You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dedication

in The Ink Welllast year

Nicely done! @crosheille's comment captures the value of the dog in this story. The presence of the dog not only shows a tender relationship, but it allows us to further understand Amy's perspective. We spend almost all our time inside Amy's head, and yet we are not bored. Her interactions with the dog, the housekeeper and her colleagues gives us an objective view of this character.

Only one question is unanswered in the story: Who is Lucy? You identify everyone else, but not Lucy. This is not a critical failing in the story, but one does wonder.

Thank you for sharing this well-crafted story with us. It certainly does respond to the prompt. Have you commented on the publications of at least two other writers in the Inkwell community? Thank you.

Keep writing!

Sort:  

Thank you for your encouraging words.
Without the dog I felt there was very little scope to develop Amy's character.
I agree, I missed out on mentioning who Lucy is, thanks for pointing that out. I need to remember not to leave lose ends like that.
I have yet to comment on the work of other authors, which I will, been kind of busy today.
Appreciate the effort you've taken, I'll keep those points in mind @theinkwell