Unexplained Memories

"Fall back! It's gonna blow!"

"We're clear, don't try to be a freakin' hero, Paul!"

Then the world went black.

Paul beheld a scene from his childhood, as if he were watching a home movie. Except that the colors and scents made him feel as if he were actually there.

"Paul Roberts. What are you doing out of bed? Santa's going to be flying over soon, and he expects nice children to be in bed when he arrives."

Paul yawned. "Sorry, Mom. I had a dream, and it seemed so real. I wanted to see if it was."

Mom smiled, and scooped up the little boy. "Tell me all about it."

He was silent, until she turned him to face her. "I can't."

She frowned. "Why ever not? You know full well that you can tell me anything."

He scrunched up his face. "I can tell you that there was an angel. Not like the pretty lady on the tree, though. It was a man, and he had a sword. A big sharp one. I was scared, but he was really nice."

Mom smiled, and began walking. "Well he's not here, so it was just a dream. Let's get you back to bed before Santa comes."

After he was tucked in, he started to drift off again. Then something soft brushed his bare toes. Paul reached under the covers, and pulled out a single bright gold feather.

"It really happened," he whispered, eyes wide.

Paul got up, and placed the feather in his favorite comic book. "I promise when the time comes, I'll do exactly what you said, Michael."

Twenty years later, Paul laid face down on the sand, motionless. Familiar voices came to him. Voices from a different life than the one he'd been immersed in only seconds earlier.

"He's still in one piece, Sir. And I think he might be breathing."

"Impossible. Nobody survives that. He saved our lives though. I can't leave him."

"We should be able to safely retrace our steps, Sir. Now that it's been discharged..."

"I'll go. I'm in charge - and I should be the one out there, not him..."

"I'll prepare the vehicle, Sir. And Sir? It was his choice. You couldn't stop him, you tried."

Paul's world began to spin. Then he fell into a deep, dreamless sleep.

When he awoke, he was lying on a cot. Rough new sheets covered his bare skin, causing some discomfort.

He looked around the tidy little room. His eyes widened when he came to the small chair in the corner. "Sir?"

Wordlessly the grizzled veteran rose, and walked over to Paul's cot.

He stood there in silence for a few more seconds. "Impossible... how did you do it?"

Paul looked at his superior for a second. "Sir?"

"You survived that explosion at point blank range. You don't have anything except a few scratches - in fact a lot fewer scratches than anyone else on the team. You know that's impossible, you helped me recover those victims just last week..."

Paul took a deep breath, and closed his eyes. "I can't tell you what happened, Sir. You were there with me, what happened?"

The older man clasped his hands in back of him. "I don't know. It almost looked like you had an invisible barrier shielding you, but it had to be some sort of heat mirage."

Paul sat up, and adjusted his pillow. "What do you think happened, Sir?"

The experienced officer snorted. "If I knew that, I'd never lose another man to those infernal things. That's why I'm here asking you!"

Paul sighed. "I really wish I could make that a reality, Sir. But I just don't know how..."

The other man sighed as well. "We need to bottle whatever that was. I've never seen anything like it, in all of my twenty-three years of duty. If you think of anything that you might have done, let me know."

"Yes Sir, of course."

After his superior left, Paul sighed, and laid back down. As he did, something soft brushed his leg. He pulled a bright gold feather out from under the stiff sheets.

"Michael, why can't I just tell them about you? It's not like anyone would believe me anyway. Oh well, thank you for protecting me. I'll follow your instructions for the other one too, but I have no idea how I'm going to explain it."



Cover image made in Canva Pro using their gallery

Sort:  

Amazing story. Goosebumps )

Thanks so much :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

I'm in hospital because I drunk a cup of petrol.
That was a very fuelish thing to do.

Credit: reddit
@torem-di-torem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(1/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

@torem-di-torem! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

This is interesting.

Which part did you like best :) ?

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
wrestlingdesires tipped daveyjones8
wrestlingdesires tipped arc7icwolf (x2)
wrestlingdesires tipped andr3a1sm
wrestlingdesires tipped torem-di-torem
@wrestlingdesires(11/15) tipped @katleya
wrestlingdesires tipped seki1
wrestlingdesires tipped nickydee
arc7icwolf tipped wrestlingdesires

The only bad things about your stories is that after reading them I would NEED to read an entire book to know how everything continues!! !LOL

!LUV !PIMP

They call them short stories for a reason 🤣 But yeah, it took the Inkwell team a while to break me of making everything into a series... ask Jayna 😂

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

Did you hear about the guy who threw his alarm clock while hosting a party?
He wanted to see if time flys while having fun.

Credit: reddit
@arc7icwolf, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(7/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

@arc7icwolf! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Yeah, but I still wish I could know more ahahah

!PGM !LOL !PIZZA

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP - 0.001 INK tokens

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


I'm glad :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL !PIMP

@arc7icwolf! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.


You must be killin' it out here!
@wrestlingdesires just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @arc7icwolf.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


You must be killin' it out here!
@arc7icwolf just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @wrestlingdesires.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

wrestlingdesires, arc7icwolf sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/4) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

My girlfriend and I just transitioned to a long distance relationship
Or what the judge called a “restraining order”

Credit: reddit
@wrestlingdesires, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of arc7icwolf

(8/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Sweet story, with a very strong arc. When we make room for magic in our lives, we leave the world open for dreams. Paul had an angel by his side, throughout his life, but the angel was his secret. The repeated presence of the feather works beautifully. It not only ties the story together, but helps us to 'believe' in the presence of the angel.

It is a lovely story. Thank you for sharing it with us, @wrestlingdesires

Thanks so much for your kind words ♥️ I hope my next story will be even better 🙏

Congratulations @wrestlingdesires! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 170000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - January 1st 2024

Wow... I'm actually shocked as well as honored :)

You're welcome @wrestlingdesires! Have a nice day 😊👍🍻

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @wrestlingdesires.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks so much 💙 Merry Christmas ⛄

The angel's got his back! Having a knowledge of such backing gives one an undescribable confidence to face challenges regardless of the stake. Nice story!

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it :) May we all go through life with such confidence 🙏

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

I sent my girlfriend a 'Get Better' card.
She's not sick, or anything - I just think she can get better..

Credit: reddit
@daveyjones8, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(2/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

@daveyjones8! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Sending love to you, angel 🥰❣️

Same to you 😇

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@wrestlingdesires just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @nickydee.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@nickydee! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

A private connection with an Angel.
Now that must be dope.

Definitely something I'd love to have :) ...

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@seki1! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

A taxi driver was getting flirty with a woman in a bar.
At the end of the night he took her back to her place.

Credit: reddit
@seki1, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(2/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

"I really wish I could make that a reality, Sir. But I just don't know how..."

I love it!

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@andr3a1sm! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ wrestlingdesires. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I hear Sasquatch makes bowls out of clay
He's a hairy potter

Credit: reddit
@andr3a1sm, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of wrestlingdesires

(1/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

A story that links two different times: childhood and adulthood. And the common denominator is the protective angel for whom Paul keeps silent and secret. He does not know how to explain that he exists and protects him. The older man wants to know how he manages to get out unharmed because he observed something about Paul that protected him. But you kind of left this part of the story for the next chapter.
I loved the suspenseful reading @wrestlingdesires

Thanks so much, I actually never thought about making another chapter :) It was meant to be self-contained.

!PIZZA !ALIVE
!LUV

katleya, wrestlingdesires sent you LUV. 🙂 (4/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.