I CAN'T ADAPT

in The Ink Well5 days ago

source

Hey guys it's another creative non-fictional prompt from #theinkwell, I'm grateful for the opportunity to share my experience with the community once again.
I recall a certain time three years ago when I was informed with the news of finally going to visit my auntie and her family in the northern region of Nigeria Kano state, because she has been married for 6 years and I always wanted to visit her and see my baby cousins but my request was never granted, we did more of phone calls, video calls and text messages through social media platforms but never met in person due to the distance and cost of transportation, but finally I was going to see her I've heard so much about the northern region of Nigeria and emphasis was laid on how hot the region was.
As one who grew up in the southern region of the country Rivers State to be precise and I was used to a cold and serene environment and never liked hot place, I disliked choked up gatherings because it emitted so much heat except the hall was air conditioned, that was why most of the times I was always found at home which was comfortable and serene, but I was willing to make an exception just to see my auntie and her family I was to go on the trip with my mom so we started making arrangements two weeks before, conscious of how hot the region was I decided to pack light clothing, I avoided tight and thick wears during my packing arrangement, so as not to make my stay there uncomfortable.
We bought our flight tickets and waited for the day to come,finally the day came and I was so excited to leave I bid farewell to all my friends and told them not to miss me much because I was going to be away for two weeks,I and my mother got to the airport on time,had a healthy dish and waiting for boarding,we boarded and the airplane left the airport and gained altitude,the trip was peaceful and there was no storm,it took us almost a day to reach Kano state.
We got to my auntie's house and the reunion was second to none,it was just as I imagined,we got to know everybody over dinner it was so beautiful indeed.
My nightmare and regrets started after dinner when I went to bed,I slept in a less ventilated room,no air conditioner,the fan was barely working also.
I couldn't sleep throughout the night due to the heat,I had several baths in the middle of the night such that at a point the water felt hot too.I had never experienced that level of uncomfort before, I felt sweat dripping from every part of my body,the bed I layed on was soaked with sweat,that very night I regretted coming to Kano state.
By the morning I managed to fall asleep,I woke up to my mother's touch on my body,I was so weak I couldn't stand up I started running temperature and before I could say Jack I discovered I was sick,I had running nose and cough it felt like I would pass on due to the way I felt.
My mom and auntie tried all they could but to no avail my auntie consulted the family doctor and he came over as soon as he could,he discovered that I couldn't adapt to the change in environment after examining me,so I was home sick.
I couldn't feed properly all I wanted to do was to go back home,my stay there for the remaining days could be attributed to hell.
I couldn't feel my body all through my stay and I asked myself how people were surviving in that region, finally I went back home after few days I regained myself,my body was back to it's normal state and I was happy again.
I promised never to go back to Kano state again or any other northern state,I now preferred speaking to my auntie over the phone I never wished to go back there again.
When I went back to my state if residence I felt life coming back to my whole being,I could now interact with my friends again,it was that serious then and there I concluded that there was no place like home.

Sort:  

You had a very bad experience because you did not adapt to the hot climate. It can happen to some people. I live in a hot city and sometimes I despair.
I was amused that you promised not to return to Kano, but the conditions could change. Good story, thanks for sharing it.

Regards @ubdan313.

Thanks alot

TIW_Com2_Banner.jpg

Congratulations @ubdan313! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP