The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 123

in The Ink Well8 months ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from 7 September to September 13 / 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @edystringz

REUNION

image.png

Pixabay

I went to the makeshift grave I made for him at our favorite spot and put a white rose there. That was his favorite flower. I stayed there for a long time and soon fell asleep.
Then, that familiar masculine scent wafted through my nose jolting me up. He was standing there in white.
"Chris, you're alive," I asked in disbelief.
"Yes, I am," he said
"You died and now I can see you. Am I dead too," I wondered aloud.
"We're both alive," he said and enveloped me in a tight hug.

@edystringz

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @jhymi

Her Chance At Happiness?

image.png

Pixabay

I scowled at him. “So because you’re addicted to them, you think I’d like them?”

I saw the crestfallen look on his face and I was almost about to apologize. I also had a slight addiction to chocolate and thought it was nice for him to get it for me, but again, sue me if I wasn’t jumping up and down excitedly that my estranged father, by my probing, had finally decided to give me a bit of attention.

“I’m sorry for the assumption. Please forgive me.”

@jhymi

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @marriot5464

Independent

image.png

Pexels

The first few weeks were a little blurry for me. A mix of new experiences and challenges. The easy rhythm my old life had was quickly replaced by the chaotic unpredictability of life in a new environment. Everything was literally unfamiliar, from the noise and bustle of the city to the faces in the crowd. The first time I went grocery shopping on my own in a busy market, it was like I was being thrown into a sea of chaos, struggling to stay afloat. 😂

But amidst that chaos, there was this liberating sense of responsibility I got, which I've so craved for. I made every choice for myself; the triumphs and setbacks were a direct result of my choices. And I loved every bit of it.

@marriot5464

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @nancybriti1

Starting together

image.png

Pixabay

One day, I learned to write my name and as if I were a great child god, I began to put my name on everything I could find. Not only did I write my name in notebooks, I also put my name on my dolls, on the wooden back of my bed and even wrote my name on the walls of the house. Although each letter of my name looked like a scribble, I saw them as if they were the most extraordinary thing my eyes could see.

My parents, seeing the white walls desecrated with those shapeless strokes, chastised and scolded me, making it clear to me that the walls were not scratched. Thus my newfound childhood hobby died a definitive death: I never made a scratch on the walls again.

@nancybriti1

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kemmyb

Silver Linings

image.png

Unsplash

Madu shook his head. "She confessed to me the night she was brought into the emergency ward. She had plans to travel to the city, to see you. While using the ladder in the shed, she fell and hurt her back. I was in a state of shock. My colleague had to attend to her."

It wasn't until the tears touched her lips before Ciara realised she'd been crying. For the lost years and lost love. Then the seer's prophecy flooded her memory sharply, like the universe's way of saying "I told you so".

@kemmyb

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @lightpen

The beautiful beginning

image.png

Usplash

"Your wife is coming from an entirely different background. Be open to her on your likes and dislikes, don't hold grudges and be ready to have a forgiving heart. The success of this journey that you are about to start is dependent on your deliberate efforts. Both of you saying "I love you" to each other isn't enough to run your home .

"You must uphold respect, trust and sacrifice. Try as much as possible to settle your misunderstandings amicably without involving third parties. If it becomes necessary, involve elders in our family or her family to help you maintain peace. Have listening ears and guide your family to the right path. I wish your marriage to be among the best." He concluded.

@lightpen

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @restcity

Counting

image.png

Unsplash

Every day after work DD and I would blast Beyonce or Taylor Swift music, whatever we felt like at the moment. I made sure to spend time with her frequently and on days when she stayed in the hospital, I'd bring her an occasional snack and tell her what was happening at home. I counted the days on my digital calendar for the day the doctor would give us DD's stats.

Two weeks past, and the dreaded hospital appoimtment day had made it's way here. Today I would find out if my baby was getting better or worse.

@restcity
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png
@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , and @samsmith1971

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86,87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish and @samsmith1971.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:
@jayna, @felt.buzz, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @selftheist, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @itsostylish, @marriot5464, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @balikis95, @jhymi, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter and @emreal.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your recognition! Happy for the support and for the opportunity to keep growing. Best regards

Thank you for the support and recognition. It motivates me greatly.

Thank you so much for the constant support @theinkwell. It's such an honour that my story is among the featured posts.🤗