The Making of my Magickal Zine

in Magick5 months ago

My last post in the Magickal community was a list favorite enchanted zines read this past year. Those booklets, along with my writing here on Hive has inspired me to finally get around to finishing a magical zine of my very own!

Screenshot_20231226-093257_Gallery.jpg

This wheel of the year has been very productive as far as writing goes both online and off. The votes I get on my posts has boosted my confidence as a writer and content creator and the comments from readers makes me feel like the content I share here about witchcraft, herbalism, and art is desired. After years of going nowhere with apps like Instagram, the support from the Hive community is truly heartwarming.

20231221_114608.jpg

And then there are days when the power is out, the internet is down, and I find myself wishing that I had more physical material to read. And also there are times when I meet a new friend or strike up a conversation with a stranger and wish I had some physical representation of my writing & art to give them.

So I decided to collect a few of my favorite pieces I have written both as Calendula Craft and as my previous username Libra.Gardener and extend those articles into a handwritten, collage zine!

20231221_113728.jpg

This isn't the first zine I have created, in fact since adolescents I have been an avid reader and creator of zines. But, somehow, I got a little blocked off from my writing and visual arts in the past couple of years. I suppose I have been focusing on sewing, herbalism, and my day job but it wasn't until this last scorio season that I felt the message bubbling up that needed to be written into a booklet format.

20231221_114552.jpg

And here it is! Some of the photos you may have seen before on this very (Magick) community. As I mentioned above this zine is an extension of those articles; handwritten instead of typed and expanded upon. The mission of this zine is to give a fun and practical look into some of the practices of a green witch, no conjuring of spirits nor leaving offerings at the cross roads. Personally I do neither of those things and rather use my witchcraft as a way to create beautiful gifts for myself and others with the ingredients that Earth so graciously shares with us.

20231224_160226.jpg

I am so proud of how this zine turned out and would like to share it with the world -- if you are interested in picking up a copy you can purchase one through my Etsy Shop. Otherwise, I simply thank you for your votes, comments, and support, all of which have been hugely encouraging in my writing and artistic work. Thank you and Happy New Year!