The InkWell Contest: Week Two Final Draft - The Investigation

in The Ink Well3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, this is my entry for the contest, and i'm glad am able to participate. I would like to say thank you to everyone that dropped their comments in the first draft. It really helped me to spot out my mistakes, and now I have made some corrections. Most of the comments were regarding towards adding a dialogue or action into the story, which i did now. Thank you once again, especially to @inkwell for hosting such a great contest.

(Image not shown due to low ratings)



Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

Thank you, @ubani1. We look forward to reading it.

Good luck!

 3 years ago (edited) 

Hello @ubani1. I don't know if it's too late to give you my feedback. If so, then maybe you can think about it if you ever decide to continue on at some point with the next chapter in your protagonist's search.

You have a nice investigation story that's suspenseful. Jessie/Amanda goes on a quest to locate her biological mother. That's understandable. Also, she's in a position to investigate it fully with the career path she's chosen. You've given a career path for your main character that's opposite her biological mother - law enforcement vs. foreign spy. That's intriguing, and how it's resolved we don't yet know.

I didn't get a chance to read your first draft. I just went back and read it. I didn't leave any comments, but will address them here.

  • I feel your story would have benefited from @jayna's suggestions to build suspense.

  • 20years needs a space because it's two words

  • Did you mean to correct the name so it matches in all instances?
    My name is [Jessy,] an African American lady, who lives two blocks away from my parent's home. [Jesse] isn't my real name

  • I also agree with others who mention the ending of your story maybe could be a bit more suspenseful.

Take care.

Thank you for participating in the contest, @ubani1. I see you've received some additional feedback. You are allowed to make additional changes, as long as they are completed today, August 1. Good luck!