The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 159

in The Ink Well3 months ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from May 16 to May 22 / 2024.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @steinhammer

A Night Out

image.png

Pixabay

When they went outside, while expecting Tim to talk about his phone call, this conversation never came up. On the contrary, Tim had regained his spirits and was talking about the soccer league they played in while deeply inhaling his cigarette. Just then, his phone rang again. This time, he answered it there; it was his wife. Will and AK tried to continue the conversation, but Tim's voice started to rise. The duo, not understanding what was happening, waited for the conversation to end. After hanging up, Tim took a deep breath and said his wife was coming to the bar by taxi and that she was very drunk, so the taxi driver had called him. This news crushed the group's spirits and also started a tense wait.

@steinhammer
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @litguru

Meat

image.png

Images generated using Stable Diffusion software

After dinner, once all the guests had retired for the evening, Nolan was prepping the kitchen for the following day when he happened to look out the window. Outside, as if from a dream, Katya walked across the Martian terrain with her mech in tow. The machine followed her like a well-trained puppy.

She raised her arm like a ballerina, and as if on command, the mech projected images of an aurora in the sky. She ran a few meters, then stopped suddenly, and with a burst of steam from her aero-boosters, leapt high into the atmosphere with a twirl, ascending and transforming into a rose as she reached the zenith of her trajectory then fell back to the ground in a cloud of red dust.

@litguru
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @littlepiggies

A Full Moon

image.png

Image by the author

The table had already been set with a few plates and some light exposed the cupboard as the cabinet door was opened. A pair of small (and filthy) hands wrapped around a stack of plates, touching The Dish, about to scoop them up.

“I’ll be going out of the cupboard afterall” thought The Dish, with excitement. When the tiny hands realized it was too large of a grasp, they let go of The Dish and grabbed the plates stacked above him. His despair was restored as the cupboard was sloppily left to creak itself shut and darkness ensued. Only it didn’t shut all the way. The Dish could still see out the small opening of the cupboard and into the dining room which was lit brightly.

@littlepiggies
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @abdul-qudus

No Guts. No Glory!

image.png

Own photo

Our third year in the university got better, yet I could also remember how we struggled to get transport fare down to school and wait for free rides from lecturers to take us home.
But things got a turnaround when I joined Steemit that year. I was introduced to the platform by my brother.

As much as I realized I could earn money from the platform, I was focused and determined, I made sure I earned something that could cater to my needs. It became obvious that I was doing something to fetch me money. Julius challenged me one day.

@abdul-qudus
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kei2

Blubber; A New Earthlea Will Rise

image.png

Image generated with meta.ai

Rowla fell into a heap beside Blubber. Her peach floral dress formed a circle around her. “This is the 20th era and the spell has been watered down from generation to generation. I fear Earthlea may be lost forever. I want to see it. I want my magic to evolve. Tell me more about it Blubber. You were there before it all went to dust.”

“Earthlea is as real as I am. I feel the air and raindrops. I can smell the ocean and how the sun shines so brightly. The feywings and fairies flutter. Elves and pixies jumping trees. Oh, what a great life lived in peace and harmony.” Blubber closed his eyes and his body shook. He looked so much at peace that Rowla couldn't help but smile. “I feel it Rowla. All of it.”

@kei2
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @storygoddess

My perfect imperfect life

image.png

Pexels

The morning came, and off I went to school smiling and greeting the people along the way. I got to school to see Anike waiting with her dad at the school entrance. “Good morning, sir”, good morning, Anike”. I greeted. “We were waiting for you” she exclaimed. Drawn back, I wondered what they could be wanting from a child of nobody like me. “Since you’re a scholarship student, I believe you must be very brilliant.” Her dad interrupted my thought. “So, I want you to be Anike’s best friend so that you can help with her studies”, he concluded.

I struggled to speak because I didn’t understand how to respond or what to feel. Anike’s touch jolted me back to reality. She held my hand and thanked me for agreeing to be her friend even though I had said nothing.

@storygoddess

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @iskawrites

What are some of my all-time favorite restaurants?

image.png

Pixabay

We ordered mocktails while waiting for their infamous fried rice which I ordered to be prepared. Everything was prepared in front of us. By the time the food was ready, I was so excited that I couldn't wait to start eating.

The rice was everything they said it would be, and more but that was just the first course. Dumplings were brought in next and since I couldn't resist taking photos, my boyfriend had to wait until I was done with my photography session before we dug in.

By the time we were done at the Chinese restaurant, there was no space in me for Amala, shawarma, or any of the other things he initially wanted to order for me so I just asked him to take me back home.

@iskawrites
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , @samsmith1971, and @agmoore

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128,129,130, 131,132,133,134, 135, 136, 138, 139,140, 141, 142, 143, 144, 145, 146,147, 148, 149, 150, 151, 152, 153, 154, 155,156,157,158

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish, @samsmith1971 and @agmoore.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @itsostylish, @blueeyes8960, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @juniorgomez, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @rinconpoetico7, @nathy33, @marriot5464, @iyimoga, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @tomiajax, @kushyzee, @rare-gem, @ricurohemi28, @benwesterham.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations, @steinhammer, @litguru, @littlepiggies, @abdul-qudus, @kei2, @storygoddess, @iskawrites!
Your stories have been selected to be part of the 159th Featured Author Magazine. Thank you very much for publishing in our community!!

I am honored @gracielaacevedo. Thank you so much 🥰🥰

Thank you so much @gracielaacevedo and @theinkwell! It's great to see my story featured.

It feels so good to see my story featured. Thank you so much!

Wow! Thank you!

Amazing. Thank you so much.

Thank you so much for the feature.

Thank you so much, I'm happy to be featured on here : )