Beings

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

My feet dragged on the cold stone floor as I trudged slowly behind the soldiers, dread snuffing out every light of happiness in me.

"The Godfather summons you."

The soldiers had said in unison in their famous detached manner of relating with the servants of the Godfather.

I knew this was going to happen but not so soon, not so soon.
It meant only one thing..

"Someone saw me," I whispered and got a rough tug on the chains holding my hands together in reply along with a gruff grunt.

"The Godfather summons you," They echoed again, for the tenth time and I wished to the powers above not to be reminded again that I may very well lose my life because I saved another.

My heart beat faster and faster as we got closer to the Godfather's cave whose opening had a huge metal door.

I have never met the Godfather before but I have heard stories about him and I never imagined getting summoned. I thought I could get away as I am not one who stands out in this cult.

I'm a Downer not a Shower so how in hell did he know it was me who freed the teenager enough to send soldiers to put me in chains having everyone that saw me really look at me like I haven't been here the whole time.

I let out a short huff. Now's not the time for tempers to get heated, the Godfather has to be answered first.

No matter what he accuses me of, I did the right thing.

"The Godfather summons you," The soldiers echoed once more and shoved me inside as soon as the heavy metal door slid open.

"Ow!" I landed hard on my knees and immediately felt my temper rise with amazing speed I almost lost it and screamed like a lunatic but I bit down hard on my bottom lip till I tasted the familiar tang of blood.

The hallway was lit, not brightly but enough for me to see the door opened halfway on the other side and I limped towards it.

"Come in Lucia," A smooth deep voice called to me even before I thought of raising my fist to knock.

It's him!

I thought in fear but limped in anyway.

All the stories I have been told about the Godfather paled as I got the full view of the man sitting in a red throne like chair beside a massive fireplace.

I blinked several times as I stared at him, a beautiful being cursed with mortal flesh - at least that part of the story was right - still, there was this otherworldly aura emanating from him which further affirms the fact that he's not of this world and which explains why members of the cult worship him.

"You have taken something very dear to me Lucia," His voice wafted over me and I struggled to focus.

"The teenager is not a thing," I replied.

The Godfather nodded.

"Hmm, but he holds something vital which I really need," He gestured with long, slender fingers.

"You wanted to kill him," I said harshly forgetting that I am in the presence of the one who has my life in his hands. Literally.

He shook his head and tutted before getting up from his chair to walk to where I stood, my knees smarting from pain.

"Lucia, I have no use for the…boy, only the information he holds. I'm sure you're aware of my quest to figure out a way from this…prison," He shuddered involuntarily as he regarded his skin with a cringe.

"But you helped him escape and now you have until morning to find him and bring him back so I can get what I need from him," The almighty Godfather looked down at me from his very impressive height and all I could do was stare.

He turned around and walked back to his chair and sat.

"Your time starts now," He said and before I could reply I found myself back in my room.

Immediately I dashed out of my room and ran towards the forest not knowing exactly how I plan to find the teenager whose light called out to me so much that he couldn't be ignored and I had to set him free, now I have to find him.

I ran as fast as I could, dashing through the trees, the Godfather's last words ringing in my head and so lost I was in my thoughts, I didn't see the shadow in front of me and I bumped hard into flesh and blood and we both tumbled down with grunts and cries to a clearing in the forest.

"Oh no," I moaned in pain as my knees began to hurt all over again.

"Lucia?" A familiar voice said and I looked to see who I bumped into.

"It's you!" I gasped.

The teenage boy I helped escaped came back.

Is this fate?

"Yes, it's me," He smiled at me and it pulled at my heart.

He doesn't belong here with me, with the Godfather.

"Why did you come back?" I asked.

"I came to save you, you need my help."

"How do you know that?"

"I saw you in a vision and it's my vision he needs,"
Immediately I knew he was referring to the Godfather.

"But…" I stuttered.

"I can see the future and I was led here. Fear not, I am not in danger," He smiled and his eyes twinkled.

It then hit me.

This is not a teenage boy, but another being in mortal flesh.


Christopher Campbell


"You're not..." I trailed off and he nodded in affirmation.

"I am here temporarily, mainly to help the Godfather return back to his throne as he was cast away ages ago, before your lineage began and he has lived out his sentence. It is time for him to return," He said and offered me a hand to help me up.

As we walked back to the coven, all the stories began to piece together and the pieces of the great puzzle of the almighty Godfather began to fall in place.



THE END

Sort:  

@stellageorge , this is a very great story . Interesting is an understatement, am glad the little boy could see vision and was there to save his "saviour" Lucia when she was in danger.

One good deed deserves another.
Thank you so much for reading.

Congratulations @stellageorge! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 90 posts.
Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow. The sense of urgency and panic in your story is really well described. I read it breathlessly. Honestly, I wondered what exactly it means for the young boy to see the future? and to have that vision?, will there be a sequel? 😁

I'm very happy you enjoyed my story.
There won't be a sequel though. 🤭

What a powerful story, @stellageorge. You created a great setting and a really interesting conflict, and your story uses all the key elements that make a story a delight to read.

Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well, and for reading and commenting on the work of other community members.

Thank you very much for reading and for your feedback. 🥰

Great story, @stellageorge. I got totally involved! I love the voice of Lucia. You really brought her to life.

Thank you very much. 🥰🤭