Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well: Prompt #8

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

standup-paddleboarding-g40f533e07_1280.jpg

Image source: Pixabay

Dear community,

Welcome to Prompt #8 in our creative nonfiction initiative. Thank you to everyone who contributed a nonfiction story last week! In case you missed the announcement about The Ink Well opening up to nonfiction stories, you can see it here.

Here's a quick overview of how it works:

Each week, we will provide a creative nonfiction prompt. You are also welcome to post other creative nonfiction pieces that are not based on the prompt. See the guidelines below.

To be curated, your content should follow our guidelines, be at least 350 words, be written in English (or another language as well as the English translation) and — as much as possible — free of errors.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

What Is Creative Nonfiction?

There are many guides and resources online for getting to know this wonderful genre. It is truly about storytelling. The simple difference between creative nonfiction and fictional stories is that the story is not made up.

We like this definition from an article on creativenonfiction.org:

Simply put: Creative nonfiction is true stories, well told.

With creative nonfiction, you are using the literary and storytelling tools of a fiction writer to craft stories from real life experiences. Set the scene. Give the details. Profile the characters. Give us the dialog, as best you can remember it.

Ideas and inspiration:

We hope you are inspired!

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Guidelines for Creative Nonfiction Articles in The Ink Well

  1. Write creative nonfiction stories about real life, memories, or experiences.
  2. As with our fiction guidelines, we ask that articles be at least 350 words in length. Optimal length is 750-1500 words.
  3. Please read and edit your content before posting. It makes a big difference in how we reward work published in The Ink Well. (And we have some great guidelines for improving your grammar and fixing errors before you post in this article.)
  4. Please post directly in The Ink Well community, and post your link in a comment on this post.
  5. Please use the tag #creativenonfiction on these posts.

Here are some examples of what we are looking for:

  • Explore an idea that interests you, such as how childhood experiences shape us as adults.
  • Write about the study of dreams and what they mean, along with your own experience.
  • Tell about an experience from your life that profoundly changed you.
  • Write about a teacher who inspired you.

In other words, tell a story from real life. And illustrate the ideas you share with real world experiences, memories and observations.

Here’s what we are NOT looking for:

  • A picture of a flower or other posts focused on photography
  • A few paragraphs about what you ate for lunch
  • Recipes and how-to articles
  • Essays about religion or politics
  • Poetry

What will be muted:

  • Spam posts or plagiarism
  • Graphic violence
  • Lectures or proselytizing about religion, politics or morality

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt: Growing Up!

Honorable Mentions of the Week

Our honorable mentions for the growing up prompt are:

Third Place: Wins 1000 Ecency Points

Our third place winner is @pjpavan, with his story, Learning to Grow.

One hour after talking to my aunt and having everything ready, I called my brothers who also wanted to go, my aunt from Puerto La Cruz had sent for us, when the car arrived we got my mother and everything we would take, when we were on the road was when I found out that my mother's cancer was possibly in a final stage, at that moment I felt devastated inside and with a great desire to cry, but I had to swallow everything I felt to show my mother that God would do a miracle to heal her, which never happened, after we arrived.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

A year after my move, my parents decided to move to the city where I am living. They were surprised to see me, because they realized that I was no longer that little girl they let go a year ago, now I was an adult who knew her path.

The move and all the good and bad situations that came my way taught me many things. They helped me grow as a person, as a woman. I learned from something as basic as standing up for myself, to face any obstacle that comes in my life.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Those nighttime talks with our father molded us to be who we are now. Without his words of wisdom, we might’ve been astray with no sense of life direction. I will always be grateful to our parents because they’ve filled us with love. It was because of them that our bond as siblings is getting stronger despite the tests of time. Our individual growth has rooted in our parents' undying love, even though both have already been resting for a while now.

Congratulations, @idlemind, @kzxixs and @pjpavan!

