Tell Me What To Do

"Gary, you've got to tell me what to do. Otherwise I'm gonna lose my freakin' house!"

Gary put his elbows on the table, and his face in his hands. "Frank, you of all people know it doesn't work like that. It comes and goes when it wants. And right now, I'm not getting anything."

Frank slammed down the heavy mug, splashing the liquid on both men. He grimaced, hastily grabbing the mug before it slid off the table.

"Sorry. I just need something. Anything. I mean what will Jane and the kids do? Neither of us has any family left. I don't think I could stand to see my wife struggling to change diapers, crammed in the Chevy with five kids."

Gary looked into his friend's moist eyes. "You're overthinking things. Yes, the plant shuts down next month. But there are other places in Vindale. Maybe you can ask Davis if he needs help."

Frank snorted, and a grin almost escaped. "The day old man Davis admits he needs help with Davis Hardware will be the day they drive some of those nails of his into his own coffin."

Gary looked at the two mugs, now warm and mostly empty. "Hey Linda, got a refill for two of your favorite customers?"

A woman with two full mugs appeared seemingly from nowhere, her cowgirl boots clicking on the hardwood floor. "Sure Gary, let me know if you happen to see them."

The two men chuckled, despite the serious topic of conversation. A few seconds later they were alone again.

Frank stood. "You can have mine, Gary. I've got to meet Stan soon unless I want to walk home."

"What's this?" he asked, as he stopped at the neighboring table.

Gary stood. "Looks like a paper. I get one every morning."

Frank leaned over, studying it. "No, this full page ad here. There's a big rodeo Saturday, and the main event is going to feature Rattlesnake. If anyone can stay on him for two minutes, they'll get twenty five thousand dollars! Gary, that would take care of the mortgage, with a little left to pay the bills until I find something."

Gary took the paper, and crumpled it before throwing in a nearby bin. "Rattlesnake killed three men last year. He's the meanest bull this country has seen in decades."

Frank grinned, attempting to retrieve the paper. "I stuck to that mustang Gramps brought home. Stuck to him like glue, I did!"

Gary stood in front of the bin. "You were 23 then. And Dragon wasn't Rattlesnake. He was a tired old stallion who had lived his life on the range, and was ready to retire."

"You don't think he had any fire left? What about the race he won the following year at the fair?"

"I know, he was still pretty tough... but he was no killer. Just promise me you'll stay away from that bull."

Frank shook his head. "I can't promise that, unless you come up with something before Saturday. I either need the prize money or a job."

Reluctantly Gary returned to the table, allowing Frank to retrieve the paper.

"Why can't I sleep? It's Saturday!" Gary complained, looking at the flashing 4:30 on the alarm clock, and rolling over to stare at the ceiling.

"Oh right, Frank's going to get himself killed trying to act like he's 15 years younger. I guess I'll go for a drive. Maybe I can catch him at the intersection, and talk him out of it."

An hour later, Gary sat watching the sun rise ever higher in the sky, as his friend's truck bounced down the gravel road.

Frank stopped, and rolled down his window. "I told you, my mind's made up. There's nothing you can say to stop me."

Gary's shoulders slumped. "Well, I guess I'll just have to go along then. Someone will have to scrape up what's left after that bull is finished with you."

Frank slowly began to roll up the window. "Do as you want, Gary. I really feel like I can win this thing."

They drove for several hours, Frank in the lead.

Gary became dizzy, and pulled over just in time. Flashes exploded in his mind, of a massive black bull towering over his friend, mixed with images of an older man falling from a ladder. The last image was of a white sign, with bold black letters: Davis Hardware.

When the fog cleared, he put his foot on the gas.

Frank stopped. "Everything alright? I was about to go back and see if you needed a hand."

Gary stumbled out of his vehicle. "We have to get back to Vindale now. You said if I came up with anything, you wouldn't go through with this stupid plan. Well, I just did."

"What is it, Gary? And why can't it wait until after the rodeo? Even if you convince me not to enter, I'd still like to go."

Gary shook his head. "It's now or never. I know it, like I know I'm standing here talking to you."

Reluctantly Frank turned around.

Gary was already out of sight by the time he was underway, driving well beyond the speed limit.

