The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 137

in The Ink Well4 months ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from December 14 to December 20/ 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @rdsmas

That night in the bar that never left

image.png

Source

We returned to the venue and she said she would pay for the next round, I took a napkin, writing on it a poem of consummate drunkenness, she read it, signing it with her purple lips, then put it away in her miniature purse.
Innocently I brushed her hand, and she returned another smile, raised her glass and recited a Dickinson poem:

Love - is before Life -
subsequent - to Death -
initial of Creation, and
of earth the Exponet.

@rdsmas

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @teknon

Frozen Hearts, Warm Endings

image.png

Pixabay

"Hi Olive" his voice made my palms sweat again. I shut my eyes fighting to hold back the tears I had kept in for so long. He brought his hands close to mine and I shuddered. A minute later I got a grip of myself and let words that snagged in my chest out.
"What right do you have to hold my hands after gaslighting me? You think you can just appear from wherever after two months of acting like a child and then I'd give you my hands? What do you think of me? Because I expected more doesn't mean you can treat me like a nobody and get away with it?" He was mute as I went on and on. He let me finish and I felt a lot relieved.

@teknon

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @gabmr

Snow Falls Different Sometimes

image.png

Pixabay

"Guys, I don't want to be a spoilsport, but we have to find Santa Klaus," Zut said loudly, clutching his head.
"Santa's around?" asked Mirta with twinkles in her eyes.
"Yes, and you'll probably help us find him!"
"Me?" scratched Mirta's head as Caribou carried her on his back like a mini queen.
"Young Santa Klaus needs to return to training at the North Pole so in the future make the children of the world happy," Zut clarified.

@gabmr

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @jessicaossom

Eagerly Awaiting Eagles

image.png

Pixabay

The days crept by slowly. Then one sunny afternoon, Olujimi’s acute hearing detected a chorus of shrill demanding peeps floating on the breeze. Gazing upwards, his breath caught sharply. High on an outer iroko branch perched three wide-eyed, unsteady gray eaglets only a few weeks old clad in fluffy down, aggressively snapping compact beaks. As Olujimi watched enthralled, the majestic female soared into view clutching a snake in her formidable talons. With an echoing cry she landed gracefully, tearing sections off with her razor beak and patiently delivering blood-rich morsels into each scrawny open throat.

@jessicaossom

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @iskawrites

Yes, too much sugar is bad for you

image.png

Pixabay

It was when I saw Tamara, who was my cousin's name, take up another cube of sugar after dissolving the first three in her plate that I spoke up.
“Tamara that's enough.” There was a firmness to my tone that made everyone at the table turn to me.
“What is it, Treasure?” her eyes were raised directly at me.
“How can you use four cubes of sugar for a bowl of cereal?”
My mother chuckled somewhere in between, turning the table's attention to herself.
“You think I'm teasing her when I call her sugar girl? It's literal. When I complained to her parents the last time, they said she has a sweet tooth.”

@iskawrites
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author:
@wrestlingdesires

Sometimes Surprises Are Better

"Sorry Dad, I hope I didn't wake you. I'm just so excited about Santa coming with my new console! I can't believe I'll be able to start the new year with Aliens Mind-controlled. I can't wait!"

Dad looked away. "What if Santa ran out of them, and had to make more? He might even make another delivery run in a couple of months if that happened."
John laughed. "Very funny, Dad. Santa always has enough. He's magic."
"Right... hand me one of those cookies, will you?"
When John got back to his room, he did a silent fist pump in victory. "Now he has to find one."

@wrestlingdesires

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @restcity

I Wish You Were

image.png

Pexels

I fingered the water out of my eyes. “Shiloh, hop on!”
I drove us back down the road to our house, and as soon as we were inside I grilled her. “Where were you?”
“The school bus didn’t come. Me and some other kids were waiting for hours. When it still didn’t come by 4:45, I walked home. When I was walking I saw the bus drive by and everybody was laughing at me and crap.
“Oh,” I said, grabbing my phone and bringing Shiloh to the couch. “Is that why you’re crying?”
“No,” Shiloh sniffled. “I’m crying because…because at school I said I wished you would die because you’re so mean to me, but I don’t really wish you would die, and as I was walking home I had a terrible thought about if you died at home, and I would never forgive myself."

@restcity

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , and @samsmith1971

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128,129,130, 131,132,133,134, 135, 136

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish and @samsmith1971.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here


@jayna, @felt.buzz, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @itsostylish, @marlyncabrera, @selftheist, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marriot5464, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @eunice9200, @holler, @tomiajax and @ricurohemi28.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations, @rdsmas, @teknon, @gabmr, @jessicaossom, @iskawrites, @wrestlingdesires, @@@restcity. Thank you so much for your presence in our community and for your commitment to writing good stories!

Thank you for your comment, it is a pleasure that motivates us to keep on giving ourselves to the letters every day with the premise of finding the story that connects us with the rest of the world.

Thanks for supporting creative writing!

Thank you so much.

Thank you so much. I appreciate the recognition.

Once again, it is a great honor and pleasure to be mentioned in such a prestigious community, thank you for the sincere and honest curation, it only forces us to keep improving every day to see this community and blockchain grow.

Congratulations everyone, keep giving out good contents

I really appreciate the recognition. Thank you lots.

Congratulations to the featured writers. Good job