Sort:  

Hello @ubani1,
I related to this narrator. My sister helped to support the family when I went to college and when I got out it was my turn. I helped to support her. As a family, helping each other, we made it and were no longer poor.

It's nice to have a happy ending.

Mothers are awesome, just like fathers. It is better to establish a balance between the two parents.

Society does not really rate fathers even though they are the unsung heroes of it all. They toil to provide for the family, hence, are mostly unavailable on the emotional side. Mothers, on the other hand, have all the time for the mushy side of life with kids. We should not overpraise one at the expense of the other.

Some of us do not know what it is like to have a mother anyway.

Beautiful piece, nevertheless.

Found your post via @dreemport

A story about the importance of self-improvement. This story, among millions like it, moves the world forward, thank you for writing it, @ubani1.

This is a story with which many people can relate. It is a story of family, striving and sharing. You draw the characters well and describe motivation well, also. Thank you for posting the story in the Ink Well community. And, thank you for consistently engaging with your fellow authors.

I had mixed feelings reading through this work but it ended with smiles. Nicely written.
I came about your post via @dreemport.

Indeed, you really made it. Congratulations to you.

This is a very interesting story. I wish that everyone's story would have a happy ending like this, but reality always sucks.

Well well well, this is impressive and a good read.

Well Done On This One.

This is sent to @dreemport for curation.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Charming story, @ubani1. Determination really helps those who don't have the financial resources to help themselves!

"Remember the family you came from. Remember home."
The words that kept him fixed on his goals.
Many young people forget both when they see success.
Reached this post through @dreemport

Yes you made it. And I made it down here courtesy of @dreemport.

Such a joy to see a child going through the struggles and eventually making the family proud.

This is the story of each struggle that has been given a responsibility of fulfilling the aim and dreams of parents. Many forget that how their parents sold jewelry to pay their tuition fees. But I am glad this hasn't happened here.
A decent story indeed.
Arrived here through @dreemport

So true, they are the ones who can sacrifice everything they have just to see the smile on your face.
😊😊😊

"Mum, everything is the issue. Why are we poor? Why don't we have much to survive or to give? I hate to see you carrying all the family burden alone, and I can't help. I don't know how I'll get the money to pay for my school tuition fees. Mum, I am tired." I replied to her with tears in my eyes.

This is so captivating.. Wow.. I was just shedding tears reading through this... You spent five years away from your parents without seeing or hearing from them? How did you survive all those years in the university?... It must have been so difficult.....

Am so glad you were wise enough to remember the advice your dad gave to you... You studied hard to become the best graduating student and you even won a scholarship... Indeed you made your mum proud.. What a touching story... I so much love the happy ending.... Thanks for sharing.

@dreemport directed me to your post