Creative Nonfiction Prompt #52

in The Ink Well7 months ago (edited)

Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well Prompt #52


Source


Welcome to The Ink Well's weekly creative nonfiction contest!

In this post, we'll announce the winners from last week's contest and provide the prompt for the coming week.


Before You Write Your Creative Nonfiction Post...


We ask that you read our Creative Nonfiction Tips post to learn about the creative nonfiction genre and review our guidelines.


Important notes:

  • Creative nonfiction stories are based on your real-life experiences.
  • We are looking for real short stories! Not advice columns, reports on crime or corruption in your city, observations on nature, recipes, religion, politics, or any other nonfiction content. Just real-life short stories.
  • Ideal story length is between 750 and 1500 words, but your story must be at least 350 words, at a minimum to be curated.
  • Please focus on quality content. Read and edit for errors! Use a grammar checker before you post your story.
  • We expect everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.
  • Do not post stories featuring physical abuse, graphic violence, erotica or NSFW content.

divider

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt Nuts & Bolts

Last week's participants

@marriot5464@samiwrites@teewhy120
@iskawrites@deking01@iyimoga
@ngobaby@osomar357@rare-gem
@nancybriti1@mrenglish@fashtioluwa
@jazclassic@phyna@ricardo993
@wongi@sofs-su@kingsleyy
@toluwanispecial@jjmusa2004@smc.arike.oba
@amiegeoffrey@universoperdido@hazmat
@rukkie@kilvnrex@lizizoo

Honorable Mentions of the Week

@hazmat
HOME ALONE

It didn't take more than two days for me to get bored whenever I got back home.

I could do anything whenever I wanted, but somehow there was simply no fun in eating alone or playing games alone.

In one sentence, I was missing my cousin.

@jjmusa2004
Loosened nuts

Those were pretty much the last of the conversations we had in August of 2016 before I graduated and left Union politics. A month later, on September 7th, I had an accident that almost claimed my life, and Richard and a few other friends stood by me. I was much hurt that Dami was aware (being on the same WhatsApp platform, where the group members were notified) but never deemed it fit to show any concern. My birthday was celebrated a month later, and I realized how much people cared for me while the one person I sacrificed myself for did not reach out to me. I promised myself never to sacrifice for any lady as much as I did for Dami until I got married.

@osomar357
The matriarchal union

The sad thing was that as we got older, one realizes the realities and begins to understand that the family was not as united as it was seen in the family Christmas tradition. In fact you can see the separations and distances between some of its members, separations that are generated by absurd things, such as political positions or economic situations that keep family members apart throughout the year.

@jazclassic
A loving LIAR

Yet I saw nothing wrong with Michael; he was just busy; if he could, he would have made time for me; I would lie to myself. Our relationship lasted a year and six months, and in the first year of our relationship, I really gave him a hard time. I didn't let him in because I was too afraid of the demands of a relationship.

@sofs-su
The turn around

Months turned into years I finished school and entered a university, yet nothing changed. The dreams continued and so did my sense of guilt and sadness. I was now a young woman with unresolved trauma from childhood. In my head I knew that dad would never comeback but I couldn’t stop those terrible dreams. It wasn't a great thing to wake up every morning to hopelessness and guilt.

Third Place: Wins 2 Hive

Our third place winner is @phyna, with the story:

Nice But Dangerous

Source

After about a month, Corper Tayo started giving me strange looks, he'll prolong eye contact, and pay extra attention whenever I spoke. At first, I tried to overlook it, but it became very weird when he wrote something on a piece of paper and passed it to me. I opened it and read 'You look even more beautiful when you're engrossed in your books, fine girl'.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

Our second place winner is @wongi, with the story:

Harmony And Contrasts

Source

He was the only one I could play mind games with and mind games were my favourite kind of games in highschool. Our friendly rivalry continued until the end of that session. I went home with joy in my heart. I was happy that I wouldn't have to face Joseph or put up with his alien attitude for a whole month.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Our first place winner is @ricardo993, with the story:

1,2,3,4,5

Source

I knew it, I had practiced it several times at home and kept remembering. It was difficult for me to remember the following numbers. I confused six with nine, and when I arrived in class, I knew that the nerves had made it worse for me.

divider

This Week's Prompt #52:


Call

Call, calling, or called can take on many meanings depending on context. Use any of these words or a derivative to write a creative story for us based on your life.

