Capturing Summer in a Bottle

in Magick2 months ago

The autumnal equinox is days away. Before the season changes completely I wanted to do a little magic to preserve the energy of summer for when I will need it most later on.
photo1710766600.jpeg
What better symbol of summer than the colorful blossoms of sunflower, zinnia, and yarrow that have graced our garden these past few months?

photo1710866348.jpeg

The majority of the flowers I left for the butterflies, moths, and bees. But, I couldn't resist saving these colorful petals for myself. For a while I simply admired the colors in the basket as they dried.

photo1710766931(1).jpeg

The fresh flowers look beautiful in arrangements on my table. But, once the flowers start to dry the center turned brown. The petals, however, maintained their color beautifully.

photo1710766931(2).jpeg

As a green witch I have a great collection of decorative glass jars and bottles. They aren't just for decoration however. I use them often to preserve herbs for magic and medicine and to create spells, bottle spells!

I made a pot of tea to sip on while I formed my intention. In a few months the cold of fall and then the dreariness of winter will set in. In those months the brightness of these flowers and the energy of summer will be much desired and so that, simply, was what I chose to imbue this spell bottle with.

photo1710766931.jpeg

Aided by my Hawthorn wand I filled the bottle with the dried petals of zinnia, sunflower and whole yarrow flowers. The petals I made sure were totally dried, adding fresh plant material or liquid of any kind will lead to a moldy, and not very beautiful, spell bottle.

photo1710766931(3).jpeg

This year I am actually looking forward to the colder months ahead. Sitting by the fireplace while working on my sewing, reading esoteric books, and petting my cats sounds very nice after a spring and summer full of lots of hard work outdoors. Of course, living a cottage core lifestyle always includes plenty of outdoor chores. Our stores of firewood aren't quite where they should be and thus, my task over the next few weeks is set.

photo1710866348(1).jpeg

Between the chores there is always a moment to spare to go out and enjoy the last of the zinnia flowers and say "hello" to the flying visitors that enjoy them too. And when the garden takes it's seasonal nap I will have a token of the beauty of summer in my bottle.

Sort:  

How can you not love that little jar 💚? Thank you! You just gave me a great idea for a perfect gift! 😍

Congratulations @calendulacraft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!