You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ink Well Is Having a Short Story Contest: 25 Hive First Prize!

It was a new experience for me as well - though the story was not difficult to imagine :) For me the hardest part of this one was keeping it under a thousand words.

You did excellent!

Sort:  

Thank you very much for that generous assessment of my story. Believe it or not, I love to write but have little confidence (I think I'm really hard on myself). Keeping the word limit down is easy for me. I tend to chop, chop, chop when I write. One day I may write a story that has only one word :)))

One word??? If you can do that you are indeed a professional :)

I didn't notice that you had chopped away. I would have loved to read more about our genius vineyard owner though :)

Don't be hard on yourself, please? It only deprives us of your great stories!

You are very, very kind.

I took a writing workshop for several years. Most of the people in the workshop were poets (I am not a poet). Poetry is often about economy and I think that's where the habit of chopping came in. The instructor (Poet Laureate of Nassau County, NY, USA) used to call extra words 'energy vampires'. So, whenever I write I ask myself, does that word advance the story or is it dead weight? That's what I mean by chopping.

Hope you have a great weekend and I appreciate very much your encouragement.

That kind of chopping is a great habit :) While I love to read a long story I don't enjoy it feeling like it's being dragged out - it needs a good flow. And you are expert in that :)