulations @smokyice! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Elena did something really brave and selfless. Her love and care for her mother led her to do something that had never been done and prove a myth to be real.

Awesome story here. I hope to read a lot more from you.

Yeah thanks. She was so courageous and did not give up. I will continue writing more interesting stories.

It was so brave of your character to want to save her mother
Great story and nice job

Yeah... Thanks