You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fiction Writing prompt #5: The Magic Starts at the Beginning

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

Hi @letalis-laetitia

Feel free to re-write the beginning, or even make a new one. My primary purpose is to try and encourage people to follow the simple three act structure. It is a perfect, simple way to curtail the flights of fancy (that I myself am 100% guilty of doing) and maintain that plot structure in short stories particularly.

I don't know if it is something you would consider, but back in the old times of crazy amounts of contests on steemit, me and a friend would often end up coming back to how much language choice changes a story, and lament how that never really featured in any contests. It was FTS that inspired us, we would play around rewriting the openings from time to time (entirely in private and for practice) but I just thought i'd mention it because it worked really well with something like this

At some point in the future when I'm fully recovered I'd be happy to do this or some type of iteration of it. Or even just you and me proofreading, and re-writing a short story of each others as an exercise for the other writer to see the stylistic differences and nuances that they like (or dislike) about the other writers work. This is the type of thing I did in Uni all the time and it was very helpful 🙂

I just wish I had the energy I had at that time of my life when I was in uni 😒

P.s. this is raj808 writing from the community account. I'm going to be releasing my full story inspired by the three point arc structure later today, and shake the dust off the raj808 account 😃