Fighting is really stressful

in The Ink Well2 months ago

Hello everyone,this is my first time posting in this community, and that is simply because I taught there rules were difficult to follow. But today, I decided to gather courage and try writing here. So here goes nothing.

Seeing this prompt reminded of my younger self, I did not always get into fights oo but people like to look for my trouble and I'm always happy each time they do. When I was in primary school, basic 5 to be precise I remember a boy who was my sit partner and goes by the name Moses. He was fat or chubby I can't remember, but one day he asked me to fight with him, for no reason at all. He claimed he could beat me and all our classmates said we should fight and see who is stronger between the two of us. I didn't want to do it but one of my friends said I should do it and teach him a lesson that before I came to the school he always bullies them and they can't do anything to him. To worsen the entire thing, he stood up and went to the front of the class and started calling me names, so I joined him and the fight started. In two minutes the fight ended because I ended up leaving him with injury.


source
We couldn't report to anyone because we will be punished, I didn't see punishment as anything but I like good name which is something I have at the school and I wanted to maintain it.

Then in secondary school, there was this junior student who likes a classmate of mine. What I went to school to do was to read and do well in school, I didn't have time for boyfriend and girlfriend. I saw it as a sign of distraction. So this girl (she is my namesake Chioma), she taught she could disrespect me and get away with it. She came to me one afternoon and she was like *stay away from Michael he is mine, if you don't I will deal with you and you will regret the day you were born. * Omo, that statement pain me reach bone marrow. I was like what kind of things is this, my classmates were even around at that time. And one of them (favour) said 'Chioma, will you let her talk to you like that? '. I said no ooo, she won't get away with it.

I now told the girl "Chioma, if you know say them born you well and you have the mind ehn, just wait for me outside the school gate when school closes".
I was really pissed and I couldn't concentrate in class for the rest of school hour, I was just waiting for closing time so I can finish what Chioma started.

THE FIGHT
After the bell was rung for closing, Chioma taught she could escape after touching the tail of a lion😂😂. Some of my classmates who were anticipating the fight went to check on her and they told me she is running home. I said running to where, I immediately left the assignment I was supposed to copy, asked Zainab to help me bring my bag and I ran to meet her. On getting to where she was, I called her name and I said "so you think you can talk to me anyhow and get away with it abi?". She wanted to talk but I didn't want to hear. I immediately gave her slap on her face and threw her on the floor, then used my hand to feed her sand and washed her hair with sand. That day wasn't funny but sitting here and writing this I caht help but laugh.

After few minutes of beating her, a passerby came to separate us. Everyone ran away except myself, I was giving Chioma the beating of her life. Even as we were separated, I landed her one final slap. The passerby then took us to the school management and our English teacher Mr. Chijioke asked me what happened that he has never seen or heard that I fought before. I now said 'uncle it's Chioma oo, I was on my own and she started looking for my trouble'. He didn't even want to hear anything again, he just told us that we shouldn't fight that it's not good and we are namesake that we are supposed to be best friends. In my mind I said God forbid😂.

Chioma took the words of Mr Chijioke seriously, the next day she came to me during break time and apologized and said she wants to be my friend. As I grew older I didnt have the time or strength to fight, if I see that things will get out of hand, I will just take my leave and have peace of mind.

Sort:  

Hello @vickiee

Please note the community's stance on violence and brutality. I found your your creative non-fiction story quite disturbing. We do not condone stories glorifying bullying or depicting violence against women in The Ink Well. Kindly steer clear of these themes and ensure that you read The Ink Well community rules at the top of the community home page, and check out our FAQ about The Ink Well, if you wish to continue writing in our community.

We accept two kinds of short stories in The Ink Well: fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.

You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our catalog of fiction writing tips.

You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in this post.

And please be sure to engage in the community by reading and commenting on the work of other community members. We ask everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.

Thank you, The Ink Well team.

I'm sorry about that, I didn't mean to promote violence or anything of such. I will work on that.