Creative Nonfiction Prompt #51

in The Ink Well8 months ago (edited)

Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well Prompt #51


Source


Welcome to The Ink Well's weekly creative nonfiction contest!

In this post, we'll announce the winners from last week's contest and provide the prompt for the coming week.


Before You Write Your Creative Nonfiction Post...


We ask that you read our Creative Nonfiction Tips post to learn about the creative nonfiction genre and review our guidelines.


Important notes:

  • Creative nonfiction stories are based on your real-life experiences.
  • We are looking for real short stories! Not advice columns, reports on crime or corruption in your city, observations on nature, recipes, religion, politics, or any other nonfiction content. Just real-life short stories.
  • Ideal story length is between 750 and 1500 words, but your story must be at least 350 words, at a minimum to be curated.
  • Please focus on quality content. Read and edit for errors! Use a grammar checker before you post your story.
  • We expect everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.
  • Do not post stories featuring physical abuse, graphic violence, erotica or NSFW content.

divider

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt Heart

Last week's participants

@iskafan@reblogme@iyimoga
@mrenglish@rare-gem@sofs-su
@tomiajax@selftheist@timix648
@kilvnrex@nancybriti1@teknon
@phyna@cool08@eunice9200
@kemmyb@toluwanispecial@amiegeoffrey
@wongi@adorable-me@osomar357
@lightpen@seunruth@rammargarita
@jhymi@jjmusa2004@kingsleyy
@smc.arike.oba@rukkie@lilolns19
@hazmat@lizizoo

Honorable Mentions of the Week

@phyna
High School Bestie

Our connection was so strong, and even without physical intimacy, our feelings were pure and untainted.

It was a love that came from the depths of our innocent hearts.

However, What mattered most to me was being able to replace the confusing moments of an unhappy relationship with a genuine friendship that lasted.

@teknon
Suppressed

"You're shallow minded," were the only words I could bring myself to type before blocking and deleting the entire chat. The next day at school, Debbie was all over him, and the look in her eyes when she was with him tore at my heart. I wanted to tell her that he wasn't worth her beautiful heart, but I couldn't because the words were heavy in my mouth plus I didn't want to ruin her excitement.

@jhymi
"Heart" On A Sleeve

If there’s one thing about high school that I realized soon after I left, is the level of emotional blackmail that goes on there. It was horrendous. Heat prickled on my skin, my palms were clammy and I could already feel the telltale signs of an approaching headache. The young boy had to be kidding me. Who did that?

@rukkie
Heart Filled With Joy

We did our extra classes for about a month and I noticed that her performance has changed for the better. There was a day in class when I gave a question on the board and asked someone to solve it, she raised her hand and came forward to solve it. I saw the smiles radiating from her face as her classmates gave her a round of applause for solving it correctly.

Third Place: Wins 2 Hive

Our third place winner is @sofs-su, with the story:

Lamp lit nights

Source

All of us kids had one wish in our hearts every evening - let this story never end. Once grandma was done feeding us she would bring out the huge tray of desserts usually some kind of sweet treat made with cow's milk, ghee, sugar and cardamom. She would then proceed to give each one of us a share of the goodies. Then we could play board games or some kind of game in the living room before we went to sleep.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

Our second place winner is @selftheist, with the story:

Lifechanging words

Source

The rest of the trip we joked around about the people there until I got her home. After that, I was alone with my racing heartbeat. I felt rusted inside but encouraged by her kind words. I could have never talked about my family about my mental illnesses because they would just dismiss it as laziness or even worse, call it the product of a sin of some sort, so this was new to me, at least in person.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Our first place winner is @nancybriti1, with the story:

When the heart is not enough

Source

A day after that, my father was declared dead. After that, I have sometimes dreamed of my father. In my dreams, my father does not know that he is dead. I do know, but I don't tell him anything. I just lie on his chest and listen to his heart beat, low, slow, as if he were taking a nap. Then I lie still so as not to wake him up and so as not to wake myself up.

divider

This Week's Prompt #51:


Nuts & Bolts

The expression "nuts and bolts" encompasses a multitude of meanings. Similarly, the individual words "nuts" and "bolts" offer a wide array of creative possibilities:

Whether you employ "nuts and bolts" as a metaphorical device or in a literal sense depends entirely on you. You have the freedom to incorporate the expression or the individual words within your text.

