A failed experiment that succeeded - Short fiction story

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

This day in the lab was strange in many ways.

By automatism and habit, I started my daily work when I arrived, preparing reagents for today’s protocol. In no way did the cell cultures seeded in the experimental medium differ from the previous day. It’s always the first thing I check upon arrival, but progress has never been seen clearly. The difference, if it existed, was always subtly hidden in minimal changes at the molecular level, and in order to understand it, it is necessary to distinguish it in a more complicated way in relation to the quick and fleeting look that became a morning ritual for me after these months. I wasn’t alone on this project, of course, but I was alone today. We did not expect any unforeseen events, so I just came to take daily measurements, add reagents to the cells for cell growth, adjust the temperature and then I would go home.

Like I said, everything was just like I left late last night, when I went home. Everything was the same except the room temperature. It was crucial for this study that there were no temperature variations greater than 1 degree Celsius over 24 hours, however now the room temperature was at 22 degrees Celsius instead of 25 which is the ideal temperature for cell colony development. I quickly adjusted all the parameters to the desired level, hoping that this change in temperature did not cause any far-reaching consequences. Unfortunately, that is likely to have happened. That struck me, most of my studies were dedicated to this idea by my colleague and me, the idea of organ development in the medium. The idea to change the world of transplant medicine radically. We even gave the last money to rent the space and equipment we use now. In fact, no one but the two of us knew about our project.

After setting the parameters, I did not perform the usual cell culture checks. We tried to create heart valves from immature cells as well as parts of the lung parenchyma. I was in a moral and ethical gap, wondering again if I had unknowingly ruined years of planning and research by setting the temperature wrong.

I jerked myself suddenly out of what seemed to me to be too long thinking. Everything was exactly in its place, but some crumb of doubt did not give me peace. I did everything according to the protocol and checked everything down to the smallest detail. Everything was ideal, in theory we should have seen progress by now. We were pretty sure that every protocol we made was ideal for what we wanted to achieve. The reagents and media in which we tried to implement the idea were of the highest quality. But everything was still at the starting point.

I checked everything, twice, and went home.

The next day, on the way to work, Marcel and I discussed other possibilities, and were aware that if cell colonies did not start to grow in this way, we could come to terms with the fact that it was impossible to do at a given moment and that we had to focus on other ways to let us advance human science.

The shock was huge when we found the broken front door of the hangar where the laboratory was located. Inside, the temperature was reset to 22 degrees Celsius, and everything was perfectly clean and in place. Everything but cell colonies and protocol books. At that place, there was a letter on the counter, with the sigil of the army. There was only one sentence inside Thank you for everything you will forget now. That was the moment when I realized that the experiment had now succeeded, as well as that it would never be available to ordinary people.

It was a moment of complete agony in my mind, realizing that everything I had ever learned and every idea I had ever had was directed towards this study, now it no longer belongs to me and no improvement will come. I also knew that every further step I took would end the same way.

I didn't make a boy's dream come true, I didn't bring change to this world!


Image source-Pixabay

Sort:  

Sadly this happens in real life too :( ... But those discoveries are still out there, to be used one day.

I enjoyed the story, thank you :)

I know, it is sad but not a reason to stand down :)

Exactly. But it needs to be done in a way that it'll see the light of day :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Congratulations @stormlight24! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁶ Meetings Contest

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

A child's greatest desire is also his or her duty: to change the world. Be smarter and anticipate the misuse of science.

A moral dilemma, @stormlight24

Duty, before anything else. :)

Oh no! This is tragic. After all of the researcher's hard work, the public will not benefit from it. Great story, @stormlight24.

Tragic and sad, but not a reason to give up.

Rich in detail, the story is intricate. Getting your life's work stolen is a hard pill to swallow. I was hoping the protagonist would go grab the double-barrel shotgun in the trunk of his car and end with the words, "not on my watch."

Hahaha it was one option to finish like that.
Thank you.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(14/20) tipped @stormlight24 (x1)

Join us in Discord!