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

The Ink Well Creative Nonfiction Writing Prompt #8: Avocation

In case you are not familiar with the word "avocation," it is essentially a fancy word for "hobby" or "leisure activity." It's a clever word because in a way it is the opposite of a job (or vocation). An avocation is something you do because you love to do it. Perhaps you really love underwater basket weaving, or horseback riding, or photography, because that activity is something like meditation for you.

Think about your own avocation(s). Then consider these questions:

  • Why are you passionate about that pastime? What makes it interesting or exciting to you?
  • Is it relaxing, or is it about physical activity (like hiking, running or biking)?
  • Do you produce anything, like candles, soap, or crafts? And if so, is the joy in the making of those things, or in giving them away (or selling them)?
  • Have you ever dreamed of making your avocation your primary source of income?
  • Do you think everyone should have an avocation? Why?

We look forward to reading your stories. Have fun!

Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. And please remember to add your post link to a comment on this post!

Prizes!

  • The top creative nonfiction story of the week will receive 5 Hive
  • The second place story will receive 3 Hive
  • Third place will receive 1,000 Ecency points

Deadline

You have a week, until the next prompt is posted, to post your creative nonfiction story in The Ink Well community.

See you in The Ink Well!

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:
@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @seeger, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @itsostylish, @josemalavem, @morey-lezama, @sayury, @evagavilan2 and @popurri.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

I'm reminded of @thebigsweed and his hobbitising...

My entry

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@pjpavan/acquired-avocations-creative-nonfiction-in

Thanks to the ink well and thank you all for your congratulations.

Congratulations, @idlemind , @kzxixs and @pjpavan ! and to the honourable mentions @stellageorge
@rammargarita , @fantom22 .
I would love to participate in this week

Hello @theinkwell. Here's my first entry in the non-fiction section of this community. I hope you enjoy reading.

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@kemmyb/an-avocation-that-stimulates-my

Comments--
-Popurri
-Lightpen

Hello everyone in this community. Got my entry for this week's blog contest. I hope you like it.🤗
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@volleyren20/you-called-it-a-hobby-i-called-it-life

By the way, I have engaged to these amazing writers too, namely @amiegeoffrey, @drivingindevon, @riverflows.

Good luck to all participants.💕

Congratulations to the winners. This is lovely. Avocation.

Congrats to the winners. They have done extra jobs in their write ups.

And this week's topic is awesome....you know...

It was a real pleasure to be with you in this beautiful space!!!! Congratulations to the winners!!!

It was a pleasure to be with you again!!! This is my entry https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@jetta.amaya/truths-and-certainties-of-a

Congratulations to all the winners of last week's prompt. 👏🎉


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jayna ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations to all the winners. 👏
Thank you so much for the honorable mention.

Hello friends of @theinkwell, for reasons beyond my control I have been a bit absent from Hive and a bit more from this amazing community.

I was very surprised to come across the novelty of non-fiction stories, it's something really lovely, I look forward to participating and reading your amazing true stories, told in the most incredible way 🤝❤️💪🌷 .

the more cool the renewal of writing stories in this community. Enthusiastic and full of God's blessings to all members and administrators.

I'm reminded of @thebigsweed and his 'hobbitising'!

This is the first time I have written a non-fiction story, I hope that my friends and administrators whom I love, if there are mistakes, please remind me.

here is my post link

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@bettyhandayani/story-in-elementary-school

Here you find my entry. Have fun people in telling your stories. I am looking forward to read some of them.
https://hive.blog/hive-170798/@erh.germany/aimlessly-aiming-or-how-i-became-a-gambler

Loud congratulations to all the winners 🎉

Hi, I felt the excitement while writing my entry for this prompt. I was away from this community for so many months now I'm back in writing and sharing. ^^

My entry: https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@maam.sammy/yoga-class-after-school-class

Here is my entry!
I hope I' m not late😁

@arduilcelebren/not-a-just-a-hobby

Thank you so much for your appreciation of my story. This community has helped me to keep doing what I'm passionate about through the members' support.