Mischief and More Mischief.

in The Ink Well6 months ago

After seeing every version of the "Home alone" movie a bunch of times, my mind was made up–I wanted to replicate the movie and there was no quenching my yearning. For many who haven't seen the movie, it is a movie about a young kid who was "forgotten" at home as the rest of his family travelled for a vacation. The young boy was left at home and in no time, burglars came to their house. He knew that he would be tied up with a rope and tossed in a corner if he stood up to the burglars so he played smart. Setting salient traps and in the end, he was victorious.


Source

The most amusing part for me was the fact that he was my age mate,eight years old, and this knowledge opened the doors of possibilities for me. "If he could do it, I can too".

Contrary to the movie where the targets were burglars, my brothers were my targets. Both my elder brothers always got on my last nerve every single time. Sometimes, they took turns; one would annoy me in the morning and the other in the evening. My elder sister was sent to boarding school at the time so it was just my mom who could save me from their taunting sometimes.

With every passing day, I strategically made evil plans. Substituting things that weren't readily available. Deep down, I knew my efforts would be totally futile because my brothers were grown ups and they weren't dumb, but still, I decided to taste my luck.


Source

The first plan that I put in place was the "slip on the staircase" plan. That plan wasn't well thought out because the stairs I poured vegetable oil on (instead of slime of course) was a commercial staircase. Anyone could pass through it and could get injured, but my naive mind didn't take this into consideration. I poured the oil and waited at the window for my brothers to return from wherever they went.

The next plan was the "hot door knob" plan. This was the most dangerous at the time because I had to use hot iron on the door knobs. I was careful enough to get electrocuted but guess who touched the doorknob first? You're right, myself.

After placing my hands on the steamy hot door knobs, it felt like cold water had been poured on my head. Realisation hit me so hard. My plan was never going to work. Amidst tears, I went to my room and slept.

I was woken up from my slumber by my mother.

"Wongi. Wongi wake up".

I woke up, my eyes reacting to the presence of the sharp bright light.

"Mommy welcome back" I mumbled, still half asleep.

"Ehn, thank you. What happened on the staircase? I wanted to blame your brothers for the mischief but they just returned home too"

Every stim of sleep vanished from my eyes. I knew I had to tell the truth and I knew that I was going to get seriously reprimanded for my rash and preposterous actions but I said it anyway.

"Mommy, I uhmm, set traps for my brothers, just like the kid from the Home alone movie." I said.

"You did what?". My mom thundered. My brothers who were lurking in the corner burst into a hearty laugh. They laughed so hard that tears started rolling down their cheeks

"So wait, you mean to tell me that the vegetable oil on the staircase was supposed to make us slip and land face down? One of my brothers asked.

"You seem to forget which country you are in little ma'am. We have enough stamina and some to spare. You'd need more than vegetable oil to put us off balance" the other brother said.

My mom who noticed me fiddling with my palms lifted my hands and saw some scalds.

"Oh my goodness, this girl!" She exclaimed "You know what, I don't even want to find out how you got the scalds. You're coming with me to your dad's room".

At that point, I knew it was over for me. Meeting my dad whenever I had an injury was never fun. He was great at first aid but he always listened to the story behind the injury first so that he could decide whether to take it kindly or not. I knew there was no 'kindly' for me.

That day however was the first and the last time I ever tried something that rash. My mischievous spirit died that evening and was buried immediately. However, I couldn't help but hold my improvisation skills in high esteem. Improvising is never as easy as it seems.



Love, Wongi ✨

Sort:  

I thought I was the only one who tried some tricks on my siblings, but I always end up in my own traps so I stopped🤣.
I can imagine how you felt after touching the hot door knob, going to bed was the best option😁.
Nice story Wongi, thanks for sharing.

Noo, these siblings deserved the tricks😂. I just had to

Thank you so much for ready dear.

!luv

Hehe, Wongi this got me laughing, you wanted to be mischievous ehn🤣🤣🤣

My dear . I was so mischievous 😂😂

Hahaha, I so applaud your skills at improvising. It's a good thing your plan didn't work 😃😃😃

What if the plan now worked...I'd have been in deeper soup😄

You seem to have forgotten what country you're in... playing with nothing but vegetables oil that can make me rich. Well I loved how you put this little trick but ended being caught. From #dreemport.

Rough times. Now, I can't even dare okay with vegetable oil

Omo that's millionaire food ooh. You use one full eating spoon to food this days...😂 Economy no dey smile give us.

Aswear😂🤧

I was careful enough to get electrocuted but guess who touched the doorknob first?

I guess you did know you would be electrocuted after all,so you may as well have just done it straight away.

You are a hoot wongi, it is funny I was telling someone that I would be mischievious today. Little did I know it would be reading you 🤣

so you may as well have just done it straight away.

Well, I should have😄

funny I was telling someone that I would be mischievious today.

How is your mischief going so far. Need help with it?😂

How is your mischief going so far. Need help with it?😂

I think I have found my mischief partner...🤣

I think you have😄

Oh I love that! And talking of mischief why was I not tagged on the tote bag post .... #justsaying!

Well, because you were the first to see it🙃

aww so I do get some perks 😝

The crazy, disturbed things we do a kids often comes back to haunt our nostalgia of that period. You were quite lucky that you didn’t cause errors damage with that oil on the stairs. The hot doorknob was your undoing, just as well.

Thank you for reading 🌼

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 182 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

Lol, mischievous indeed 😂😂😂, you really seemed to have forgotten the country you’re in🤣🤣

I did o my dear🤧😂

He was great at first aid but he always listened to the story behind the injury first so that he could decide whether to take it kindly or not

I know this and I'm used to it.
Anytime my siblings get cutt by anything. They better not say it was razor blade because eeeeh! 😄

They would now flog you on top the injury 🤧😂

Hahahah😄
For sure, correction before treatment.
That's the only way to insert the correction inside its zone

I remember that movie in my country, it is very popular and they show it on television every Christmas. I had not met anyone who put the traps in the movie into practice, it was really very dangerous, afortunately, it didn't get any worse.

An interesting experience that you share with us.

Good day.

The movie was a very popular one over here too. Reminds me so much of Christmas each time I think of it.

Thank you so much for reading 🌼

Nice. Sometimes, you just need to get on the way of your siblings. But to say the least, you did the weirdest thing anyone could have ever thought.

Weird should be my third name.

Thank you for reading

Ahaha. You already accepted that.

In my household traps always ended with beating 😂✨

The home alone in me was chased out of home😭😭😭😂

That was smooth😂

This trick was too much i can't try this kind of mischief thank God nobody caught you when you are wasting the vegetable.

#dreemerforlife

In the end, I was still caught

Really I hope mom and dad didn't punish you

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @cindynancy, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .