The InkWell Fiction Challenge || The Ghost In The Rain

ghost-518322__480.webp
pixabay

"Boo". The skanky kid ran off to his parents as I said my cliché scare line. I do not blame him one bit, if I saw me in a white cape glowing in the rain I would run off too. My underworld vocabulary was quite boring. Boo? It didn't matter anyway, it got the Smith's terrified each time and now they were leaving the house. The little one, Avan Smith, was mainly disgusting, his parents Nathan and Cara were such a boring couple. So easy to scare and were never a challenge. I liked challenge, I relished it. All they did after each scare was pray and wimp like scared dogs.

They were leaving my house now, the decade old haunted house where I died. I wish I knew how I died but I don't. It's always been a blur, nothing I'd have imagined while I was alive. Down here on the other side, I'm all alone, never seen another like me unlike the movies where there are several spirits in the afterworld. Death is boring and depressing even on my end. I remember my family, my mom and two sisters. They might be alive somewhere, probably moved to the east side, I don't know. They might be dead, I can't tell. Like I said, I don't see other spirits.

I always loved this house, little wonder I'm stuck here. The library was my favorite spot where I could read all day while I sipped tea. I still love tea and drank every cup of tea Cara Smith had left on the kitchen table for a split second. She had her last straw when I dropped the cup of tea right in front of her. I can't tell if she saw me or not, it wasn't raining, but that event made them move out just this morning.

The Movers. These words were boldly written on the moving truck parked in the front porch. I had new housemates already? This was too exciting. How long would they last? I watched as they let themselves in. Two dark, handsome men, a woman and two children. The older man had a brusque aura and the younger seemed like an optimist. I find out the younger is a brother to John Clay.

It's been four hours since the Clays moved in and I should give a welcome scare already but I can't seem to. John's brother Todd fascinated me and happened to have taken my room. I never had a boy in my room while I was alive. I never had a boyfriend either and was 22 when I died. Todd had a well chiseled face and arms any girl would love to have around her. I follow him to the bathroom and watched as he had a shower. I'm going to be looking forward to shower time.

"Jeeeeez", Todd screamed. Damn. He was looking straight in my eyes now. How did he...? Todd could see me now, I was certain.
"Who are you and how did you get in here?" he said.
"You...youu can see me?"
"Obviously!", he exclaimed angrily.
"I'm Jessie"
It was drizzling a little and I was at the backyard inhaling the smell of wet soil. The rain wasn't heavy and living beings only saw me in heavy rains.

"Who are you talking to Todd?" John Clay said as he walked in the backyard. Todd signalled my direction and John seemed oblivious to my presence. Todd stared hard at me now and said to John, "nothing man, just thinking out loud".
"Okay, I'm running out to the grocery store before it gets really stormy" John said.

Todd turned to me as John left and continued staring with those lovely eyes. I was in a fix and all I can do is admire this fine young man.
"You're Jessie? The Jessie? Haunted house Jessie?". Well, I didn't know I had gained a title around here. Todd knew me and could see me, I couldn't deny now. He was pretty jolly for someone who just saw haunted house Jessie.

"Nice to meet you too Todd", I said. Here I was having a conversation with the living for the first time in ten years and I felt real and seen. We had a long conversation like old friends and sparks were clearly flying.
Every day it drizzled and Todd and I sat at the backyard, the front porch or the neighborhood park, he could see me better in the rain. I had never known a love like this living and unliving and I was ready to protect it.

It's a very stormy night and Todd and I were seated at the backyard. We went into the rain and danced to the beat of raindrops. I glowed in the rain to Todd's excitement. We held each other and kissed passionately. The Clays were not home so we were not bothered about me being seen. Todd held me real tight like he never wanted to let go and then I felt a poke in my back. I was flung to one end of the backyard, lights flashing in my face. Todd was looking down at me now holding a device pointed at me.

"I'm sorry Jessie, you have to go now"

"You're a a gh..ghostbuster", I muttered. I could see my lower body fast disappearing now.

"Goodbye forever now Jessie. Boo""

Sort:  

Who would have thought even ghosts fall in love and then get double crossed on top of that. Proper twtst

Congratulations @wolfofnostreet! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.
You received more than 4500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What a great story! I love this! Full of surprises. This is fab:
I never had a boy in my room while I was alive. I never had a boyfriend either and was 22 when I died. Todd had a well chiseled face and arms any girl would love to have around her. I follow him to the bathroom and watched as he had a shower. I'm going to be looking forward to shower time.
#LOL
Love his reaction, then hers:

"You're Jessie? The Jessie? Haunted house Jessie?". Well, I didn't know I had gained a title around here.

Great line: I had never known a love like this living and unliving and I was ready to protect it.

In terms of world-building, this could use a little explanation (how does a ghost drink tea or kiss the living), but willing suspension of disbelief allows us to have fun, so I'm not complaining.

This too (it could be epic as an opening line, but the one you have is cool)

I wish I knew how I died but I don't. It's always been a blur...

The ending! #Love it! Sad, maybe, or not sad.

Sipping tea, remembering her mom and sisters, scaring off new residents of the home - all that was sad, yet you maintain a tone that is not dark and miserable, but quirky and funny. That is not easy. #Bravo!

I'm wondering how I missed this comment, I only just saw it on InkWell's showcase.

Thank you for your comment, I love that you love the story 😊

From the start, I wanted her to be a fun ghost,not the traditional scary one, that's how I kept the funny, quirky tone. And for the drinking tea and kissing part, I wouldn't know, I've never been a ghost 😄😄

Thanks for stopping by @carolkean

You're welcome - thank you for an entertaining story!
#Busted - poor ghost!