The Ink Well Highlights Magazine #98

in The Ink Welllast year

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.
The following are just a few of our favorite stories from March 14 to 21/ 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @jadams2k18

Mixed feelings

image.png

Source

Jennifer's heart skipped a beat as she realized what she was seeing.
A ferocious creature, thickly furred with large fangs was growling and howling confined within the bars, its eyes glowing with an otherworldly light. It was standing and no matter how hard it tried, the chains kept it inside the cell. As the video played, Jennifer watched in amazement as the beast transformed and took human form. It looked tired and weak as if the transformation had drained it of some of its life. -

@jadams2k18

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @riverflows

The Biggest Surpise of My Life

image.png

Own photo

And Then...
Six months later, she got married. Of course I couldn't go. How would I afford it, what with my little boy in tow as well, and a husband? Three tickets were a lot of money. I'm so sorry, sis, I had said. She totally understood. The shortest distance by air is 16,903.84 km or over 10,000 miles. It takes around 24 hours. One does not just drop everything and go.
A week before her wedding, my heart raced like anything as I knocked. My parents had gone in already and we had held back, hiding behind the car and giving it a minute or two before we made our approach. My little boy trying not to giggle with excitement. We looked at each other nervously. Surpises can be tough.-

@riverflows

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @balikis95

Eleanor's Journey Through The Passageway

image.png

Source

“Don’t give up and climb the loose board… Protect your brother.”
As she moved on the loose boards, tears filled her eyes as she wished the spell of “Follow Suit” used on her brother was used on her too. But she knew better, the spell is dangerous because it allows you to follow anyone without complaining. It is like you don’t even know your surrounding. Her mother had used it on Aaron so that he won’t be able to see pain and evil around. His heart is pure and she hopes to keep it so. Glancing at her brother for a little while, she moved on. Not looking back. She knew what she had to do. -

@balikis95
TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @jetta.amaya

Some things never cease to amaze us

image.png

Source

So when Dad started to feel sick and went on his journey from doctor to doctor, none of them pointed to what was really wrong. A misdiagnosis caused him to be prescribed treatment for Parkinson's, which put him into a coma for four days. After this, the doctors were able to do the necessary tests to determine that what my father had was Cirrhosis of the liver. The surprise was not only for me, but also for my father, my mother and the doctors; Dad had not had any previous liver disease and as I mentioned before, he did not consume alcohol or other substances that could damage his liver. Yet there he was with his liver in a state of severe deterioration. -

@jetta.amaya

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @faitz007

When I Decided Not To Give Up Yet

image.png

Source

My body impulses stopped for a moment, my eyes unblinking at my laptop screen. In the announcement, it was written that I had won second place in the competition. ecstatic hormones suddenly filled all the restless feelings that I had previously experienced. I really didn't expect that there would be a surprise that was completely out of my expectations like this. I was expecting to be ranked 50th, but it turned out to be my lucky day. I suddenly announce this happy announcement to my entire family and they reaction toward me was speechless because this information just all by sudden happen -

@faitz007

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @stellageorge

Blue Roses

image.png

Source

"Listen–" the rest of my speech hooks in my throat when she opens a door that suddenly materialized in the tree.
Eyes wide, mouth open, I am speechless.
The girl notices and pulls me along by the hand into the doorway and down wooden stairs, strong wooden stairs.
This is really quite big for the inside of a tree and in my thirty two years, I never envisioned being led into a tree.
"I must be dreaming," I shake my head rigorously as we descend the wooden stairs.
She giggles at my statement.
"No you're not. My name's Narnie and I'm Alexa's friend, maybe best friend," Narnie blushes.
"And you live in a tree," it really is just me trying to put two and two together.-

@stellageorge

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @innfauno12

The garden on the lake

image.png

Source

He propelled himself with his hand into the dark depths that were devouring him completely, he could not see the slightest light nor the end of the road. His struggle was seduced by a dizziness that lulled him to sleep until he touched a hand, it was Nairuvis at the bottom of the lake encouraging him not to give up yet. With his remaining energy, he kissed her between life and death, in an unknown underworld.
The spectator and witness god envied them, for he would never be loved as they loved each other. Seeing their sacrifice, he would not allow such a powerful love to be extinguished, and with, some jealousy he touched the lake with his hand, transforming the couple into brambles that grew into trees intertwined like spirals. -

@innfauno12

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Thank you for reading our short story highlights magazine!

@jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86,87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @stuartcturnbull, @arduilcelebren, @itsostylish, @josemalavem, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, and @mrenglish.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

!LUV

Lovely stories 😍

I really appreciate you posting my story. It is an honor for me. It makes me very happy to be taken into account. Thank you very much 😄

Thank you for highlighting my post. I dearly appreciate it.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jayna ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wonderful work guys. Keep writing 😁❤️

This is an honor.
Thank you so much for the mention.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ipexito.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Kudos to everyone of you I enjoyed reading them😁👍

Thank you for publishing my story in the weekly magazine.

It is an honor to be part of this great selection of authors. I hope to continue producing quality content for this great community. Sorry for the delay, but it's been a bit difficult to connect, but I'm always on the lookout and grateful.