Love at first sight

in The Ink Welllast month

It is so magical holding a newborn baby in your arms, whether or not you are the parent. I remember the first time I held my cousin in my arms just minutes after she was born. It was a magical moment.

Some years ago, my uncle came to our house to inform my dad and mum that he had plans to get married. Luckily, I got into the room in time to hear him say it, as I served them drinks. My parents were really happy. They thought it was about time he settled down and started a family of his own.

"My brother, it's good you want to get married. Have you found the woman you want to spend the rest of your life with?" my dad asked.

"Yes I have. I want to bring her here next week to introduce her" My uncle replied.

"That's good. You are doing well", my father said.

Deep down, I was so happy for my uncle. He finally found love and chose to start a family. I was excited about seeing the lady. I was eager to see the woman that captured my uncle's heart. I knew my uncle had high standards.

The day came for him to introduce her to my parents. From the moment I saw her, I knew she was special. First, she was very beautiful. It began to make sense to me why my uncle chose her. She also had this grace and aura that made her a really likable person.

"You're welcome, my dear. You look so beautiful. My brother has an eye for good things. Please feel at home" my dad said.

"Thank you sir" she replied.

They all talked for a good amount of time that day. I could tell my parents liked her. So did I. It was difficult not to.

About a month later, preparations for the wedding started. It was a stressful period. Everyone in the family was involved. Each person handled an aspect of the wedding preparation. It was the perfect definition of team work as a family. I couldn't count how many times I visited the market. We all did our best to make sure the wedding would go on smoothly.

As is customary, we planned two weddings. One is the traditional wedding, which usually happens in the village and comes first, and the other is the white wedding, which takes place in a church.

Both weddings were perfect, and I felt so relieved and happy when the weddings were done. My uncle is now married, and I couldn't wait to have a cousin.

A year later, my Uncle's wife got pregnant. One night, while I was with my father at his workplace, he got a call from my uncle. My aunt had gotten into labour, and she was rushed to the hospital. When my dad told me what had happened, I was nervous and glad at the same time. I knew childbirth wasn't easy, but I was glad I was about to meet my cousin.

My dad and I left immediately for the hospital. On our way, he got a call again from my uncle. I could tell from the smile on his face that my aunt had given birth. I was right. Indeed, she had given birth. We got to the hospital and met the receptionist.

"We're here for the lady that just gave birth" my dad said.

"Are you related to them?" the receptionist asked.

"Yes we are" my dad replied.

"Alright. Go upstairs. She's in the second room on your left", the receptionist said.

Without hesitation, my dad and I rushed to the room like students who were about to check their results. Sitting there was my uncle and his wife holding the baby. It was a beautiful sight.

Eventually, I got to carry the baby in my arms, and I was star stuck.

Source

She was the most beautiful baby I had ever seen. Her eyes were shining like a million stars. It was such a magical moment. My emotions were off the roof. At that moment, I knew I would shower her with all the love in the world. If I could feel that way, I wondered how her father felt. He must have felt like the happiest and proudest father in the world.

She looked so cute and adorable. At that moment, I could do anything to protect her from harm. There was no doubt that she captured my heart instantly. I loved her from the moment I set my eyes on her.

Now, my cousin is 8 years old, and she has grown to be one of the smartest little girls I have ever met. My love for her didn't diminish a bit. Rather, it grew even stronger.

</div

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

It's clear how much you care for your family, especially your newborn cousin. Your descriptions, like "her eyes were shining like a million stars," evoke a sense of wonder and warmth. Thanks for sharing.

It so obvious you how much you care for your newborn cousin