Creative Nonfiction Prompt #53

in The Ink Well7 months ago

Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well Prompt #53


Source


Welcome to The Ink Well's weekly creative nonfiction contest!

In this post, we'll announce the winners from last week's contest and provide the prompt for the coming week.


Before You Write Your Creative Nonfiction Post...


We ask that you read our Creative Nonfiction Tips post to learn about the creative nonfiction genre and review our guidelines.


Important notes:

  • Creative nonfiction stories are based on your real-life experiences.
  • We are looking for real short stories! Not advice columns, reports on crime or corruption in your city, observations on nature, recipes, religion, politics, or any other nonfiction content. Just real-life short stories.
  • Ideal story length is between 750 and 1500 words, but your story must be at least 350 words, at a minimum to be curated.
  • Please focus on quality content. Read and edit for errors! Use a grammar checker before you post your story.
  • We expect everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.
  • Do not post stories featuring physical abuse, graphic violence, erotica or NSFW content.

divider

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt Call

Last week's participants

@iskawrites@iyimoga@marriot5464
@mrenglish@farahikram@eunice9200
@rare-gem@jjmusa2004@emreal
@balikis95@angelinacobbs@kingsleyy
@timix648@lightpen@osomar357
@jazclassic@phyna@popurri
@toluwanispecial@wongi@cool08
@amiegeoffrey@samiwrites@smc.arike.oba
@rukkie@nancybriti1@toluwanispecial

Honorable Mentions of the Week

@osomar357
He's gone

I sat down next to her, took away the cup of coffee I had given her. And I looked into her eyes and I said, "No Mom, it's time to be strong, he left last night, my brother is gone."

@popurri
My father's decision

I listened with the phone glued to my ear and remained silent while my sister cried and told me. "He did it". It was a very hard moment because, even though I didn't accept it, I expected it.I could only cry when I arrived at my mother and sisters' side.

@emreal
The Call I Wished I Never Received

You know what? For the very first time in my life, I forgot where I was." What happened to him?"I inquired. "He had an accident, he went to a football match organized by his high school for old students. On his way back home, their car had an accident and all of them in the car died," Zak replied.

@tomiajax
Chasing the miraging freedom

So I sat on the sidewalk, planning a strategy to go home without drawing too much notice. As I got closer to home, I spotted my neighbor's father a few meters away.

Third Place: Wins 2 Hive

Our third place winner is @phyna, with the story:

Overcoming My Fear

Source

It felt like my prayers weren't working because, before falling asleep, I had prayed for a beautiful voice and the grace to sing the psalm well. I even prayed for the night to last longer. But looking at it, there was no difference in my voice, and Sunday was already here.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

Our second place winner is @nancybriti1, with the story:

The call

Source

But the call came neither the following week, nor the following month, nor in a year. It was painful to see my father hurriedly pick up the phone and realize that it was not the call he was waiting for. His spirits, like a punctured balloon, were gradually deflating.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Our first place winner is @smc.arike.oba, with the story:

IT'S GOING TO BE OKAY

Source

My hands clutched my wrapper to my chest as I shivered. Since the balcony was upstairs, I was able to see my neighborhood. It was in the dead of night, and everywhere was dark, quiet, and still, almost like a cemetery, but it was interrupted occasionally by barking street dogs, the whistle of the hunters and security guards, or the deep cough from the TB patient in a room in the compound next to mine.

divider

This Week's Prompt #53:


Love

Love can take a host of meanings

Beloved, lovely, lover, lovestruck, lovelorn, loveable, unloved, lovebird, loveless, love lost, love potion, loveworn, loveseat, love letter, lovesick, lovey-dovey, and tough love.

Ideas:

  • It was no more than puppy love, and to be sure, I soon grew out of it.
  • Her love for me was unconditional, but I didn't understand or appreciate its purity.
  • The thing is that it took no more than a simple conversation, and I was smitten. It was love at first meeting rather than love at first sight.
  • Perhaps you found out that a family member or friend was involved in illicit practices, and you decided that tough love was the only way to break them free.

Tell us about it! And remember to integrate storytelling elements like characters, scene setting, dialogue and action to bring your story to life!

Have fun and good luck! We look forward to reading your stories.

divider

Contest Rules

  • You have 6 days to write your story from the date of this prompt post. Be sure to check the deadline countdown.
  • Write a real-life story with the creative elements of fiction, like characters, dialogue, scene setting and a story conflict.
  • Post your story in The Ink Well Community.
  • Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. Other possible tags: #writing #inkwellprompt #nonfiction
  • Stories must be written in English. If you've translated the post, it's best to add the original version below the translation. Do not write mixed language paragraphs.
  • Read and comment on at least two stories in the community. Add a link to your story as a comment on this post.

And be sure to remember to join The Ink Well community!

divider

Prizes

Prizes are only for stories written for this week's prompt

  • First place : 5 Hive
  • Second place : 3 Hive.
  • Third place : 2 Hive.
divider

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard.

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord .

inkwell

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @yaziris, @samsmith1971, @gracielaacevedo and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP100 HP500 HP1000 HP5000 HP

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @itsostylish, @marlyncabrera, @selftheist, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marriot5464, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @eunice9200, @holler and @tomiajax.

twitterbannerFind us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations to @smc.arike.oba, @nancybriti1 and @phyna.

Thank you Lightpen

Thank you very much!

Congratulations to all the winners and honorable mentions

Thank you!

Thank you very much Inkwell. I am grateful.
Congratulations to other winners🎉

This is so unexpected! I woke up from my hospital bed to see the news! It's such a great news!

Thank you so much 😊 @theinkwell
This means a lot to me.

Congratulations! @nancybriti1 @phyna
and other honorable mentions 😊

Congrats to you, your story was so touching.

Congratulations also to you

Thank you so much😊

Congratulations to the champions and honourable mentions.

Congratulations to all the winners 🎉

Wow, I made it to the honourable mentions for the first time, I'm so excited. Congrats to all the winners and I hope I get to be a winner one day 😀

Thank you all very much! Congratulations to the other winners. Happy and honored to belong to this community. Regards

Congratulations to the winners 👏,

Congratulations to all the winners. Here is my entry : https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@kinganny/loving-dave

Congratulations to the winners. Here's my link

https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@balikis95/my-beloved?referral=balikis95

I engaged with,
-Iskawrites
-marriot5464

Congrats to all the winners.
Here's my entry.
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@lilolns19/only-friends-or-the-ink

Supported
Iskawrites
Rare-gem and
Balikis95

Kindly find here my entry, thank you.

Congratulations to all the winners and the honorable mentions.

Congratulations to the winners
When I saw the prompt topic
So many stories came to my mind but then I have to pick one

Greetings community, best wishes to all.
This is my participation:
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@osomar357/creative-nonfiction-lost-promises-enesp

These are the comrades I supported:
@nancybriti1, @marriot5464, @rare-gem, @phyna