The Search for Mark

in The Ink Well7 months ago (edited)

The cool crisp early morning air collided with my face, and down through my nostrils, as I rested on my deck drinking my coffee and looking at the silent and empty street. The serenity of the minute however, was suddenly smashed by the relentless buzzing of my phone, its screen displayed a private number, which hid the caller's identity. My interest was immediately drawn by this, and I responded with a "Hello?" Immediately.

" Is this Timmy?" the caller with a deep voice asked.

" Yes, it is. Please may I know who this is?" I asked, a feeling of anxiousness, and slight fear sneaking into my heart.

" Sorry about that, I'm Officer Toby." the voice claimed. " And we urgently want you to report yourself to the police headquarters right away. We have little inquiries concerning your friend, Mark."

On hearing this, My heart began to race vigorously, nearly making me faint. Mark and I had actually been close friends for a long time, and where Mark was, I was most likely to be found there. Racing down to the station, my mind hummed with concern, possible outcomes, and unpredictability.

Upon arrival, officer Toby assisted me to a little, and poorly lit room,

Photo From Unsplash

"please sit there." He said pointing towards an empty seat. Stress and anxiety chomped at me as I summoned courage to speak up," Sir please what did Mark do?, where is my friend sir?".

Officer Toby, who was a chubby man most likely in his late forties,

A.I(gencraft) Generated Photo.

with a patient expression, sighed just before he started talking to me. "Young man, your friend has actually been missing for the past 3 days now, according to his mum. Just yesterday, while attempting to assemble his last location, your name showed up in our examination.".

I wasn't really surprised, because most of the time, we were always together. But then, Mark had always been a guy whose actions were really hard to predict, even by his closest friends ; however, disappearing without a trace or phone call was so unlike him. "Hmmm...Officer, Mark is my very close friend, and I'm willing to join effort with you to find my friend." I replied, really feeling the weight of the circumstance resolve greatly on my shoulders.

Days rolled over to weeks as officer Toby and I sought for clues from members of the community, and even neighboring communities. Thankfully, every day brought a brand-new clue and discovery however there was still no direct indicator of where my friend was. "Any new update?" I asked frequently, anxiously wishing for positive feedback.

" I've just obtained new information, that is quite encouraging, Timmy." Officer Toby would respond by supplying a twinkle of hope among the unpredictability that had actually engulfed my life.

While still taking our ruthless search, I came across a major discovery – an uncompleted building, with voices emanating from within.

"No way! Why will any one wish to stay in this uncompleted building of all places." I murmured to Officer Toby, with my feeling of awe, joining concern.

Officer Toby responded grimly, "we really need to go in, and find out if Mark had any kind of connection to this person, or persons in the building." he claimed, with confidence very evident in his voice.

As I dove much deeper into the enigmas bordering Mark's disappearance, and managed to pretend to be a new gang member there, I got to know that there were about 9 of them who used that building as a secret hideout to carry out illegal activities. "Yo! welcome man, this is a totally different world where bad is good, and good is bad. Welcome once again. "One who seemed to be the lousy one among the gang, exposed to me, thereby clarifying the criminal abyss Mark could have ended up being involved in.

" I need to penetrate deeper, to get more info." I told Officer Toby one night, my concern touched with resolution. "It's the only way to actually obtain real facts.".

" You're very brave for doing this." he encouraged me, as we browsed the treacherous path ahead of us.

In the criminal abyss, I was exposed to risks that were way beyond understanding. " This is just like willingly entering a problem." I wondered about, sharing my experiences with Officer Toby that directed me with the risky trip.

" Timmy your toughness and nerve have actually made you a very vital source." Officer Toby applauded me.

Going back to where we camped after the stressful day, it really felt unique with Officer Toby. " Just within a few days, this search has made me feel like I'm living a dual life." I confessed, my voice shivering with the weight of my experiences.

With each other, we assembled the detailed problem bordering Mark's interaction with the gang, and the hazardous paths he had threaded.

"Hmm...Timmy you've brought us closer to fixing a significant criminal situation!" Officer Toby voiced, with his thankfulness apparent.

Eventually, we located Mark, who was for life changed by his experiences in these criminals' abodes. "I never ever assumed I would set my eyes on you once again Timmy." he admitted, his eyes filled with tears.

" I'm glad you are sound, and we will get to the root of this matter." I guaranteed him, our bond was now even more powerful than ever before, and he sure was grateful for the phone call that informed me about his disappearance.

Thanks For Reading.

Sort:  

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 15% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Congratulations @timix648! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 900 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Your effort to look for Mark is commendable and applaudable. I am sure mark would forever be grateful

Your effort to look for Mark is commendable and applaudable.

Thank you very much 😁

I am sure mark would forever be grateful

Hehe...he still thanks me till this day lol

Thanks for reading 🙏

This reads so creatively! Kudos to you dear Timmy. Your part played a vital role here and I'm glad you found your best friend. This story also depicted the power of true friendship thanks for sharing

Kudos to you dear Timmy

Thanks 🙂

This story also depicted the power of true friendship

Yep it does truly...thanks for your comment.

That was a very brave step by you! You literally walked into the Lion's den to find clues to save your friend. Wonderful!

This is an interesting read.
Thank you

You literally walked into the Lion's den to find clues to save your friend.

Yep, anything for him🙂🙂

Thanks for reading 👋🙏

That's superb.

You're welcome bro

Greetings @timix648, how nice for that boy to have a friend like you who has risked his integrity to be able to know about him.
A good life experience.
My best wishes.
!ALIVE

@timix648! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ osomar357. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Hehe🙂🙂 thanks for your comment!!👋👋

This is an incredible story! At first it seemed like the police considered you a suspect, but the good officer Toby had enough judgement to make you his ally to solve the mystery of Mark's disappearance.

At first it seemed like the police considered you a suspect

Yeah I felt so at first too lol

Thanks for stopping by🙏🙏