Final sacrifice - Short fantasy story

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

Hello friends, today I am writing you my story, which was originally published in 2018 on this platform. This time I improved a bit, added a few words here and there, and now she is ready to be told again. It was one of my favorites at the time, so I wanted to share it with you again.


Even though my eyelids were folded, the glitter of the light passed before my eyes. Shortly thereafter, a splash of icy water was dropped on my head. I had no time to think, nor to act. My had were bound on the back, and the ropes were tight,.I would occasionally feel a tingling sensation in my hands, a sign that the circulation had long since ceased to function. Of course, none of that is foreign to me, during the training I went through things like this, to prepare ours for the same situations.

"Wake up, killer. We don't have time for you to rest nor enjoy our hospitality." That lazy and distracted voice came from behind me. Something in that voice forced me to ask myself for the first time in my life whether everything was worth it. It had a strange connotation, as if the satisfaction that lay ahead of my further torture. He rejoiced, but he was smart and patient. A voice accustomed to torturing and extorting human secrets.

"You still have very little time to add contribution in this life. I need an answers, and your death will be quick. Quicker than you deserve, anyway. Listen! How did you do it? Who sent you? I am waiting until the next bell, if you do not have an answers for me, then we will not talk anymore, but you will pay in blood for every breath that you've taken in this life of yours." After that being sad, he exited the room with loud crack of the door.

That loud sound throbbed thousands of blades in my brain, the pain was incredible but I was sure I can bear it, after all I was made for this kind of things. Thought came to me, they sentenced me to die. There was no option in which I could answer those questions, that would be abomination of all what my tutors and brother are.

These pilgrims never realized the true nature of our power. They never tried to find out how we made such soldier, and that's why they will never win. Oh, they have been here for two centuries, have established their cities and their power, but not for a long. All the power of revenge will fall on them in the coming days. Me and my act, The Task, was only the initiator of the entire series of events, which would break them into dust. The Promised earth will again be ours, the dirt of the civilization they have brought with them will expire with their last breath.

I'm not afraid of death, I've never even feared anything. The teaching that was poured into my blood did not allow me to fear, just to obey and listen. My purpose had to be fulfilled in this turn of a life. I'm not sure if I succeeded in my task.. I must have, they called me a killer, it means that it was that arrow, the only one that remained at the end was fatal for their Priest.

It was not easy, I waited three nights on the roof of the palace, hidden by the old gargoyle statue. Waiting for the right moment for the attack that I knew would come. When he appeared, I did not know where to look, the seven best warriors of their army kept guard on him day by day. I knew it would be bloody, and probably terrible for me, but my mission was clear. GIVE YOUR LIFE FOR THE LIFE OF ALL PEOPLE, ALLOW US TO REVENGE.

I took a crossbow and fired. Last arrow I had with me, now was time to try my skills with a sword and it will be against someone who is worthy of combat, and with that thought I buzzed and flew through air. I got on the ground easily out of reach of their swords.

"You can not do anything else for him, he will be killed by a poison if not by the arrow. " At that moment, seven swords hissed like a snakes tongs, each of them pointing at my throat. The excitement of the combat tugged me from head to toe and I emptied my mind. All the years of exercise, all the years of hard work, led to this fight. The fight was hard, each of them earned the name he was wearing, but they were not up to my skill. After fifteen minutes of less, the square on which we were located was covered with bodies of dead warriors, the best warriors. The Priest was not far from me, he was dying, screams echoed the streets, the streets through which the soldiers were came. A second after that, dark. Complete and endless darkness.

How long has passed since then? Why they left me alive, I was sure that they knew who killed their beloved Priest? Cowards. I tried to open my eyes, but they did a good job, they broke me, took me to the limits of how much the body can sustain.

The lights continued to play before my eyes, but the pain was now far away. I heard the steps somewhere in front of me. They hurried, there was not that bell that that voice mentioned. I heard only the balanced breath of this person approaching me.

"Sleep my brother, the light of your task was the Divine. Enjoy the peace that you have conquered" The warm in a voice of one of my brother in arms, with the heat that spilled over my stomach. Then sharp pain and a quick death and timeless sacrifice.

"Thank you, my brother" was what I thought.. because I did not have the strength to say it.


Source - Pixabay

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

What a tragic story, @stormlight24. Thanks for posting... but just a reminder about our community rules. We only allow 100% original work that has never been posted anywhere in any form (rule #4). Thanks!

Ho Ho Ho! @stormlight24, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Merry Christmas - Challenge Feedback - Win a 1000 HP delegation
Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends