The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 55

in The Ink Well2 years ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive and grow!

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from May 18 to May 24/ 2022.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @itsostylish
Logic

image.png

Source

AThey took the fastest route, alongside the busy main road. Taxis sped past, their wild-eyed drivers honking a particularly African tune that accompanied their whizz wherever they went. The path was a colorful display of vendors selling everything from plump looking fruit to mini solar lights and piles of firewood and charcoal. Chipo caught Gracie eyeing the firewood longingly.
“I can’t buy it for us now, but It’s the first thing I’ll get on my way home this evening.” He promised, patting her back comfortingly.- @itsostylish

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @merit.ahama
The Boss Game

image.png
Source

I knew I had to fight the feelings I was having for him so I could focus on the job and get to the end with it but I couldn't imagine getting him fired even if I won the fight in the end. I decided to let him win, I decided to let my love take over me.

A few days to the day the presentation on who would be the boss, he was having secret meetings with our superior and he would give out random beautiful smiles to me. I knew they were fake and evil but I fell for him more, I kept wishing he would reciprocate the feelings I had for him. - @merit.ahama

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @madamnaomi

DO I NEED THERAPY?

image.png
Edited by canva

T I’ve never seen him so sad. The pain in his eyes was something I didn’t understand, I should be the one in pain and not him but then again I’ve never had a guy like/love me genuinely so maybe that’s why I didn’t understand. With that, he opened the door and left...Brian left...he left me...he didn’t look back once and I stood there...I watched him leave. I gently closed the door and sat back on my bed.

What was this pain I was feeling? Why was I so heartbroken? Did he actually mean what he said? Did I really push someone I cared about away? My face...my cheeks,they were wet... the tears I had been holding in finally came rolling down. But this time I didn’t wipe them away.- @madamnaomi

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @diebitch
Embracing worry

image.png

Source

"Who was it?"
"Your mother."
The colour drained from Marnie's face and she went straight for her bag.
"It's gone."
"I'm sorry, I tried stopping her."
Marnie went near her pillow and took out a raggedy teddy bear and held it to her chest.
"Do you want to report her?"
"No, she'll only take it out on my siblings."
Marnie hugged her bear and cried softly. She looked at Mahesh's stunned expression and moved her face away.- @diebitch

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @katleya
The unforgettable gardens of Mysterious Island

image.png

Source

The children recover quickly from the fall and the appearance of the unexpected ghost. They continue their walk, as they are about to enter the fabulous gardens. The pleasant scents make their appearance. They are the sign that they are near. They already spot Alice and the statues. And, as a first surprise, the mischievous gnomes ..... appear.
One takes off Peter's cap, it's the naughty Orxim. Peter doesn't see it and becomes furious. A sigh is heard... and Orxim starts whistling Amanda's favorite song. - @katleya

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @fragozar01
A Saving Read

image.png

Source

"I see it, wait a moment" — she answers as she feels her heart racing. There in the background of his telescopic sight, he has located a formidable enemy of his country who has been able to hide for the past 11 years. Although her mission is very clear, Carlina has reached the point where she knows she must act according to her conscience. And something that has been clear to her during the last 2 years of intense search, is that she would not have the courage to shoot this guy. Seeing him framed in the cross that forms her crosshairs, she can detail that he is there just as she expected to find him, reading a book. - @fragozar01

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Thank you for reading our short story highlights magazine!

@jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo, @wrestlingdesires and @yaziris

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, #12, #13, #14, #15, #16, #17, #18, #19, #20, #21, #22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54

We would like to invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo, @wrestlingdesires and @yaziris.

We also invite you to follow The Ink Well curation trail on the Hive blockchain, at https://hive.vote/. Simply navigate to the curation trail section and search for theinkwell (all one word with no @ symbol) and our trail will pop up as an option.

Similarly delegations are possible on Hive using the fantastic https://peakd.com/ Hive Blockchain front end. If you wish to delegate to @theinkwell, you can do this from the wallet section of https://peakd.com/

A big thank you to all of our delegators:
@zeurich, @jayna, @felt.buzz, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @agmoore, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @kirlos, @semarekha, @adncabrera, @josemalavem, @morey-lezama, @sayury, @evagavilan2, @deraaa, and @rayt2.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Fabulous, very happy and pleased for this mention and recognition. I consider them the best community that encourages creative writing, delighted to be a part. Go ahead with that great work. Thank you

Thank you so much @theinkwell for featuring my story. I’m so happy and willing to write a lot more.

Thank you for featuring my story ❤️
Congratulations to everyone else, too ❤️😊🤔😊❤️

Wow thanks for this @theinkwell im glad my story got featured in the magazine, it's a cue to do better again.

Congrats to the others who got featured too, keep the awesome stories coming!

Thank you so much @theinkwell for featuring my story. I’m so happy and willing to write a lot more.

congratulations to @itsostylish @merit.ahama @madamnaomi @diebitch @katleya and @fragozar01 for their best writing in the inkwell.
Also thanks @theinkwell for the best selection of the writers.

Thanks @fantom22 I appreciate 😊

Thank you❤️😊🤔

Thank you for reading @fantom22