A few more ideas:

  • You bolted the door to your heart, preventing your eccentric boyfriend's antics from affecting you.
  • Perhaps a friend enlightened you about the necessity of sorting out the essential nuts and bolts of life or love before pursuing your dreams or mending your relationship.
  • Share a personal tale about an incident, event, or emotional turmoil that compelled you to bolt.
  • You came to the realization that the metaphorical horse had already bolted because fear held you back from confronting your feelings for someone you were genuinely nuts about.

Tell us about it! And remember to integrate storytelling elements like characters, scene setting, dialogue and action to bring your story to life!

Have fun and good luck! We look forward to reading your stories.

divider

Contest Rules

  • You have 6 days to write your story from the date of this prompt post. Be sure to check the deadline countdown.
  • Write a real-life story with the creative elements of fiction, like characters, dialogue, scene setting and a story conflict.
  • Post your story in The Ink Well Community.
  • Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. Other possible tags: #writing #inkwellprompt #nonfiction
  • Stories must be written in English. If you've translated the post, it's best to add the original version below the translation. Do not write mixed language paragraphs.
  • Read and comment on at least two stories in the community. Add a link to your story as a comment on this post.

And be sure to remember to join The Ink Well community!

divider

Prizes

Prizes are only for stories written for this week's prompt

  • First place : 5 Hive
  • Second place : 3 Hive.
  • Third place : 2 Hive.
divider

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard.

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord .

inkwell

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @yaziris, @samsmith1971, @gracielaacevedo and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP100 HP500 HP1000 HP5000 HP

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

A big thank you to all of our delegators:**
@jayna, @felt.buzz, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @itsostylish, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @selftheist, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marriot5464, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal and @eunice9200.

twitterbannerFind us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations to the winners and those who made it to the honourable list.🏆

I supported @deking01, @ibbtammy, @aly-squid, @george-dee, @davidbright, @lightpen, @marriot5464, @ayokunlehenry, @samiwrites, @rammargarita

Here's my entry

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@iskawrites/screw-perfection

I just dropped a comment nice write up, keep up the good work.

Wow! Congratulations to all the winners🎉
Thanks for honoring my story, I appreciate it.

Good to be here with you all.

Congratulations to all the winners.
I am glad to see like minds.

You are welcome to hive @oyebolu

Thanks, it is a pleasure being here.

Congratulations to the winners

Congratulations to you all winners and like mind.

It's a pleasure making it to the honorable mentions. Congratulations to the winners ✨.

Congratulations to all the winners and forthcoming writers. Great to be here with you all.

Yuuuuupi, my friend! I'm jumping with excitement. Thank you so much for the recognition and many congratulations to the other winners. We already make a big family in this community of writers. Hugs

Congratulations to you all both the winners and other writers.

I am glad to be here with like minds.

Congratulations to all the winners. Keep up the good work 👍.

Here is my entry https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@deking01/the-resurrection-of-castello-dellanima-a-love-story-in-ruins

Thank you. I just dropped a comment on your write-up. Keep inking 👍

Greetings community, this is my participation.
I had the opportunity to read, comment and vote the posts of @ngobaby, @samiwrites y @iskawrites.
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@osomar357/creative-nonfiction-the-matriarchal-union-enesp

Thank you for your support

Thank you for your support. Kindly check my comment on your post. Have a great day.

I supported @iyimoga, @samiwrites , and @iskawrites

Thank you for your support. I just read through your piece too, you can check my contribution in your comment section.🤗 blessings

Done, thanks a lot

You're welcome..👍

Loading...

Thank you so much I feel greatly encouraged and honored.
Congrats to winners and those in the honorable mentions list.
This is the link to my submission https://www.ecency.com/hive-170798/@sofs-su/the-turn-around
Got to go and support others now.
Have a wonderful day!

Congratulations to the winners, and those honourable mentioned. Below is my entry https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@toluwanispecial/bonds-of-friendship

Congratulations to all the winners and honorable mentions😊

Here's my entry to this prompt:
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@smc.arike.oba/at-the-age-of-eight-a-short-story-nonfiction

My entry link to the creativenonfiction prompt
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@hazmat/home-alone

Thank you. I've also dropped my comment on your post. Have a great weekend.

A big congratulations to the winners. Hey! @nancybriti1 I really love your story, well done! Thanks to everyone who participated I sincerely enjoyed some entries. Thanks!

I supported @iskawrites and @nichebezarius and here's my entry:

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@seunruth/the-barber