An Escape

in The Ink Welllast month (edited)

"Miracle Baby"
My mom called so loudly that I wanted to move into the sitting room.
"Mom, I'm here."
Mom told me that she wants me on the farm in the evening so that I can harvest some cassava for her since we will be having some visitors in the next three days.
"Go straight to the farm without going anywhere else."
My mom warned me sternly because she knew that I would want to branch out of my friend's place since it was close to our farm.
With a frown on my face, I answered.
"Mommy, I've heard you."
My mom called my sisters and told them to go with me so that I would be fast about it.

path-3009592_1280.jpg

Image
"Yeah, we should branch out of Mfon's house."
My sister came into the room and said it with so much joy in her voice.
"Shhhhh, don't let mommy hear you."
I told her, trying to let her know mom did not want us to go anywhere apart from the farm.
"Mommy, we are about to leave."
Everyone said it with so much joy.
"bye guys"
My mom replied.

As we were walking on the road,
"Aunty Hoppy"
My sister called my mom's sister with a shock on her face.
"Are you coming with us?"
I asked her, and she said yes, I am coming with you guys.
"why"
My sister, who did not want her to come with us, asked.
We did not want her to come with us because she wouldn't let us go to Mfon's house after harvesting.
My other sister told her that we do not need a helping hand, as the cassava is too much for us to carry.
"Aunty, we can do this alone."
She kept quiet, then when we reached the junction, she had a call, and we heard her say
"Okay, I'm coming on the way."
We almost shouted, Thank God.
"I need to go and pick something up at the next junction, and it will take a long time, but I will come back and join you guys."
With so much happiness, we all agreed
"It's fine, Aunt."
Aunty Hoppy left and borrowed a tricycle, then she left us.
"Hmm, answered prayers."

When we reached the farm, we were not even harvesting the cassava when I decided to go to Mfon's house.
I told my sister that I should go first, and she should stay and check if Aunty Hoppy would come back. If she does, I should just tell her that I went to the ravine to ease myself.
I went to Mfon's house; Mfon and I went to the stream, and we spent hours there.
When I came back to the farm, I asked my sisters if Aunty Hoppy had come back.
"Yes, she came looking for you."
They all answered with innocent faces.
I was so afraid, I wanted to cry. I just held myself back.
"Hehehehehe, she didn't."
My last sister said it, and they all laughed at me.
"No problem, guys."
I answered with so much relief.
"What if she was here?"
My immediate sister asked
"She would have been caught."
My last sister answered, and we all laughed.

As we were still harvesting the cassava, my sisters said they wanted to also go to Mfon's house since that was the plan.
We planned that we would go to Mfon's house not at once, I told them.
"Okay, but don't be caught."
They answered and said,
"We won't stay as long as you did."
I agreed with them, but I was still feeling that Aunty Hoppy was on the way.
So they left for Mfon's house, and I was just alone on the farm.
It was not up to fifteen minutes before they left for Mfon's house when Aunty Hoppy came back to the farm.
"Where are your sisters?"
she asked
"Hey, mmm, they went to... went to... the ravin, yes, ravin."
I struggled to speak because I was so shocked that she came back immediately after my sisters left for Mfon's house.
"Why are you stammering?"
she asked
"Nothing"
I replied
With a smile on her face, she asked again.
"Where are your sisters?"
With so much confidence, the second time I told her
"in the ravine."
She said "no problem" as she carried a stick, leaving to go and check for my sisters in the ravine.
I felt so bad for them because there will be problems when we get home.

As I was still on the farm, I saw my sisters crying back to the farm and Aunty Hoppy with a big stick in her hands. Then I knew that something was wrong.
Because of this, we went back home immediately.
When we reached the house, Aunty Hoppy told mom everything that happened, and mom was so disappointed.
Then she asked
"Why did you people leave your sister on the farm?"
My last sister told mom every plan that we had.
"So you went there?"
Aunty Hoppy shouted at me and said that I was a bad egg and that I corrupted my sisters.
My mom smiled and told them that I don't get into trouble no matter what and that nobody should always follow as I could get them into trouble and then escape it, and that is why she used to call me "Miracle Baby."

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

The miraculous and ghostly activities in the farm through which you saw your sister's tears. Your sister got scared and cried.

Hahaha. Miracle baby indeed. Perhaps if you had gone after your sisters did, you will be caught instead of them. You made those children take cane from Aunty Hoppy 😆

It's so funny that your mom calls you "Miracle Baby". I think you have escaped on many occasions hehehe.
Thanks for sharing your story, I liked it.

Greetings @somuchgrace