Pair Of A Tie

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

"What's a Pair Of A Tie Mommy?" Bel ducked under her mother's arm as she wove threads in the spinning wheel.

Bel watched as her Mother's sure hands faltered for a moment on the wheel before she picked up speed and pinned her with The Look famous for making her squirm in her little toes involuntarily, which she did now.

"Why such a deep question, little one?" Thea asked wondering what on earth would have made her daughter who is only eight years old ask such a question.

Thea watched as Bel shifted her weight from one foot to the other, an obvious sign that something was up.

"What did you hear Bel?" Thea abandoned the spinning wheel and pulled Bel in for a cuddle.

Bel shifted to a more comfortable spot in her mother's embrace as she thought of ways to tell her mother the strange dream she had while she was wide awake.

"I had a dream mommy," Bel looked into her mother's warm brown eyes. Her mother nodded and she went on.

"I was playing by the lake yesterday when I saw him," Bel's almond shaped eyes looked up to her mother for clarification.

"I don't know who you're talking about little one as I wasn't by the lake with you yesterday," Thea said with a laugh.

"Hmm," Bel chewed her bottom lip as she pondered how to continue.

"Go on," her mother urged softly.

"He's about my age and he smiled at me when I caught him staring and when I asked him why he was staring he said I'm his pair of a tie. He has silver eyes and then he disappeared!" Bel's eyes widened and she took a deep breath.


Annie Spratt


Thea couldn't believe it.
It's actually true.
But why so early? Thea thought sadly.
She could have at least been allowed to grow a little before getting snatched away by some magical stranger

"You can't fight Fate Thea", the words of her father filled her ears and the back of her eyes stung with tears she refused to shed.

"Mommy? But I wasn't dreaming because I was wide awake when I saw him, am I okay?" Bel asked innocently.

Thea smiled down at her and placed a kiss on her forehead.
"Yes little one, you're perfectly fine,"

"You haven't told me what a pair of a tie means mommy," Bel said.

Thea heaved a sigh.

"It means that you have found your other half," she smiled as a frown crossed over Bel's forehead, she's obviously trying to understand.

"It means your soulmate, the one you can't live without. The one whose mark you bear," she finished on a whisper as her fingers traced the birthmark on Bel's shoulder.

"Like you and Daddy?" Bel said brightly.

"Exactly little one. I had thought I would be your pair of a tie though it's rare but I had thought…you'd bear my mark," Thea's voice broke.

"Don't cry mommy, I won't leave you," Bel hugged her mother as tight as she could.

"You'll always be my mommy forever and no one will take me away from you," Bel promised.

"Oh I wish that would be my fate my love, but Fate has great things in store for you and only you and I can only wish Fate chose me instead. That's all,"

"I don't understand mommy, I'm still here and I'm not going anywhere," Bel said.

Thea's eyes glistened with tears as she smiled at her daughter who will always be the apple of her eyes but is destined to journey the seven kingdoms with another.

"With time my love you'll understand. Let Fate lead you to your destiny," she said.

Thea hugged her daughter once more, wondering how soon her daughter would begin to finally realize who she really is and what she's been destined for right from the womb.

I found my pair of a tie at age 25, Thea thought.

Why so early?

What are the gods playing at?

The door creaked as it was pushed open slowly to reveal her husband and pair of a tie.
They shared a deep look and understanding dawned on his features and with a sober look, he went in to hug his wife and daughter.



THE END

...and a Happy New Year to my fellow Inkwell writers and readers..
Thank you for reading! ✨

Sort:  

Such a touching story for a mother who had already started feeling bored to miss her daughter.
Fate had a way of taken our most treasured gift from us, just like Bel will be married to the stranger later in life.

Great piece of writing here.

Thank you so much for reading.

Even when it's a joyful moment, mothers with only one child will feel the absence of that girl when she's about to get married.

Bel is actually supposed to go on a quest with her pair of a tie.
I'm glad you enjoyed it.

A moving tale, at once melancholy and joyous, for while Thea is losing her daughter, Bel will go on a quest with her soulmate.

Thank you for reading. ✨

Congratulations @stellageorge! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This is an interesting story . I enjoyed it from the beginning till the last ink.

🤭.
I'm happy you did.

It is a lovely story and a complete arc. It would have been more satisfying to understand more about this fate, the pair of a tie. We do know it means soul mate. We do know it means the child will go off to find her destiny apart from her family. However, a little more explanation about this mystery, how the family came to be blessed/cursed with this particular destiny. This might have been more fully explored.

Still, the story is told so well. The child and mother are portrayed well. Good writing.

Thank you for sharing this with us, @stellageorge. We appreciate that you engage with other authors in the community.

Thank you so much for reading.

 last year  

I really love the story, don't get me wrong, but, I think it would be amazing to see an extended version of it to cover some aspects that I feel should have been explored and established more. Still, it's a good story as is, but I wouldn't mind more of it.

🤭.
I totally understand.
Thank you for your helpful feedback and for reading.

Oh dear, how touching! It's not easy for mothers to let go of their children. We always want to keep them close to our hearts forever! Well, it's time for Bel to start her life's journey.

Beautifully written! 🙂 !PIZZA

Thank you for reading. 🥰

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@kemmyb(4/5) tipped @stellageorge (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I would love to know more about the family's rough experiences that lead them to their dire situation. But still, well-crafted story that conveys fateful moment.

Thank you so much.