The Presentation

in The Ink Well2 months ago

I kept looking outside the car window as I could feel the drop of tears from my eyes. “I didn’t deserve whatever she did” I kept saying to myself. The driver was indeed someone who minded his business because he didn’t even turn to look at me. I was extremely devasted by what had happened in school.

C75031F6-6D06-4F6B-A8E9-3A3EE3E40805.jpeg
Source

We had our presentation and I was 100 percent prepared for it, but being someone who is scared of the public I knew I wasn’t going to say much. As usual, it was a group work and everyone had to play one role or the other. We all had something to say. After the presentation of each group, we are asked questions by our colleagues and then the lecturer which will influence our scores.

When it came to my group, as always, I hid behind and I was always excited I got a short line since I am still working on my self-esteem. I couldn’t face the crowd and most times I was always excited whenever it was a group presentation. When it got to my turn, I quickly said my lines and went back into hiding.

It was time for the class to ask questions and then a friend of mine raised her hands when I thought she was my friend until this happened. She was permitted to ask her question and that was when she pointed at me saying “Sir, I would like to ask her a question and I noticed she contributed little and hid all through the presentation” I had all eyes on me and I was truly embarrassed.

The lecturer looked at me and asked why I was hiding all through and had the shortest line, well she said if all my teammates had 20 marks, she would give me 10 marks. Then we were dismissed.

When I got to my seat, I couldn’t even look at her because I had tears in my eyes, all she kept saying was “I am trying to build your confidence” I looked at her and asked her “At the detriment of my result.” She just laughed and said I will get over it. I immediately went home and couldn’t stop crying.

It took me a while to feel better and I later realized she wasn’t my friend. She stopped associating with me after that day and I knew for a fact that she did whatever she did on purpose. I had to look at the good side of it and work on myself so I do not fumble in our next presentation.

A few weeks later, we had an individual presentation, she was super confident she was going to trash it as she kept bragging about how well she had prepared for it. When it was time for her presentation she was asked lots of questions by the lecturer which she couldn’t answer and she ended up having a D in her presentation. I was super certain she had a taste of her own medicine because she kept crying after the presentation was over.

Thanks for stopping by my blog

Sort:  

Congratulations @wonder23! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain

Hi @wonder23. Welcome to The Ink Well! Thank you for sharing your creative nonfiction story.

Now that you're here, please have a look around and get to know our community. Here are a few tips for getting acquainted:

  • Be sure to read The Ink Well community rules at the top of the community home page, and check out our FAQ about The Ink Well.
  • We accept two kinds of short stories in The Ink Well: fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.
  • You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our catalog of fiction writing tips.
  • You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in this post.

And please be sure to engage in the community by reading and commenting on the work of other community members. We ask everyone who post in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.

Again, welcome!

I think she wanted to build your confident, but I'm the wrong way anyway. She shouldn't have been the one to ask you questions as she had known the kind of person you are. Well, she got her shocker

You have her what she deserves. It's best the way you treated her, but I think she won't try that never again.