The perilous journey

in The Ink Well18 days ago

It was a great holiday period. I came back from a hectic semester. All I wanted to do was relax, spend quality time with my family and have fun, and I did that to the fullest. I was just a one-month holiday, and as the month neared its end, I knew my time to go back to school got closer. I dreaded it.

The thought of resuming gave me goosebumps. The stress that came with school was intense. I didn't want to go back to that. I didn't want to go back to waking up very early in the morning and coming back home late, tired to the core. I also didn't want to go back to seemingly endless assignments and constant studying. The thought of all that alone was exhausting. To make things worse, I was entering my fourth year, and I knew things were about to get even harder.

When the day finally came for me to leave for school, my mum woke up really early, like she always does when I'm about to travel.

"Victor, wake up. It's time to start preparing" she said as she tapped me.

I woke up and looked at the time in disbelief.

"Mum, it's just 4am. It's too early." I said.

"So you want to travel late? It's better you prepare and leave early, so you will arrive early" she replied.

I stood up. My things had already been packed the previous night. All I had to do was freshen up, eat and leave. After eating, I knew it was the last time I would taste my mum's cooking in a while. Her meals were the best. It was my favorite thing about coming back for the holidays.

I got ready, and my dad sat me down.

"Do your best in school, son. Work hard and it will pay off. Have a safe trip." he said.

I left the house for the park where I boarded a bus. We had to wait for the bus to get filled before moving. I had already started missing my siblings. After waiting for almost an hour, the bus got filled, and the journey began.


Photo by Huu Huynh on Pexels

I love to travel. I enjoy the view of the trees, the mountains. I also enjoy seeing people going about their various activities. However, on this particular trip, I was restless.

I was concerned about the speed at which the driver drove. He drove at so much speed that I wondered if he was aware he had people on board his bus. With time, the speed increased, and everyone on the bus was obviously uncomfortable.

"Driver, please slow down. I have a family that depends on me" one man said from the back seat.

That was the spark everyone needed. Almost everyone on the bus lent their voice in telling the driver to slow down. Despite all the talk, it was as if it passed through one of the driver's ears and came from the other.

He still continued with his speed driving. I wondered if he was under the influence of something or if he simply had a death wish.

"Driver, slow down! Haven't you heard all we've been saying?" The lady by my side said violently. She was visibly angry and worried. She was on the bus with her 3 kids, so I understood why she reacted that way.

There was another wave of angry reactions from the passengers. What fueled it was the fact that the driver seemed unconcerned about their plea. He seemed not to care.

Just as we were talking, a car suddenly came out of a side road that connected to the main road we were on. The driver didn't see the car on time. It was as if it came out of nowhere. Since we were at a high speed, it was obvious we were going to clash with that car. An accident was imminent. Immediately, the driver applied the brakes. He kept applying it, hoping the bus would come to a halt before clashing with the car in front. There was a look of horror on the faces of everyone present on the bus.

The bus eventually came to a halt, just inches close to the car. We had just avoided an accident by the skin of our teeth. Everyone let out a sigh of relief. It was as if I had just recovered from a shock. I didn't know what to think. There was a loud silence for a moment. Perhaps we were all speechless.

The car in front drove away, and we continued our journey. The driver was careful this time. He drove slowly. He had to. He knew that the passengers were ready to pounce on him if he resumed driving at a high speed.

I got to my destination, thankful that I arrived unscathed after everything I witnessed.

Sort:  

Bus drivers are something else and I don't know why many of them behave like they have an extra life. If they don't value their lives, they should pity those who are in the bus.

That was close. Thank God for safety.

Hi @trexane, I can imagine the fright the driver got after the snide who decided to slow down.
The good thing was that nothing bad happens and that everyone was able to get to their destination safely, although I imagine it was a scary experience for the passengers.
!ALIVE

@trexane! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ osomar357. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

hello @trexane. Your story returns a high score for AI generated text. Please note that The Ink Well has a strict policy against the use of AI. It may not be used to generate stories or for editing submissions in such a way that the piece is rewritten to any extent by AI. Please could you confirm if you are using an AI editor for your writing, and if so, which one are you using and how you are using it. Repeated instances of high AI scores may result in your posts being muted in the community, so we welcome your comments.

Hello @theinkwell. I didn't use any AI editor for my writing. This post was entirely written by me. I only used the grammar checker which I've always used. Here's the link to the grammar checker: https://www.grammarcheck.net/editor/

Whenever I'm done writing, I put the story in the grammar checker and it points out spelling or grammar errors, also suggesting corrections, which I implement.

It depends on the degree to which you use the editor, @trexane. If you are using it simply to correct spelling and minor grammar errors, it should be ok and return a low AI score. However, when these editors (which are AI-based) offer suggestions to change vocabulary and writing style among other things, as this one does, and those suggestions are accepted widely by the writer, the original text very quickly morphs into AI generation and leaves less of one's own human original writing. By all means use editors to improve your writing, but rather try to learn from the types of suggestions they are making, and don't simply accept their suggestions wholesale. I would suggest that you adjust the extent to which you use this editor.

Thank you for the suggestion @theinkwell. I appreciate it. But like you said, I actually used it for spelling and minor grammar corrections. I fully understand the implications of posting AI generated content so I desist from it.
I don't know how this must have happened, but I will ensure it never happens again.
My apologies.

If you have concerns, then perform a check of your final draft using an AI checking tool to see if it flags as AI generated or not. this will give you an idea as to whether you are placing too much reliance on the tool or not.

The way some bus drivers so recklessly is so appalling. If only it's possible to everyone to have their own car, I wonder who will take public transports. Most of them disobeys the traffic signs and drive with excessive speed.

It's a good thing nothing bad happened.

Thank you for sharing.

Congratulations @trexane! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024