The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 83

in The Ink Welllast year

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive and grow!

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from November 30 to December 6 / 2022.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kzxixs
Life circumstances

image.png

Own photo

Five months later, when I was more organized about my responsibilities, I managed to get a job that would allow me to study. Again I felt the sense of fear of the unknown that I felt when I moved, but I didn't let that stop me, I learned to do things with fear.
This new job taught me so many things, like how to be more expressive, to make new friends (I was very shy), to be more empathetic with people, and above all to always see the positive side of things. _ @kzxixs

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @abigail04
The bank

image.png

Source

My sister would come to me to ask for money. She would say "please, Abi!!! I need money to cater for something. Can you please lend me some amount? I would tell her "you should know me too well that I don't joke with money and not even the one close to me". After much pressure, I would lend her the money. I will place a time limit on which the money would last. Please, don't let the money be up to the time you would want to return it. I always allow those coming for money to place a time that would suit them to return the money. This is where I have to act whenever the money is not forthcoming.- @abigail04

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @bornben
Last hope

image.png

Source

That night, Marvin decided to study for the maths test the next day, but he wasn't quite sure what to study. The paper Grey gave him which had the entire maths question in it or his class note. After much debate in his mind, he decided to study his books.
The next day, the test began as the question was shared. Marvin closed his eyes and said a small prayer before he engaged the question. - @bornben

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @radenkusumo666
Sumarni's current changes

image.png

Source

After two hours of choosing clothes, Sumarni finally bought a dress for the wedding, two t-shirts, and three pairs of trousers for her. When paying at the cashier, Tio was finally relieved because he was no longer waiting for his wife to shop for clothes.
While in the car, Tio said to his wife "Darling, you have too many clothes in the wardrobe, why to buy more clothes?" asked Tio while driving the car.
Then Sumarni replied, "You know that I shop for the peace of my soul."
"Okay, I'm not commenting anymore" Tio replied.- @radenkusumo666

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @merit.ahama
The Ring Of Disguise

image.png

Source

But fate helped her when she met him at a convenient store, they both stared at each other for sometime and as she was about to walk towards him, he walked to her with a smile on his face.
Why do people say you've become beautiful? You still look the same in my eyes
Roan asked
Surprised Flora was speechless, she couldn't understand why he said that. She removed the ring from her fingers and looked at him to see his reaction, but he just kept staring at her waiting for her response to his question. - @merit.ahama

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @vincric

Beholder

image.png

Source

Myself was vague and short for I was newly conceived, not yet born, not yet whole. I waited, what else will they bestow upon me, what else will I be.
They wish to shape me, not to perfection as they knew that was beyond they’re power, but to the best as they were, as flawed as they are. They molded me as they desired to present me, they wished to share the knowledge of my existence with others where I in turn would meet my own fellow kin, not of the same maker, but of the same made. - @vincric

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @grindan

Nothing is as it Appears

image.png

Source

Shoulder by shoulder, the running water of the two sinks drown their conversation out for curious ears. "Yes, I'm real. I thought you knew, I'm sorry..." Julian hangs onto Wyatt's soft voice for dear life. "I have no idea where I'm going, but I'm certain it is better than here." Wyatt continues, "The way out is in the paper." he shakes the excess water from his fingertips and turns to dry his hands.- @grindan

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Thank you for reading our short story highlights magazine!

@jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, #12, #13, #14, #15, #16, #17, #18, #19, #20, #21, #22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, , 41, 42, , 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:
@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @seeger, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @itsostylish, @josemalavem, @morey-lezama, @sayury, @evagavilan2 and @popurri.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations to all of the awesome authors who are highlighted here, some faces I already know and love, as well as a few new ones to check out later 😁

Also, thank you very much for selecting my piece for this issue Ink Well Team, it was a wonderful pick me up after a week of the flu! 💕🤗

I'm indeed praised. Congrats to me and to others whose names appeared here...

Dear @theinkwell,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Dear @theinkwell,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!