Lifetime of war - Fantasy story /Introduction/

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, I haven’t been present continuously on Hive for a long time so I can write what I love the most. I'm here now, unfortunately I haven't managed to write much outside of all this in the meantime, so today's story is just a light introduction to everything, and it's a great exercise for me to continue working. I look forward to having time to share my stories with you.

The wind blew over those old mountains as sharply and strongly as it had many millennia before. It was not a new wind, but there was something new in it. Some strange foreboding, or hint of change. Maybe not even that. He certainly continued tirelessly forward, descending the steep and bare slopes of the mountain. The change of landscape did not slow him down in the least, he traveled over the rocks and the river Elerina all the way to the field of Infinity. He traveled unchanged but with a hint of something.

Two commander stood on the field cover with tall green grass. Their cloaks fluttered in the strong north wind, the howling of the wind could be heard in the distance blowing through the military tents somewhere behind their backs. The two soldiers, the Commanders in fact, stood facing each other in, already too long, silence. It was clear from the colors and the cut of their uniforms that they did not belong to the same people and army, but all those little things that distinguished them seemed to further emphasize a large number of similarities between them. They were both middle-aged, faces carved from many years of standing at the mercy of that same wind. Solid and unwavering looks said a lot in the moments when words were missing. The posture and position of the bodies were the same, the experience as well as the great danger radiated from the way their fists were placed on the hilts of their swords.

The silence dragged on, as if neither of them wanted to start what was already inevitable. Breaking the silence will start something completely different. A conflict of such great proportions, the one foretold centuries ago. The conflict between the two largest empires in the world, both in the greatest rise of power in the history so far. The Menara Empire, to which General Estar belonged, has completely dedicated all its resources to this war in the last decades.

Estar, looking at his opponent, as if looking at the reflection in the mirror, hesitated. He was not ready, although Congress thought he was the right man for it, as he had been for many things before. He knew very well the extent of the suffering that awaited his people. He knew the price. All members of Congress knew, too, but they simply didn't care. And that is why he was now there, in the field of Infinity, facing the enemy.

Unhappy, but forced, he brought chaos that will be released...

Sort:  

Hello @stormlight24, I have not read a story by you before. You say it's been a while. Don't you wonder what makes you sit down now, after such an absence? I can't imagine, although I've been there. Suddenly, I get an idea and it pours out of me in a story.

As for this "Introduction". It is of course extremely well written. You draw the characters and landscape in such detail that we imagine we are there. What does the scene mean to me beyond that. Well, I live in a certain time and place. Everything I experience is filtered through that. And so I see the world I live in now. People who are really so much alike, losing sight of that and going into battle with each other. People determined to be angry...about what? And the consequence, chaos, grief, loss. Nothing accomplished. No winners. Everyone a loser

(Wow, now I'm thinking of WWI...)

Forgive me for seeing what you may not have intended. But that's my reaction to your story.

Nice to meet you.

Hi @agmore, I wonder of course, but in the end it is important that I have managed time and desire and came back. I am glad that you like it in a way that makes you think about further development or world building.
It is nice to meet you,too. :)

I seem to have missed a lot of stories as a newcomer to this community. I'm interested in following this story. It feels good to be in the circle.

You will have time to read it all. Explore Hive, come to write adn read in The Ink Well community.
Glad that you like this story.

Of course, it will be nice...

What a powerful vignette, @stormlight24! We see these two people facing off, fearless and equally matched foes. How can anyone win? But how can they back down and avoid inevitable bloodshed?

I’m so glad you are back and are writing again. As a co-founder of The Ink Well community, you are an inspiration. 😁

You always have kind words, thank you @jayna.

Very good story with a lot of tension. Reminds me of the Baghavad Gita, the Hindu story in which two enemies are about to engage in battle, and this moment is the vehicle for exploring the philosophy of life. Great piece!

Thank you very much. Come back for more reading. 😀