FINDING HELP

in The Ink Well23 days ago

Jane rolled over to the left side of the bed where she had kept her phone which she could hear ringing.

She rubbed at her sleepy eyes, stared at the name on the screen and then mumbled, "ah, not again." Then she proceeded to pick the call.

nasim-keshmiri-kyIUPM2x6Tw-unsplash.jpgSource

"Hey, J," the voice on the other end said.

"Don't tell me you had another nightmare," Jane said

"You said it yourself. I did. This is getting out of hand. It is badly affecting me. Since I can't sleep at night, I am always drwosy and slow in the day. And it's draining," Amie said tearfully.

"I'm very sorry about the experiences. Can you recollect what these nightmares are about?" Jane asked

"No, I can't. Once I awake, I don't recall anything. I just wake up feeling sweaty, scared and very nervous," Amie replied.

"Have you been thinking much of anything at all or seeing horror movies even?" Jane asked.

"Of course not. And you know I don't enjoy horror movies. (Sighs)This is really getting worse. I need to find a solution. I need help."

"Talked to anyone yet?" Jane asked, concerned.

"I called my mom. She said she would come spend some time with me. She thinks I'm lonely in this house all by myself."

"I didn't want to tell you until I did my findings but anyways, you should know since this is about you. Ever heard about Sacred Hoops, also known as Dreamcatcher?" Jane asked her friend.

"You mean someone that catches dreams? Or how do you mean?" Amie replied, obviously oblivious to what it was.

Jane gave a throaty laugh, "Don't be naive, girl. Anyways, a friend of mine whom I told about your problem said we should get one for you. He said it's a traditional, handmade, wooden hoop that protects people from bad dreams. Apparently his grandma used to own one and it worked magic."

"This is interesting but, I can't see how a mere object as you have described it would change anything. How does it even work?"

"Like I mentioned, I still am doing my findings. You should too."

"Definitely will."

"Uhm, I'm sorry to leave you but I should get back to sleep now. I have a very long day ahead." Jane said in a sad voice.

"Yeah, I know that. Sorry for waking you up and thanks for your time. I'd just go look up the mystery catcher of dreams."

"Arghh!. It dreamcatcher, dumbass," Jane teased.

"Just kidding. I got it. Good night." Amie chuckled.

She hung up.

Amie got down from her bed where she had been sitting. She went into the kitchen and got herself a bottle of water. Then she proceeded to her study-table where she turned on her laptop system, and immediately began making search upon research on the item. What she found piqued her interest. The reviews and testimonials made her happy. She had finally found a solution, she thought.

By dawn, Jane had only just stepped into the coffee shop where she worked when her phone rang.

"I think I should get it," Amie said, hopeful.

"I see you already did your findings. If you wish, I'd ask my friend to get you one," Jane said lightly.

"I do just. I want one" she sounded hopeful.

"All right then. I'll just call him now," Jane said as she hung up.

Jane's friend got around to getting it and instructed on how it was to be used.
"You actually believe this thing would work," Amie asked Jane when she first set her eyes on the object.

"Why? Don't You Want It anymore"

Well, I do, if it would help. but it looks...Ordinary," Amie said

"Who says ordinary things do not have extraordinary powers. Have some faith and give it a trial," her friend poked.

That night, after Amie had hung it just above her bed, Jane waited up for the usual call from her friend but nothing came. By morning, Amie called, "it worked. No bad dreams, I slept like a baby," she screamed excitedly.

"I told you to have some faith, didn't I?" Jane teased.

"This makes me so happy. You don't know just how much this means to me. Thanks to you Jane."

"What are friends for..." Jane sang.

..........................................................................

When Amie's mum came around only a few days free, her daughter told her how things had gotten better. She showed her the Hoop and explained how it worked. Her mother would hear nothing of it. She thought of it as fetish and against her belief. Amie though, pleaded with her mum to not mess with her stuff.

About a week later, Amie's mum came into her room and asked how she was and how her sleep cycle was faring. She beamed as she said, "it's good now, mum. I sleep so well courtesy of ......," The words were cut short as she looked at the wall above her head where she had hung the hoop but found the space empty.

"Where's it?" Amie asked nervously.

"That thing? I took it out," her mum said calmly.

"No, mum! Why?" she grumbled, her eyes filling up.

"You don't need it," her mum stated.

"I do. It helps me sleep better. It helps with the nightmares," she pleaded.

"But you've been sleeping well the past four days," her mum said, a smirk playing along her face.

"How do you mean?" Amie asked, confused.

"I took it out about four days ago. Surprised you didn't notice. But then, that's an indication of something. Something that has nothing to do with that," her mum said matter-of-factly.

Amie's eyes widened in disbelief and shock.

She spoke, "but, but what if now that I know it's no longer there, the bad dreams return?"she asked amidst trembling voice.

"They won't. Except you think so much about it. It's all in your head by the way. Besides, you should know that the power of the catcher is completely dependent on the power you have bestowed on it," her mum said and tugged at her cheek lightly.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Thanks for stopping by.
SOKA🖤

Sort:  

Very nice topic @supernova004. I liked how you concluded... Meanings only exist as of how much we ascribe them...

It's a pleasure that you enjoyed the story. Thank you

Your story makes me reflect on the times we think we feel the effect of some object almost magically and mysteriously, until you know the true reality of the situation.

Saludos 👋

Exactly.
Certain things only assume the power we give them. And for the most part, it's all in our head.
I'm glad you get it

This is a very interesting angle toward the dream catcher prompt - very creative approach that gets people thinking about how our minds can shape our reality.

True.
There's do much power in our minds that often times, when we think of a thing for too long, it may begin to take effect.