Sort:  

Mirrors can be cruel. Mirrors can be kind. Mirrors can distort. I think the lesson learned herd is that looking in the mirror is not a way to find the truth about oneself. It's not even the way to discover how one appears to others. We see what we expect to see in a mirror.

Sarah's mother is right. People will get to know her. Those are the relationships that will matter.

Thank you for posting this story in response to the prompt @ubani1. And also, we thank you for supporting consistently the work of your fellow authors.

Hello @ubani,

There is a story by Oscar Wilde called, "The Portrait of Dorian Gray". If you haven't read it, you should. Wilde was a master story writing and brilliantly used the English language. Anyway, the story is about a young man who is wicked. A friend paints a portrait of Dorian when Dorian is a youth. Over the years Dorian grows more wicked, commits unspeakable act. And yet, he does not age. It is as though he has found the Fountain of Youth. However, whenever Dorian goes home and looks at his portrait, the image he sees grows uglier with each wicked act he has committed.

Dorian must hide the portrait in his attic, because it becomes grotesque, and he must not let anyone see the image of the true Dorian.

Your story reminds me of Wilde's story. What people see at first glance has nothing to do with what or who we are. That hidden value is the true measure of our worth.

You see how you got me thinking? :)

Good story @ubani1. Thank you.

It's rude to blame the parents for having such a transformation. It's your own choice and it's your own flaws. Well, she gained her confidence and that's enough.

I agree with you @mrnightmare.net. Parents are responsible to a certain extent, but at some point children make their own decisions. Certainly as adolescents they can decide to exercise and eat good food.

Thank you for engaging with this author.

This is a good story that tells a true story, @ubani1
Your story teaches a good lesson: Sometimes we anticipate sufferings that exist only in our mind.
Thank you for writing it.

The mom portrayed the motherly love and that word of encouragement will keep Sarah moving regardless of her body size.

This is a difficult topic to write about, @ubani1. You did well with it. It is told respectfully. The only actual judgment we see about Sarah's weight and size are her own. Body weight, health and self-image are things many people struggle with. Your story provides a sensitive view into the inner world of a person who does not feel she is okay as she is. I really liked the fact that the mother encourages, loves and accepts her.

One grammatical thing I will share with you is that the contractions "I'm" and "you're" are only used in certain contexts. It's odd, because "I'm" does mean the same thing as "I am" but they are not interchangeable. Same with "you're" and "you are."

In these instances, "I'm" should be "I am":

I couldn't handle the thought of leaving, and meeting new people, will they accept the way I'm or maybe they won't.

Sometimes I share this thought with my mother and she would make me realize how beautiful I'm from the inside because she understood me.

Here, "you're" should be changed to "you are":

And you should know you are beautiful just the way you're, baby you don't have to change anything or to please anyone, but the world can change its heart and see the real you.

In this excerpt, the first "you're" is correct, but the second one should be "you are."

So, my dear, you're beautiful just the way you're."

This one should also be "you are":

Then I said to myself, "You're beautiful just the way you're. You can do this."

There's an explanation of the rule here, but it's not a great explanation. If I can find a better one, I will provide it. I hope this helps!