Not As Expected

in The Ink Well15 days ago

Looking at him from where I was seated with my friends I could tell he was a free-spirited person, his smile was eye-catching and he had a white set of teeth. He was with our other coursemates and I loved how social he was and how free-minded he appeared. David was everything I needed.

D7587231-E04B-41FB-8675-D37FC9DE21CB.jpeg Source

” Are you aware you are staring at him too much?” Jenny tapped me out of my fantasy world with David.

” Was it that obvious?” I asked her

” Seems like he noticed you because he is coming towards our direction,” Mitchell said

I had to arrange myself properly because I didn’t want to be caught unfresh at that point.

” Hi Mercy, can I have a word with you?” David said grinning at me. I quickly adjusted myself and walked out from my friends to meet up with him.

Turns out he also had feelings for me and then we started being friends and within a few weeks we started dating. Looking at it right now, I think I should have been friends with David for a long time before going into a relationship with him. Maybe that way I would have gotten to know him better and know his character. I loved him already and so much so when he asked me out I didn’t have a rethink.

I was drawn to David by his looks and his personality outside. I admired his smile and body physique but then there was more to him. I have never met a man who nagged about everything. David was that man. He complained about everything and that pissed me off.

On a certain day, after he went out with the boys. He came over to my place directly and then complained about several things. It was so irritating because immediately he got into the house he said “I’m never hanging out where Henry is again” I had to ask what happened.

That was when I realized that Henry refused to take the usual drinks they took as guys because he claimed he had chest pain. David didn’t stop talking about the whole event and kept nagging countlessly. It was a usual occurrence every time he went out with his friends or met with someone whom he hadn’t seen. He had one thing or the other to say about it and turned out complaining.



I couldn’t take it anymore and one day I had to tell him how that was a turn-off for me. I thought he would change but then it became more and more and I couldn’t keep up with him. He would complain about little things and would get angry so easily. Alongside his constant ranting, I also realized that he had severe anger issues and that was when I realized I was blinded by love and nothing else.

I had to call off the relationship and that was when I told my friends that there is more to a cute face. They all felt bad for me because I really loved him and I already pictured a fairy tale life with him.

Thanks for stopping by my blog

Sort:  

You can say that again, "there's more to a cute face."
Some are only good looking outside but deep inside they are more than bad.
I'm happy for you as you were able to notice this things on time and move on.

This piece shows promise but needs to be developed a bit more and for you to use more show than tell and more dialogue to draw us in, make us feel part of the story, and be invested in its characters. Take a look at this post here: Show don't tell for guidance. We also remind you to support at least two other stories in The Ink Well for each one that you wish to share with us. We require writers to support each other if they wish to secure support from The Ink Well.

Thank you for sharing a story from your life with us in the community.

Congratulations @wonder23! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

It sound like you really should have gotten to know him better. A pretty face can hide a lot of flaws. Thankfully you noticed on time and ended things peacefully. Your Love was not blind😂