Ideas:

  • A call that delivered dreadful, enlightening, or, in some way, life-altering news.
  • Perhaps you have a hidden talent that led to an unexpected but inevitable calling.
  • Maybe your doctor, therapist, or friend called you aside and told you to change your lifestyle due to your casual attitude, which they felt would cause you harm.
  • Your tendency to call a spade a spade has often landed you in hot water.

Tell us about it! And remember to integrate storytelling elements like characters, scene setting, dialogue and action to bring your story to life!

Have fun and good luck! We look forward to reading your stories.

divider

Contest Rules

  • You have 6 days to write your story from the date of this prompt post. Be sure to check the deadline countdown.
  • Write a real-life story with the creative elements of fiction, like characters, dialogue, scene setting and a story conflict.
  • Post your story in The Ink Well Community.
  • Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. Other possible tags: #writing #inkwellprompt #nonfiction
  • Stories must be written in English. If you've translated the post, it's best to add the original version below the translation. Do not write mixed language paragraphs.
  • Read and comment on at least two stories in the community. Add a link to your story as a comment on this post.

And be sure to remember to join The Ink Well community!

divider

Prizes

Prizes are only for stories written for this week's prompt

  • First place : 5 Hive
  • Second place : 3 Hive.
  • Third place : 2 Hive.
divider

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard.

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord .

inkwell

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @yaziris, @samsmith1971, @gracielaacevedo and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP100 HP500 HP1000 HP5000 HP

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @itsostylish, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @selftheist, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marriot5464, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @eunice9200 and @holler.

twitterbannerFind us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Wow! once again!
Thank you very much Inkwell, for your support and all. I’m grateful.
Congratulations to other winners and honorable mentions.

Thank you very much inkwell. It is an honour✨

Thanks for the honourable mention.
Congratulations to the winners for the week

Congratulations to all the winners and honorable mentions

Congratulations to the winners. You guys have done a good job!

Congratulations to all the winners! You did an excellent job. Best regards


I just came to say that the cover image is cool.


Wow, congratulations to all the winners, we go again this week.

Thank you very much for choosing me, I feel extremely flattered. And congratulations to the other winners

I have supported @iskawrites and @farahikram their stories were superb.

Here is my entry
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@eunice9200/my-awful-experience

Congratulations to all participants and winners particularly

Here's my entry

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@jjmusa2004/call-to-betrayal

Congratulations to our honorable winners. well done to all those who participated.

Here is my entry for this week

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@emreal/the-call-i-wished-i

Congratulations to the winners.

Here's my link

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@balikis95/the-unplanned-journey?referral=balikis95

I engaged with,
Emreal
Jjmusa2004
Eunice9200

Good day @theinkwell. I am a first time user of this community. The below is the link to my work:

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@angelinacobbs/heartbreaking-call

I engaged on the work of @eunice9200 and @mrenglish .

Greatly honored by the honorable mention.
Congrats to the winners. Well done.

Edited

Here is the link to my post https://www.ecency.com/hive-170798/@sofs-su/the-unopened-gift
I have supported a couple of members of #theinkwellcommunity will try to reach out to more.

Greetings community and best wishes to all. This is neither participation:
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@osomar357/creative-nonfiction-hes-gone-enesp

I supported these comrades: @emreal, @angelinacobbs, @timix648

Thank you for reading my story, and I feel honored for being mentioned.

My entry:https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@jazclassic/dominic-never-came-to-stay

Supported @kingsleyy and @wongi

Congratulations to the winners and to those mentioned. Below is the link to my entry https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@toluwanispecial/a-stranger-call

Good day😊

Congratulations to all the winners and honorable mentions 😊

Here's my entry:
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@smc.arike.oba/its-going-to-be-okay-a-short-story-nonfiction

Thank you for the support. I just dropped a comment on your post too.

Thank you 😊

You're welcome 🤗

Hehe. Finally, I am able to participate after a long time. I supported @wongi & @amiegeoffrey .

Here is my entry: https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@intishar/suspense-of-a-call

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@toluwanispecial/a-stranger-call
Above is a link to my entry. The photos are mine and I have already stated it at the part of the post. They are photos, I took. Thanks for your understanding.