The missing crystal

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)


Image taken by me via camera

"Wake up! wake up, Sam! The day is about to break, they will soon be after us," Philip kept tapping me as if I was dead. "Hmmmm... ah, it's morning? damnit!" I was drawn away from my dream, I woke up with anxiety and fear, I quickly grabbed my blanket and water bottle inside my bag as we headed out of the cave. "Did you know how many soldiers would be sent after us today?" I questioned Phil as if he would know, but the cubby idiot will always have something to say, "Maybe ten thousand, I can't say precisely, yesterday was more than that and we killed them all, I'm sure they will be running out of soldiers for the chase," I trust him for that, he is very intelligent. "You're intelligent my friend, but did you just say 'We killed them all?' I stopped staring at him with one of my fingers pointing to his face, "you never cease to amaze me," I added. we continued the journey, even when we don't have a destination, we just have to escape.

It's been ten days amid this baneful jungle, running away from my father's army, the soldiers that I trained, it's hard to believe but I have to fight them to stay alive.
"we've walked deep into this forest, when are going to see the way through?" I questioned Phil expecting an answer.
"I'm scared I don't have an idea of where this path might lead us to," he replied with fear written all over his face "I wish we could make out alive," he added. I nodded my head as a sign that I also wish the same.

'I would have left him behind in the palace instead of putting his life in danger, but he refused, he kept following me, swearing to protect me with his life and his pot belly,' all these thoughts in my head.

"We are heading towards the cave of Monduck, the deadliest cave in the land of Zagreus, it is always dark in there, and also cursed creatures were bound into the darkness during the war against the people of Agron lives in there too, no one has ever made it out there alive," Phil explained.
"That's so crazy, but how did you know that?" I questioned him.
"My father told me the story about the war against Agron twelve decades ago, and I also read books that talked about the cave of Monduck," I guess Phil is doing everything in his power for us not to go through the cave. "let's go back then," I gave a false suggestion, I knew there's no going back. "We can't go back, the soldiers will have us captive and we can't go into the cave, we've got no light," he replied like he was running out of courage. "Look here Phil, the last time I studied you, you were smart and intelligent, so don't be timid. we're not going back and we are going through the cave no matter what," I cleared him like I was giving orders, I hate sounding like my father. "Okay, but ho....w are we supposed to go through the cave without a light," Phil asked.
"We get the crystal, it's going to provide the light," I answered with a grin. He opened his mouth agape.

We haven't gone too far within the cave, although the crystal provided the light to see through the darkness, the creatures wanted the crystal. I have to kill as many as possible till we find out way out.
"How long is the cave!" I screamed at Phil, "twelve miles!" he replied also screaming. "we have to keep moving they're increasing," he added. I looked around, even the ones I killed were rising.
"Run!" I screamed. They were after me because of the crystal, "we need to separate, go that way," I added pointing to a different path of that cave. "okay! how are we going to meet?" he asked. "just go!" I screamed.
'I shouldn't have left the palace, but if my father have the crystal, he would use it for his evil deeds. I won't regret my action even if I die here,' this thought on my mind.

Please guys follow up @voiceless12

Sort:  

Hi @voiceless12. Welcome to The Ink Well and to Hive. We will curate your story once you fix the images. All images must come from license-free sources like Pixabay, Pexels and Unsplash. Images you find on the Internet or Pinterest are copyright protected and cannot be used.

Here are a few tips for getting acquainted with our community:

  • Be sure to read The Ink Well community rules at the top of the community home page, and check out our FAQ about The Ink Well.
  • We accept two kinds of short stories in The Ink Well: fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.
  • You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our catalog of fiction writing tips.
  • You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in this post.

And please be sure to engage in the community by reading and commenting on the work of other community members. We ask everyone who post in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.

I've replaced the image

Congratulations @voiceless12! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

It means so many people need the crystal. It's the best the way you took it but not relenting was the way out.

Thank you for fixing your image, @voiceless12. Your story is very interesting and suspenseful, though it has the feeling of being just a part of a story. We don't read the beginning which told of the protagonist's father. And the story does not resolve in the end with victory, or with Sam and Philip finding the crystal and making it through the tunnel.

We hope this feedback is helpful. With short stories, we look for a beginning, middle and end. Be sure to check out our catalog of fiction writing tips, referenced in the previous comment. Good luck and keep writing!