In The Midst of Veterans.

in The Ink Well22 days ago

I was far from being a star performer and if I was tall enough, I probably wouldn't have known what it felt like to be placed in front.

IMG_20240507_105420_228~2.jpg

“Alright, Shining stars! From the top!” Bernard, our choreographer beckoned.

With sweat trickling down my spine, I stood in position, ready to practise the dance steps for the umpteenth time.

There was a lot to admire during rehearsal but one very outstanding figure of admiration was the choreographer. Bernard was a very jovial young man. He had a dark skin tone with neatly trimmed beards. It was normal to find female choreographers at the time but male choreographers were rare, yet, we had one.

Our big performance was in two days and this was our very last rehearsal before the big day. As such, we had to practice rigorously. After practice that day, we spoke briefly on the attire we would be wearing and the formation with which we would assess the stage.

We were a total of twelve dancers and if you know anything about dancing, you would attest to the fact that the best dancers were usually placed in the first two rows, irrespective of their heights.

However, I was placed on the second row. Not because I could recollect my dance steps properly, but because I was a short six year old who could easily vanish in the midst of huge teenagers.

The day for the major performance came upon us and we all gathered backstage to do a quick rehearsal before we went on stage. On gathering, we realised that we were incomplete. Eva, the star performer, was absent.

Our choreographer, alongside everyone who had a mobile device, tried calling her but to no avail. Panic set in at this point.

With Eva absent, we were down to eleven dancers. This altered our initial standing positions because we could not stand in threes as we initially agreed to do.

By the skin of the teeth, we changed formation. I was moved to the front row and the other dancers stood in groups of four. The initial 3-3-3-3 formation was changed to 3-4-4.

With Eva absent and me in her original position, I began fidgeting. What if messed up? What if I missed a step and ended up looking lost on the stage with over a thousand viewers?

“Okay shining stars, you are going to go in there and amaze the audience.” Bernard touted. “Wongi, I know this is your first time on the big stage but as the youngest dancer, all eyes will be on you. Give it your best.” Bernard concluded as he placed a hand on my right shoulder and squeezed tightly.

All I could feel was a rush of adrenaline and the squeeze wasn't comforting in the slightest. Silently, I prayed that everything went well.

“Ladies and gentlemen, let's welcome the shining stars” the Master of ceremonies announced and I could hear the applause from the backstage.

As the hall quieted down, our music rolled in. On cue, we all ran in from different wings of the stage and stood in position. As the first verse of the song began, we started dancing.

One. Two. One two three. I kept pacing myself and trying not to make visible mistakes. From time to time, I stole a glance at the dancer beside me to check if I was still on track. All this while, I wore a very big smile as I avoided eye contact with anyone in the audience.

IMG_20240507_105902_778~2.jpg

In less than five minutes, we were done and all I could hear were loud and cheerful sounds. Some people whistled while others clapped heartily in appreciation of our performance. We took a bow before exiting the stage.

As I returned backstage, a good number of people came around to adulate me for an exceptional performance. This was my very first taste of dance victory. After the performance, I didn't need a soothsayer to tell me that I was an exceptional dance prodigy.

This was how I became the first child to dance with teenagers and adults on a few occasions. This in itself was a thing of great esteem.



Images used belong to me and were taken with my mobile device except stated otherwise.


Love🤍


Sort:  

A great presentation and a great day you had when you were able to show your talent to so many people. I imagine the immense happiness you felt that time.

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Happy Friday.

Certainly.

Thank you for reading ✨

At this point, I really need to see you dance. I can relate to the feeling of being called up to the big stage unexpectedly.

It must have been scary but you handled it pretty well and that must have given you the confidence to take on bigger stages.

I had to handle it well because the people I danced with had a reputation and I was t about to tarnish it for them😀

And now, I've become stiff. I don't dance anymore...I think.

Awwwwww
That's beautiful. Having a good presentation after so much practice is always a good reward for the work done. Getting good reviews is usually heartwarming. Keep it up 🥂

Thank you graat 😊

!BBH

@graat! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @wongi. (1/5)

Thanks too😊

What a charming story, @wongi. You were quite the shining star at a very young age!

I guess I was✨

!BBH

@theinkwell! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @wongi. (2/5)

Congratulations @wongi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 29000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Thank you ✨

You're welcome. 🇳🇬

By the way, kindly consider our curation project to help spread more rewards. Delegators to @hive-naija get 90% of their curation rewards daily. You can simply choose the amount (by clicking) below to delegate and/or join our curation trail.

|25HP| |50HP| |75HP| |100HP| |200HP| |500HP| |1000HP| |5000HP|

Hive Naija Curation Trail