Pages from My First Herbal Grimoire

in Magick6 months ago

grimoirebannerfinal.png

In search of inspiration for my current magical endeavors, I found myself flipping through the pages of my very first grimore and reflecting back on the person I was then. In those days (cerca 2016) I wrote down every little bit of information I could find and photo copied anything even slightly relating to witchcraft and herbalism. Back then I had no smart phone and very limited access to the internet, and now that I have both it is very informative to read through these pages and see my craft slowly grow from the inspiration of my daily life with no electronic influences.

20220717_181956.jpg

I wrote these words and painted with watercolors when I was traveling through Central and South America. My life was so chaotic and out of my control but, I had one thing for certain - a constant connection with Earth.

Of course, we always have a connection with Earth - the place we live, the place that provides everything we need and a constant flow of inspiration.

20220717_181823.jpg

While volunteering on a farm in Costa Rica a Christian Witch gave me a mystical almanac full of exactly the information I searched for. I cherished the book so! At that time in my life cherishing a book meant cutting & pasting and making the words my own. The passages about Astro-herbalism, Apitherapy, and homemade remedies decorated the pages of my first ever book of magic(k) and medicine.

20220717_181758.jpg

Alongside the pages of mystical practices can be seen quite practical ones too. In equal parts I practiced in the spiritual realm as I practiced magic in the physical by planting seeds, creating composting systems, and helping out in the permaculture farms along our journey.

20220717_181847.jpg

The particular article really intrigued me. At that time I had heard a bit about gardening by the moon phases. Following the moon through the constellations while planting and harvesting accordingly was totally new to me! This added another layer of fun and magic to my budding herbalism practice that continues to grow even today.

Sort:  

Humanity has forgotten the power of medicinal plants to make our lives better. Every day when walking in the grass we crushed at least a good ten medicinal plants that could make our day better. Well done, what great work in your grimoire

So well said, I totally agree - medicine is all around us. We are so lucky to live on a planet that provides for us in such a way. Thank you for your comment <3

Congratulations @calendulacraft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List