Young and Hasty: A Creative Non-Fiction Story

in The Ink Welllast year


psp-gb7a0c26c4_1920.jpg
Pixabay

When I was younger, I had a personality that most people would describe as hasty or reckless. That is to say, I have a tendency to make hasty decisions that I later regret. One example was when I opted to get a PSP when it became available in my country. I got a PSP at the time because I enjoy playing video games and the notion of gaming on the go appealed to me significantly. Despite the fact that the device and its peripherals were highly expensive, I chose to save my allowance and the money I earned from my part-time work so that I could acquire a PSP.

The thrill I had after receiving a PSP was palpable, and I ended up purchasing all of the games that I could afford so that I could begin gaming. Because the PSP uses its own proprietary storage disc known as the UMD, legitimate PSP games were rather pricey, which meant that the costs soon added up before I realized it. Of course, given my immaturity at the time, I simply ignored all of the costs and began showing off my portable gaming system to my buddies.

However, because my friends were also ardent gamers, none of them chastised me for purchasing such an expensive device, instead encouraging me to buy additional games. My mother, on the other hand, was very displeased when she learned about my purchase.

"How could you spend all of that money for just one device?" she said, dissatisfied. "You could have saved that money for college or spent it on something more useful."

"But I really want a PSP," I pointed out. "Besides, it's my own money; I can do whatever I want with it."

My mother could only sigh and give me a sad look after hearing my non-remorseful response. Although I felt a bit uncomfortable seeing that sight in my mother's eyes, I dismissed it because I believed my decision to purchase the device was not wrong.

Months have passed, and the thrill I felt after purchasing the PSP has waned significantly. Although I still enjoyed playing games on my portable gaming system, it no longer provided me the same adrenaline it had in the beginning. Furthermore, as I reflected on how much I had spent on the PSP, its peripherals, and games, I began to suspect that I had made a hasty choice to purchase the device.

When I informed my friends that I was experiencing buyer's remorse, they assured me that it was a fantastic purchase and that I shouldn't feel bad about it. When I heard their reaction, I knew that approaching them for advice was pointless because they were just as immature as I was. Furthermore, unlike me, they did not spend their money on an expensive item and hence could not understand how I felt.

Not long after that, Sony produced a slim version of the PSP that was not only thinner but was also less expensive than the one I purchased. And, as if to rub it in, used PSPs began to surface at the mall where I go with my friends. Even though they're used, I can tell they're still in good condition, and they're only half the price of a new one. Oh, and they came with games as well.

Only after that did I finally admit that I had been too hasty, and that if I had waited a few more months, I could have purchased a portable gaming device with some free games for less.

As I considered selling my PSP, it broke after my younger brother dropped it, shattering the LCD screen. When I saw the damage on the LCD screen, I couldn't help but sarcastically exclaim within my head, "What luck!" I was annoyed at my younger brother for breaking my PSP, but I couldn't really blame him because it was an accident.

I had no alternative except to have the device repaired, which was far from being cheap considering that the LCD screen needed replacement. I definitely regretted my hastiness at this point. Despite my regret, I chose not to sell my PSP because I had already spent too much money on it and would rather use it till it broke beyond repair. The fact that the homebrew community was becoming more popular, and that installing custom firmware on my PSP would fully open the gadget's potential beyond what the manufacturer intended, also motivated me to keep the device.

Basically, I planned to use my PSP as an educational tool instead of selling it, which would alleviate some of my guilt. Furthermore, having the device around would constantly remind me that being too hasty could be very costly and would prevent me from making the same mistake again.


P.S. I did eventually sell my PSP a few years later due to a certain reason but that's a story for another time, probably.

Sort:  

The feeling will always come taunting, "you should have bought this or that", "you hurriedly went far to buy that expensive game, now look at the less expensive once that are more finer than yours" and so on🤧.

I've been in such condition but I try as much as I could to wave off the feelings

I agree, sometimes it's hard to resist buying something that appeals to you, only to regret it later. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Doesn't it just happen to all of us when we were young? It's all juvenile adrenaline rush. At least you learnt your lesson early so it can guide you later in life

Yeah, juvenile adrenaline rush can make someone do some stupid things, but as you've said, the most important thing was to learn from one's mistakes early. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

I know that haunting feeling when you regret making that purchase in a haste. It also doesn't get better when you see a constant reminder every day. However, it is what it is and life goes on after learning the lessons.

Your story telling is incredible.

Fashion, peer pressure and advertising often prey on young people’s immaturity to financial advantage for conglomerates. However, your purchase wasn’t life-shatteringly outrageous and you most certainly learned to value your money and treat it with respect, as a result. Nicely written.

Thank you very much! The experience and lesson that I've learned has indeed been valuable to my growth as a person. After that incident, I have learned to reign in my impulses.

nicely written piece. The fun part was you learned your lesson, we all make hast decisions, everybody's been through that at least once but you've learnt form it

Indeed, the lesson that I've learned after that incident has been very valuable in my growth. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.