Frank sped up, and eventually caught sight of his friend. By the time they arrived in Vindale, they were traveling together.

"What's going on?" Frank asked himself, as Gary slid to a stop in front of Davis Hardware.

"Is he okay?" Frank shouted, after he walked in, and saw the elderly man lying next to the ladder propped up on a tall shelf.

Gary cleared some nuts and bolts out of the walkway, then covered the injured man with his jacket. "He's got a broken leg, and is going into shock. Call an ambulance."

Davis groaned. "I'm sure glad you came when you did. What were you doing here on football day, anyway?"

Gary rubbed his chin. "Just out for a drive. Looks like you won't be climbing any ladders for a while. I know someone who might be real interested in a job..."

Davis groaned again. "If you want a job, it's yours."

Gary shook his head. "No, Frank here, he's going to lose his job when the plant closes. He's a good worker, and knows his tools."

Davis sighed. "I owe you two. I'll hire him, and keep him on as long as he wants."

Frank walked in from the back room. "They'll be here in a few minutes, they said not to try to move him."

Gary grinned. "I've got some news, but don't go getting the hammer and nails just yet."



Cover image made in Canva Pro using their gallery

Sort:  

A good friend with the gift of foresight! What an interesting story. I almost rooted for Frank to make it out alive from the rodeo because $25k would solve his family needs but really, the risk is not worth it. Thankfully, Gary gets a premonition and saves his friend. Nicely done. !LUV 🙂

@kemmyb sent you LUV 🙂 (2/4)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Yeah, that bull would have made him into a pancake 😂

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@kemmyb! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I tried to starte a professional hide and seek team but it didn't work out.
Turns out good players are hard to find.

Credit: marshmellowman
@kemmyb, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(2/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Congratulations @wrestlingdesires! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 600 posts.
Your next target is to reach 650 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the December edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Thanks so much :) I'm going to try for a post a day!

You're welcome @wrestlingdesires. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 😄👍

I loved the change in the atmosphere, from a desperate situation to an unexpected miracle, and the final joke made me smile while reading it !LOL

!LUV !HUG

Thanks so much for the support 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL !PIMP

@arc7icwolf! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.


You must be killin' it out here!
@wrestlingdesires just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @arc7icwolf.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@arc7icwolf sent you LUV 🙂 (1/4)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

The other day I snuck into the local zoo and spotted an albino Cheetah
It was the least I could do for him.

Credit: reddit
@wrestlingdesires, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of arc7icwolf

(5/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Dear @wrestlingdesires, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @arc7icwolf.
(1/3)

The dialog and scene description here are excellent, especially in the restaurant (bar? cafe?). The waitress comes to life and the relationship between the men is credible. Even your solution to Frank's problem is appropriate, given the early allusion to Gary's special insight.

The story is logically constructed, clear, and entertaining. Overall, a really good job.

Thank you for sharing this with us, @wrestlingdesires.

Thanks so much, that praise means a lot :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

A priest was arrested at a church
He was convicted for mass murder.

Credit: reddit
@theinkwell, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(3/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

@theinkwell! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Fantastic story, my friend. I loved it. Nice tight writing. It's always a joy to read you !LUV !PIMP !PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@samsmith1971 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @wrestlingdesires.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@samsmith1971 sent you LUV 🙂 (1/10)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Thanks so much :) I plan to try for a post a day again 🙏

!PIZZA !ALIVE
!LUV

@samsmith1971! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

@wrestlingdesires sent you LUV 🙂 (2/10)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
wrestlingdesires tipped julianhorack
@wrestlingdesires(6/15) tipped @samsmith1971
wrestlingdesires tipped theinkwell
samsmith1971 tipped wrestlingdesires
wrestlingdesires tipped kemmyb
wrestlingdesires tipped arc7icwolf

Write on friend. Let that prose pore like a peakd experience that allows a peak into the mind of a moody mentalist.

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@julianhorack! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Autocorrect
Can't live with it can't live meow it.

Credit: reddit
@julianhorack, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(1/8)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Good friend of Frank's, because he was afraid that bull would do something to him, he got him a job, good story...Cheers!

Thanks so much for your kind words :)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @wrestlingdesires.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks so much 💙